Austin, TX
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Course

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has tons of fun hidden inside! I've played Circle C and this course compares to it being the little brother with shorter holes, and more beginner playability. the course has beautiful concrete pads a running creek and great markings and signage.
Cons: played after a rain has clay like mud everywhere will mess up your shoes but other than that nothing is wrong
Other Thoughts: If Circle C was too tough try out this course it will not upset

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    5/2/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1131  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Large parking area with a huge area for gathering large groups. Bathrooms and city park amenities at the start.

Events. Several days a week, all year long you may be able to find a Mini tournament here, the doubles were a ton of fun.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are always nice.

Variety. Most holes had several line options, with opportunities to try out many different shots, a variety of discs and shots came in handy.

Ace/Birdies. Nearly every hole is reachable in one, providing opportunities for aces, and scores well below par are possible.

Well kept. For the traffic that this course place sees, it is in relatively good shape, not too much trash around, fairways are well maintained and though there are many sings of heavy use, the course looks nice - in my opinion the new landscaping adds eye appeal.

Trash. Trash cans on most holes can fill up if it's busy, but it appears to be kept clean fairly well despite the high traffic.

Tough to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Short. Not much variety of length and I never really had an opportunity to grip and rip, big arms may seem out of place here.

Wood Chips. Who had the idea that wood chips everywhere are a good plan? Shredded wood everywhere makes skipping nearly impossible and finding footing tough in some places.

The area surrounding the tee pads. A huge runup shouldn't be necessary on this course, still if you prefer level ground directly behind the tee, it's tough to find around here.

Busy. Evenings and weekends you will be waiting on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable place to play a quick 18 to test your approaches and putts, well worth a stop if in the area. Especially a fun place to play a Mini. A short, fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Day Disc Golfing

5+    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 29.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and wood chips. Really helped with the wet and muddy conditions today.
Cons: None really. Advanced to Pro DGrs may not find the course not challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Searight was on the muddy side today. Without the renovation it could have been much worse, but the course held up well to all the rain. Can't wait to play it again in drier conditions. I highly recommend this course for beginners to intermediate disc golfers. My advice is to keep it in the fairway and you'll shoot a decent score.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Searight Renovated

5+    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: parrothead57
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've always liked this course because it has mostly short holes. This is the first time I've played it since the renovations. They did a great job! Cement tee boxes make this a much better course. They've also done a lot on the trails between the holes which should help after a rain. Signs were a great addition as were the big bolders for seating at the tee areas. Some of the pins were moved closer and made more accessible. This course demands a variety of shots, lefts, rights, and a few tight faiways. There's a few holes you can air it out.
Cons: The only con I have for this course is the addition of the big rocks on the trails in a few places. I know this will keep the mud down but until they get packed down walking will be tricky for some.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for beginners. It teaches control while stray shots are easy to find. (No tall grass!)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oh Austin,

5+    11/16/2009   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety.
Tree's shrubs elavation. rocky terrain. it is difficult. esp on elv shots but it is good for learning overhand and downhill throwing.
Cons: can be confusing the first time around and also trash cans are usaully full. Lot's of mud near alot of box's after weather.
Other Thoughts: i never miss this course when on the road. it is easy on and off the highway and it is alot of fun for the player who likes a hike too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most fun course

5+    11/12/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, including many tomahawk shots if you have it inthe bag. There's several ace opportunities also. The rough isn't very rough along the fairways. Nice trees and view of the hill country through south Austin. There's a practice basket and room for driving practice as well. Most the renovations are great and some holes have been altered slightly.
Cons: Among the renovations that aren't great are the idiotic timbers that have been placed around the tee boxes like Circle C, and the fairways are being turned into mulch pits of Hades.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Searight

5+    5/10/2011   8/14/2009
Review By: Mr. Yuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home course. South Austin at its BEST. So many Ace and Birdie runs. The amenities include seats and trash cans on every hole. The tee pads are a great addition. Many of the holes a deceptive. What looks like an easy bird can turn into a +1 in a hurry. The view from 15 at dusk is worth the trip.
Cons: Play early or the place is packed. No matter what day of the week there is always has a crowd.
Other Thoughts: SADA spends a ton of time and money on this course. This course is an excellent example of what a community golfers can do!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sea--- they got this RIGHT!

2-4    5/7/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the variety of holes here. It never gets old, never gets easier either.
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty rough and rocky. No signs.
Other Thoughts: This course always kicks my butt, but I still want to play it!!! I love the challenge and trying to improve. Makes me work on my short and mid range shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is, bad for what it's not

5+    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good example of how a pitch and putt course should be done. Although most of the holes are birdie-able and short, there are a couple longer holes that are really quite nice and pretty challenging, especially Hole 3-- always happy to get a par on that one.

The reason I say this is how a pitch and putt should be done is because even though most of the holes are short, they are still challenging with narrow gaps and a variety of left, right, and straight shots, but leave your distance drivers at home.

This course is comparable to Zilker in the aspect that they're both pitch and putt courses, but Searight is MUCH less forgiving than Zilker due to tighter fairways and thick brush when you veer off the fairways.

The signature hole is a nice downhiller on the back nine, but again, it's just too short. I want to let one fly off the top of the hill, but instead I'm using my mid-range and keeping it low so I don't shoot past the pin.
Cons: It's short. You never really get to let one fly. Even, say hole 3, which is the longest, it's best just to lay up at the dogleg in the fairway, and have another medium distance drive to get within putting range. Although, I could see a left-hander or side-arm throw getting further down the fairway. Half of the course feels like filler holes and are just too easy, however, the other half of the course is quite enjoyable and challenging to a certain extent.

The tee pads are dirt and some worn very bad. The course also gets very muddy when it rains, but since it hasn't really rained in the las two years, that's not much a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to work on your control game. Last time I played I threw my driver (fairway driver, not distance driver) maybe a total of 3 times, with everything else being mid-range or putter shots. I don't even take a distance driver to this course.

The speed limit on the park road to the course is 15 because it goes next to a school, and I would suggest not speeding as I've seen cops out there on numerous occasions.

Update:
I'm bumping my course score up half a point since they have put in concrete teepads and some rock walkways which will cut down on the mud. However, the course pretty much plays the same except one hole is longer, another is shorter, and one or two of the teeboxes have been slightly shifted to the side.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is my home course

5+    4/20/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes you develop a good, technical short game. There's a short walk between most holes that helps congestion. Most of the locals are super friendly. A huge grassy field to practice long shots and warm up, as well as a practice tee. Usually a trailer offering new and used discs and drinks and snacks.
Cons: It needs some work; dirt tee boxes (soon to be replaced with concrete) are well worn. Can be crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: This course looks completely different from the pictures uploaded here, that's what the course looked like when I started playing nearly a decade ago. Several tee boxes pictured here have been moved way back and the trees are much bigger now giving you much less view of open sky. The fairways are usually a tight ally with an option to go over for people with bigger arms.

This is the course closest to my house so I play it at least twice a week lately. For the most part, the locals are friendly and will make you feel welcomed and give average players tips along the way. If you're brand new you might feel intimidated playing here at first but as long as you let faster groups play through if it's open ahead you'll enjoy yourself. Since Circle C reopened in early May the crowds here have all but disappeared. Parking is a breeze most days and the traffic jams that were common are mostly history.

The rumor is that this course will close for renovations after Labor day weekend 2009, including concrete tee boxes and perhaps a minor redesign.

I really enjoy this course but do concede that it could use a facelift. I'll miss it while it's closed but I look forward to the changes

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.