Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Sweet Searight

5+    5/10/2011   8/14/2009
Review By: Mr. Yuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home course. South Austin at its BEST. So many Ace and Birdie runs. The amenities include seats and trash cans on every hole. The tee pads are a great addition. Many of the holes a deceptive. What looks like an easy bird can turn into a +1 in a hurry. The view from 15 at dusk is worth the trip.
Cons: Play early or the place is packed. No matter what day of the week there is always has a crowd.
Other Thoughts: SADA spends a ton of time and money on this course. This course is an excellent example of what a community golfers can do!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sea--- they got this RIGHT!

2-4    5/7/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the variety of holes here. It never gets old, never gets easier either.
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty rough and rocky. No signs.
Other Thoughts: This course always kicks my butt, but I still want to play it!!! I love the challenge and trying to improve. Makes me work on my short and mid range shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is, bad for what it's not

5+    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good example of how a pitch and putt course should be done. Although most of the holes are birdie-able and short, there are a couple longer holes that are really quite nice and pretty challenging, especially Hole 3-- always happy to get a par on that one.

The reason I say this is how a pitch and putt should be done is because even though most of the holes are short, they are still challenging with narrow gaps and a variety of left, right, and straight shots, but leave your distance drivers at home.

This course is comparable to Zilker in the aspect that they're both pitch and putt courses, but Searight is MUCH less forgiving than Zilker due to tighter fairways and thick brush when you veer off the fairways.

The signature hole is a nice downhiller on the back nine, but again, it's just too short. I want to let one fly off the top of the hill, but instead I'm using my mid-range and keeping it low so I don't shoot past the pin.
Cons: It's short. You never really get to let one fly. Even, say hole 3, which is the longest, it's best just to lay up at the dogleg in the fairway, and have another medium distance drive to get within putting range. Although, I could see a left-hander or side-arm throw getting further down the fairway. Half of the course feels like filler holes and are just too easy, however, the other half of the course is quite enjoyable and challenging to a certain extent.

The tee pads are dirt and some worn very bad. The course also gets very muddy when it rains, but since it hasn't really rained in the las two years, that's not much a problem.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to work on your control game. Last time I played I threw my driver (fairway driver, not distance driver) maybe a total of 3 times, with everything else being mid-range or putter shots. I don't even take a distance driver to this course.

The speed limit on the park road to the course is 15 because it goes next to a school, and I would suggest not speeding as I've seen cops out there on numerous occasions.

Update:
I'm bumping my course score up half a point since they have put in concrete teepads and some rock walkways which will cut down on the mud. However, the course pretty much plays the same except one hole is longer, another is shorter, and one or two of the teeboxes have been slightly shifted to the side.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is my home course

5+    4/20/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: sensei
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Makes you develop a good, technical short game. There's a short walk between most holes that helps congestion. Most of the locals are super friendly. A huge grassy field to practice long shots and warm up, as well as a practice tee. Usually a trailer offering new and used discs and drinks and snacks.
Cons: It needs some work; dirt tee boxes (soon to be replaced with concrete) are well worn. Can be crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: This course looks completely different from the pictures uploaded here, that's what the course looked like when I started playing nearly a decade ago. Several tee boxes pictured here have been moved way back and the trees are much bigger now giving you much less view of open sky. The fairways are usually a tight ally with an option to go over for people with bigger arms.

This is the course closest to my house so I play it at least twice a week lately. For the most part, the locals are friendly and will make you feel welcomed and give average players tips along the way. If you're brand new you might feel intimidated playing here at first but as long as you let faster groups play through if it's open ahead you'll enjoy yourself. Since Circle C reopened in early May the crowds here have all but disappeared. Parking is a breeze most days and the traffic jams that were common are mostly history.

The rumor is that this course will close for renovations after Labor day weekend 2009, including concrete tee boxes and perhaps a minor redesign.

I really enjoy this course but do concede that it could use a facelift. I'll miss it while it's closed but I look forward to the changes

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 South Austin Course

2-4    3/27/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: RRDiscgolfer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, lots of different shots, very challenging. There is a hole that goes down a hill/mountain, lol, and it is the highlight of the course.
Cons: All courses have cons and this one does, very worn out course, doesnt seem like they do too much maintanence to this other than pick up trash and check that baskets are there. UG.
Other Thoughts: I hear that after they open Circle C that the city is going to close Searight for a couple of months to put in concreate tee boxes and do maintanence. South Austin/Austin in general needs more courses.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fair course

1    11/4/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course has a good mix of shot types. Some elevaton changes. Mainly shorter holes wich allow for some birdie potential.
Cons: Very poor signage! Challenge to figure out where to go/throw. Why are there so many disc golf courses like this? Would rate higher if better signs. Dirty course.
Other Thoughts: Haven't played much in the Austin area but this course didn't impress me too much. Appears like an older course in need of some love. Dirt tees with old baskets with nothing but rocks and dirt for faiways.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun 18 hole course that during the fall and winter gets turned around backwards. Tunnels galore. Always a group to join in with. A beautiful cliff shot into the sunset. Short and long shots and several ace chances.
Cons: Tees are worn. Very busy most of the time
Other Thoughts: Located right down the street from Disc Nation the awsome-est discgolf store that I know of.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Seawrong

1    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Secluded holes w very few crossing fairways. Lefts, rights, and many blind holes.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky, but not impossible. T boxes are just little construction markers surrounding some ruts. Easier to find the ruts than the markers...
Other Thoughts: Fun. Varied. Nothing to write home about really, but glad I went. Could not imagine how muddy you would get after a rain storm.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Carved out of cedar forest. A nice finesse course.

5+    3/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very interesting topography. Most holes are isolated from one another. Good variety and balance of shots.
Cons: Dirt tees. Dirt fairways. Old baskets.
Other Thoughts: As an annual visitor to Austin, this is one of the courses I have to play at least once while I'm here. As it is carved out of a dense evergreen forest, the best feature of the course is the fact that while you play the course, you will rarely see another hole from the one you are playing.

The worst feature of the course is there is very little in the way of ground cover. Most of the fairways are bare earth. Playing after the course has received rain means you will be slogging through some heavy mud.

The course has a good variety and balance of shot shapes and hole lengths are varied as well. You will utilize pretty much every shot in your bag and you might have to get a little creative should you wander off the fairway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, closed in, great course

5+    3/31/2006   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is on small footprint, it works its way around itself, making for quick play if not crowded. Shots are tight with a lot of looks at different shot types, short holes offer attempts at accurate ace runs, and sweet hi tomahawks and thumbers. There are still moderately long holes that seem even longer when forced to keep it within a tree lined fairway. This course is set back in a park, is super tree-lined, and has few if any residential areas backed directly up to it, making it very friendly to relax and enjoy yourself during your round......
Cons: Trash sometime isn't emptied promptly and begins to stink...but other that this rare issue this course is my personal favorite. If I were to give it any negative criticism it would be that this course lacks a reeeally long hole, if anything this course plays on the short side, but does so very well.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played this course since the ability to reverse it can about, so can't really review "seawrong" but I plan to make my way through there over thanksgiving, so we'll see. As for others saying this course is confusing, I can see this a little as at 3 you have to pick the correct direction where acouple holes walking paths cross one another, but truthfully, this course has fairways and walking paths that are clearly delineated and as long as you don't try to double back down the hole you just threw, you should be ok.

Also, as far as dirt tee boxes go, this is was a norm in Austin the last I lived there (3 yrs ago). I asked Dave Moody on afternoon at his disc trailer at Pease and the vague recollection of this conversation boils down to the city wouldn't permit concrete tee pads either for tax/budget/funds allotment issues or zoning issues...don't know exactly, but it was basically some bureaucratic bullsh&t on behalf of the city of Austin. Hopefully this has changed in the past couple years.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.