Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 471ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Favorite Go-To Course

5+    7/2/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Cheddar
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Great for beginners
Well maintained
Easy navigation
Cons: Can get crowded on the weekends
Muddy when it rains
Parking can get bad
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played on so it holds a special place in my heart. It's nice to see how it's been improved over the many years. The community really cares about this course. Because it's such a great course, it can get packed very often. Often times leisurely groups of 5+ who just stroll through at a snails pace aren't likely to let groups of 2 pass, which I find to be a little rude. And because it's such a great course for beginners you'll also get those groups who aren't familiar with course etiquette who won't let you pass while flinging their disks into the thick.

Other than those few things this is a great course. It might sound like I'm complaining about the people but they're really just minor annoyances that are easily dealt with. The games is all about pacing yourself and having a good time anyway, it's just mostly I don't get to play until after work so I'm usually racing the sun. But now that I have lights for my disk it's not as stressful.

Great moderate course down south

2-4    2/8/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Throbbert
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout, great tee boxes and great course design.

Difficult, but fun.

Some really awesome hole layouts. Great course for forehand righties.
Cons: Can get very backed up. Being that most of the courses down south are fairly difficult, this one tends to be really busy.
Other Thoughts: Great course if you are looking for a step up in game from the easier courses around town.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course but typically crowded

5+    6/10/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has some great variety and doesn't over emphasize long drives. There are several holes that bend left or right, and you often have to think about how to place your shot (sometimes throwing over/around trees might be better than throwing a dart).

This is also a good course to bring beginners because it has some good variety but 16 of the 18 holes are par 3 so it's not overly difficult. Also has some really fun holes, especially 15!
Cons: I love everything about this course except that it is almost always too crowded. I have shown up and left to go play another course because there were already 6 or 7 groups waiting to tee off on hole #1 (at 9am).
Other Thoughts: Very close to Disc Nation. If you haven't been there it's a great place to get discs and information. They even have a special section for discs that are recommended for beginners.

Talented players may consider this course too easy. I think it offers some great challenge but I'm no pro. I have thrown a few birdies here and there, but have yet to shoot a round at even par. Really fun course but just try to make it during off-peak hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly easy course

5+    6/6/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for learning on because it forces you to throw accurately, rather than throwing as hard as you can and hoping it lands somewhere in the open.

It's a really good course to practice your approach game, as well. Several of the shots require very straight lasers while others are begging you to bend it wide and skip it up to the cage.

It's well marked and easy to navigate.

There are always fun, interesting people here to meet.

There's a great practice hole.

There is a great risk/reward factor here. You can risk bombing it or tomahawking, etc. and if you are accurate with this kind of stuff, you will be rewarded. If you're not that accurate with these kinds of throws, well then it's a great course to learn/practice, as it's fairly easy to find your disc if you go wayward.

If you're one of those players that loves elevation change, then you're sure to like this course. It's not as intense as austin ridge or east metro, but it's got some really entertaining holes that actually make you think instead of "drive, drive, midrange, putt".

15 is just fun. Everybody loves throwing a disc as hard as they can off of a cliff.
Cons: It's often busy. There tends to be a big cluster F of people around the hole 9 area where people cut ahead etc.

some would say it's too easy, but i think it's just fun.

A large amount of the holes can be done with tomohawks/hammer throws. This can be fun and it's a great course to work on it, but what i've noticed happen is that less experienced players see others doing it, so they decide that they're going to do it for every hole, ending with losing their discs, holding up the line, annoying people etc.

Giant groups of people. C'mon guys. Just break your group into two or three groups like you would with bowling. You may not be in a huge hurry, but there are other people playing the course that don't want to wait 30 minutes at every hole because you won't let them pass.

Notice most of my cons are about the people. This isn't the case with my other reviews and that comes down to the fact that these things have happened regularly at searight since it's always pretty busy.
Other Thoughts: Go at an obscure time of day.

Pick up after yourself.

Be nice to each other.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Longtime Favorite

5+    1/17/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: AceHunter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes with regard to both distance and the types of throws required. Nice cleaned out alleys to throw through and the course seems to be taken good care of. Really is a beautiful course.

-Trash cans, benches and signage are all excellent here
-Field to warm up with and a practice basket
-Single concrete tee box at each hole
-Easy to follow and the layout works very well as you never feel like you're throwing near another tee box or basket.
-Also regarding layout, the course is separate from the rest of the park, so you don't have a greenbelt, roads or bike paths around or through it like some parks. The course has disc golfers and dogs on it, that's it!
-There is a LOT of birdie and ace potential here
-Pet-friendly
Cons: -The main con here is the crowds. This has become the most popular course down south it seems and can be annoying in that sense. If you can't tolerate constantly catching the group in front of you or feeling "pressure" behind you then come very early and on a weekday to boot. 2:30 on Tuesday won't garner the lonely and quick round you get most places.
-The terrain can be rough on the knees/ankles here and there
Other Thoughts: I've been playing for a long time and have played this course more than any other and it has always been my favorite overall course. I love that despite the birdie and ace potential the course has felt challenging over the years. Both of my aces were here (1 and 17) and all but two baskets, 12 and 16, are in the same place they were 18 years ago. Twelve is much harder than it used to be. The additions they made awhile back (benches, trash cans and signs) were great and make the course more inviting and pleasant. The one change that kinda bummed me out was regarding what we called "stump alley." Hole 12 used to have the lower few inches of all the trees they cleared out for the fairway and your landing on the drive was always a gamble. It was annoying at the time, but in hindsight it was kinda fun having that random factor on the drive.

I tend to play a lot of solo rounds, so as long as people let me play through the crowds really aren't horrible. However, the sheer number of people playing and waiting to play is always surprising to me. I suppose that just goes to show what a great course it is.

On windy days I avoid this course mainly because some of the treed areas are very dense. If you get elevated on, say hole 9, and get yanked hard to the right you're pretty much screwed unless you love bushwacking it. Hole 16 can have that problem too, as you have to elevate since there isn't a normal alley to throw down. Hole 18 is the same on the left side, so if you don't get the right bend you need it can get ugly.

As I said before, one of my all-time favs here and recommend it to any skill level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Equalising Course

5+    8/24/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: js1573
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout. Good course for all skill levels. Plenty of birdie opportunities as well as trees to add for skill shots.
Cons: this course can get packed, quick! i tend to tee off no later than 7:00AM because the crowd (especially in the summer time) starts arriving around 9:00AM.
Other Thoughts: I love that, because of the shorter tendency in hole distances, pros and ams can play together and this course basically equalizes the two classes. there aren't too many holes where you have to have a huge throw, more finesse shots, so it's "easier" when playing more skilled players to keep up!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: VandeWalle1977
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where do I start? There is little wrong with this course. It is easily accesible from Anywhere in South Austin. Well laid out course with challenging holes for the best players yet still not too hard to discourage newbies. Hole 15 is a sight to be seen. Gorgeous view and since the recent renovations it is superb! Practice area and driving areas available. This course will make you use all of your shots...or in my case...it will make you learn some new shots and approaches.
Cons: Wednesdays host mini tournaments so if you are in a rush it could slow you down a little. That is the only con I can think of and it is not really a con, it's a popular course...Awesome!
Other Thoughts: Beautiful atmosphere....great laidout...signature hole #15 is awesome....nuff said....well worth the visit. Since Summer started I have played here several times a week and it never gets old!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice and Rec Course...

5+    7/8/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Dcloud90
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Easy to Navigate
-Hard to Lose Disc
-Lots of ace and birdie attempts
-Evenly wooded and Hilled
Cons: -Some pins too high
-Trash left inside the Woods
-VERY busy Course
-Too Easy
Other Thoughts: Personally, i think this course is too easy and think the holes should be longer, Pictures need to be updated to see how much BETTER it looks

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Seastorm

5+    1/14/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: Hal_9000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in South Austin. Fun course to play, varying degrees of difficulty. Signature hole 15 has great elevation.
Cons: Lots of foot traffic, can get busy with wait times during certain days of the week. Can get dirty and muddy quick after a light shower.
Other Thoughts: Good course to play for a quick round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Searight Renovated

5+    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: parrothead57
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've always liked this course because it has mostly short holes. This is the first time I've played it since the renovations. They did a great job! Cement tee boxes make this a much better course. They've also done a lot on the trails between the holes which should help after a rain. Signs were a great addition as were the big bolders for seating at the tee areas. Some of the pins were moved closer and made more accessible. This course demands a variety of shots, lefts, rights, and a few tight faiways. There's a few holes you can air it out.
Cons: The only con I have for this course is the addition of the big rocks on the trails in a few places. I know this will keep the mud down but until they get packed down walking will be tricky for some.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for beginners. It teaches control while stray shots are easy to find. (No tall grass!)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.