Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: dennytodd
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ahh. Good ol' searight....
I learned to play discgolf on this course in the late 90's. Its a great beginner course with 16 par 3s and 2 par 4s. Its basically a figure eight. Takes about an hour and a half to play with four people if its not crowded. Theres a birdy alley is what we call it. Holes 4 thru 7. All aceable. And hole 15 is the signature hole. Down hill and a nice place to take a break and crack a beer.The locals are usually real friendly. And Will let you play thru if youre solo or have one other with you.
Cons: Always crowded.
Other Thoughts: Its Definitly worth playing if you havent yet. Still my favorite course in Austin. Hard - no. Fun- yes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course but typically crowded

5+    6/10/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: gamblor01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has some great variety and doesn't over emphasize long drives. There are several holes that bend left or right, and you often have to think about how to place your shot (sometimes throwing over/around trees might be better than throwing a dart).

This is also a good course to bring beginners because it has some good variety but 16 of the 18 holes are par 3 so it's not overly difficult. Also has some really fun holes, especially 15!
Cons: I love everything about this course except that it is almost always too crowded. I have shown up and left to go play another course because there were already 6 or 7 groups waiting to tee off on hole #1 (at 9am).
Other Thoughts: Very close to Disc Nation. If you haven't been there it's a great place to get discs and information. They even have a special section for discs that are recommended for beginners.

Talented players may consider this course too easy. I think it offers some great challenge but I'm no pro. I have thrown a few birdies here and there, but have yet to shoot a round at even par. Really fun course but just try to make it during off-peak hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads.
Defined Fairways on a few holes.
Cons: Vandalized tees signs that look like someone beat them with a stick and then tried to remove them from the poles.
Baskets are varying heights with a few way to high.
Large crowds
Old school course that takes way longer to play than it should due to mobs.
The course is overplayed and the dirt fairways show it.
Groups of eight or more sometimes that will not let smaller groups pass through
Extremely Slow small groups that play like they are in an A tier and really take excessive time.
Extremely rocky.
No grass on any fairway
No rough making even a bad throw easy to recover from.
Extreme mulch. Huge chunks of wood all over some fairways.
Overgrown gaps
Easy to throw over any obsticle on 90% of course.
Hole difficulty is non existent on the majority of the course.
Not much variety of shots since you can just go over everything.
Original lines are gone due to over growth forcing you to go over the original line.
There are only 2 chalanging holes.
Cedar trees galore.
Feels like a pitch and putt except for 2 holes that are poorly stuck into a pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: I really tried hard to find more pros for this course but just couldnt come up with anything. This course is a 2 or die course until you get to a couple of challenging holes which can kill your whole round if you misplay them.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fairly easy course

5+    6/6/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: nathantrafford
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for learning on because it forces you to throw accurately, rather than throwing as hard as you can and hoping it lands somewhere in the open.

It's a really good course to practice your approach game, as well. Several of the shots require very straight lasers while others are begging you to bend it wide and skip it up to the cage.

It's well marked and easy to navigate.

There are always fun, interesting people here to meet.

There's a great practice hole.

There is a great risk/reward factor here. You can risk bombing it or tomahawking, etc. and if you are accurate with this kind of stuff, you will be rewarded. If you're not that accurate with these kinds of throws, well then it's a great course to learn/practice, as it's fairly easy to find your disc if you go wayward.

If you're one of those players that loves elevation change, then you're sure to like this course. It's not as intense as austin ridge or east metro, but it's got some really entertaining holes that actually make you think instead of "drive, drive, midrange, putt".

15 is just fun. Everybody loves throwing a disc as hard as they can off of a cliff.
Cons: It's often busy. There tends to be a big cluster F of people around the hole 9 area where people cut ahead etc.

some would say it's too easy, but i think it's just fun.

A large amount of the holes can be done with tomohawks/hammer throws. This can be fun and it's a great course to work on it, but what i've noticed happen is that less experienced players see others doing it, so they decide that they're going to do it for every hole, ending with losing their discs, holding up the line, annoying people etc.

Giant groups of people. C'mon guys. Just break your group into two or three groups like you would with bowling. You may not be in a huge hurry, but there are other people playing the course that don't want to wait 30 minutes at every hole because you won't let them pass.

Notice most of my cons are about the people. This isn't the case with my other reviews and that comes down to the fact that these things have happened regularly at searight since it's always pretty busy.
Other Thoughts: Go at an obscure time of day.

Pick up after yourself.

Be nice to each other.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Searight

2-4    3/3/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short but fun course for the most part, has a few longer holes
A few holes are potential ace runs
Well maintained, good paths between holes
Nice signs and adequate seating
Good mix of lefts and rights, with some elevation change
Cons: Gets pretty crowded on the weekends especially
Gets pretty muddy, making the tee pads dirty/slippery
Other Thoughts: Fun course, can be a confidence booster on a good day for sure.
Aside from it getting crowded and backed up, it's a very nice course and is definitely worth a try.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Longtime Favorite

5+    1/17/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: AceHunter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes with regard to both distance and the types of throws required. Nice cleaned out alleys to throw through and the course seems to be taken good care of. Really is a beautiful course.

-Trash cans, benches and signage are all excellent here
-Field to warm up with and a practice basket
-Single concrete tee box at each hole
-Easy to follow and the layout works very well as you never feel like you're throwing near another tee box or basket.
-Also regarding layout, the course is separate from the rest of the park, so you don't have a greenbelt, roads or bike paths around or through it like some parks. The course has disc golfers and dogs on it, that's it!
-There is a LOT of birdie and ace potential here
-Pet-friendly
Cons: -The main con here is the crowds. This has become the most popular course down south it seems and can be annoying in that sense. If you can't tolerate constantly catching the group in front of you or feeling "pressure" behind you then come very early and on a weekday to boot. 2:30 on Tuesday won't garner the lonely and quick round you get most places.
-The terrain can be rough on the knees/ankles here and there
Other Thoughts: I've been playing for a long time and have played this course more than any other and it has always been my favorite overall course. I love that despite the birdie and ace potential the course has felt challenging over the years. Both of my aces were here (1 and 17) and all but two baskets, 12 and 16, are in the same place they were 18 years ago. Twelve is much harder than it used to be. The additions they made awhile back (benches, trash cans and signs) were great and make the course more inviting and pleasant. The one change that kinda bummed me out was regarding what we called "stump alley." Hole 12 used to have the lower few inches of all the trees they cleared out for the fairway and your landing on the drive was always a gamble. It was annoying at the time, but in hindsight it was kinda fun having that random factor on the drive.

I tend to play a lot of solo rounds, so as long as people let me play through the crowds really aren't horrible. However, the sheer number of people playing and waiting to play is always surprising to me. I suppose that just goes to show what a great course it is.

On windy days I avoid this course mainly because some of the treed areas are very dense. If you get elevated on, say hole 9, and get yanked hard to the right you're pretty much screwed unless you love bushwacking it. Hole 16 can have that problem too, as you have to elevate since there isn't a normal alley to throw down. Hole 18 is the same on the left side, so if you don't get the right bend you need it can get ugly.

As I said before, one of my all-time favs here and recommend it to any skill level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Equalising Course

5+    8/24/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: js1573
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great layout. Good course for all skill levels. Plenty of birdie opportunities as well as trees to add for skill shots.
Cons: this course can get packed, quick! i tend to tee off no later than 7:00AM because the crowd (especially in the summer time) starts arriving around 9:00AM.
Other Thoughts: I love that, because of the shorter tendency in hole distances, pros and ams can play together and this course basically equalizes the two classes. there aren't too many holes where you have to have a huge throw, more finesse shots, so it's "easier" when playing more skilled players to keep up!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: VandeWalle1977
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where do I start? There is little wrong with this course. It is easily accesible from Anywhere in South Austin. Well laid out course with challenging holes for the best players yet still not too hard to discourage newbies. Hole 15 is a sight to be seen. Gorgeous view and since the recent renovations it is superb! Practice area and driving areas available. This course will make you use all of your shots...or in my case...it will make you learn some new shots and approaches.
Cons: Wednesdays host mini tournaments so if you are in a rush it could slow you down a little. That is the only con I can think of and it is not really a con, it's a popular course...Awesome!
Other Thoughts: Beautiful atmosphere....great laidout...signature hole #15 is awesome....nuff said....well worth the visit. Since Summer started I have played here several times a week and it never gets old!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice and Rec Course...

5+    7/8/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Dcloud90
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Easy to Navigate
-Hard to Lose Disc
-Lots of ace and birdie attempts
-Evenly wooded and Hilled
Cons: -Some pins too high
-Trash left inside the Woods
-VERY busy Course
-Too Easy
Other Thoughts: Personally, i think this course is too easy and think the holes should be longer, Pictures need to be updated to see how much BETTER it looks

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First time at Searight

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Collegeguy121
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very hard to lose disc, even with bad shots
-Couple of chances to get aces & many birdie opportunities
-Tee signs made it easy to navigate through the course
-I like how you had to be accurate to have a good birdie chance
Cons: -I wish they had longer holes
-scuffed up some of my least durable discs good on some holes
-There seems to be a lot of people that go play. I wouldn't mind too much, but some people that play are beginners so they go kind of slow.
Other Thoughts: The 15th hole was closed, which was disappointing

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.