Austin, TX 
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Seastorm

5+    1/14/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: Hal_9000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located in South Austin. Fun course to play, varying degrees of difficulty. Signature hole 15 has great elevation.
Cons: Lots of foot traffic, can get busy with wait times during certain days of the week. Can get dirty and muddy quick after a light shower.
Other Thoughts: Good course to play for a quick round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SaWeet!!!

1    6/15/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: mavjr24
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is one of the most challenging and entertaining course I have ever played. The layout on this course was just perfect
Cons: I lost a disc there
Other Thoughts: Very cool course is definitely one of my favorite course and really cant wait to get back out there to try to up the game from last. If you have not played this course you really need too.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun.

2-4    8/3/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! Courses are not like this in Chicagoland. Great place to play. Locals are courteous and polite. Course is in great shape. benches, trash cans, nice tee pads, great signage... it is all here... 18 great holes... a few w a bit of extra length... I am not a big arm guy, so the length here was plenty. Nice balance of lefty, righty and straight ahead shots. Lots of heat, but plenty of shady spots and places to sit and cool off for a bit. Wood chips for traction and decor where needed. Varied basket height I found to be a positive...variety. Course could be played with a small, light bag with few discs... just a fave putter, 1 big shot driver and a few mids for various choices. No skip shots or rollers due to terrain... but I get the feeling that these two shots are a bit limited in this area... overhead tomahawks and squatting shots for interesting tree situations will be needed. And the trees like to catch and hold discs a bit...In my home area trees drop discs easy. on 3 occasions I was tossing rocks at my disc to get it back... and good thing there is no shortage of rocks here.
Cons: None... Could not identify any when I was playing and sitll none upon reflection.
Other Thoughts: As I was playing, at about the 12th or 13th hole I was thinking through my upcoming review and running the course through my head... all good thoughts... but then I decided... what this course is missing is a signature hole... 1 hole that stands out, exemplifying what the course is all about... and leaving behind a solid memory of having played here... Then I came to hole #15... This is it. This is the sig hole for this course... beautiful... Long downward shot... great terrain... beautiful view, just narrow 'nuf to punish you if the shot is a bit off... and then I got to #16... this one is not a unique as #15, but... what a great hole... I could play this hole 18 times and call it a course... and then when I was done I came back to the beginning... Hole #1 is like a mini version of hole #15... so, this course has it all. Great place to play... and all of it memorable. I will play here every time I visit Austin... does not hurt that the disc golf superstore is across the street. BONUS!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: blake918
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has tons of fun hidden inside! I've played Circle C and this course compares to it being the little brother with shorter holes, and more beginner playability. the course has beautiful concrete pads a running creek and great markings and signage.
Cons: played after a rain has clay like mud everywhere will mess up your shoes but other than that nothing is wrong
Other Thoughts: If Circle C was too tough try out this course it will not upset

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    5/2/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Large parking area with a huge area for gathering large groups. Bathrooms and city park amenities at the start.

Events. Several days a week, all year long you may be able to find a Mini tournament here, the doubles were a ton of fun.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are always nice.

Variety. Most holes had several line options, with opportunities to try out many different shots, a variety of discs and shots came in handy.

Ace/Birdies. Nearly every hole is reachable in one, providing opportunities for aces, and scores well below par are possible.

Well kept. For the traffic that this course place sees, it is in relatively good shape, not too much trash around, fairways are well maintained and though there are many sings of heavy use, the course looks nice - in my opinion the new landscaping adds eye appeal.

Trash. Trash cans on most holes can fill up if it's busy, but it appears to be kept clean fairly well despite the high traffic.

Tough to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Short. Not much variety of length and I never really had an opportunity to grip and rip, big arms may seem out of place here.

Wood Chips. Who had the idea that wood chips everywhere are a good plan? Shredded wood everywhere makes skipping nearly impossible and finding footing tough in some places.

The area surrounding the tee pads. A huge runup shouldn't be necessary on this course, still if you prefer level ground directly behind the tee, it's tough to find around here.

Busy. Evenings and weekends you will be waiting on nearly every hole.
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable place to play a quick 18 to test your approaches and putts, well worth a stop if in the area. Especially a fun place to play a Mini. A short, fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Day Disc Golfing

5+    5/15/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: Davesdisc
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads and wood chips. Really helped with the wet and muddy conditions today.
Cons: None really. Advanced to Pro DGrs may not find the course not challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Searight was on the muddy side today. Without the renovation it could have been much worse, but the course held up well to all the rain. Can't wait to play it again in drier conditions. I highly recommend this course for beginners to intermediate disc golfers. My advice is to keep it in the fairway and you'll shoot a decent score.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Searight Renovated

5+    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: parrothead57
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've always liked this course because it has mostly short holes. This is the first time I've played it since the renovations. They did a great job! Cement tee boxes make this a much better course. They've also done a lot on the trails between the holes which should help after a rain. Signs were a great addition as were the big bolders for seating at the tee areas. Some of the pins were moved closer and made more accessible. This course demands a variety of shots, lefts, rights, and a few tight faiways. There's a few holes you can air it out.
Cons: The only con I have for this course is the addition of the big rocks on the trails in a few places. I know this will keep the mud down but until they get packed down walking will be tricky for some.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for beginners. It teaches control while stray shots are easy to find. (No tall grass!)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Oh Austin,

5+    11/16/2009   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety.
Tree's shrubs elavation. rocky terrain. it is difficult. esp on elv shots but it is good for learning overhand and downhill throwing.
Cons: can be confusing the first time around and also trash cans are usaully full. Lot's of mud near alot of box's after weather.
Other Thoughts: i never miss this course when on the road. it is easy on and off the highway and it is alot of fun for the player who likes a hike too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most fun course

5+    11/12/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, including many tomahawk shots if you have it inthe bag. There's several ace opportunities also. The rough isn't very rough along the fairways. Nice trees and view of the hill country through south Austin. There's a practice basket and room for driving practice as well. Most the renovations are great and some holes have been altered slightly.
Cons: Among the renovations that aren't great are the idiotic timbers that have been placed around the tee boxes like Circle C, and the fairways are being turned into mulch pits of Hades.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Searight

5+    5/10/2011   8/14/2009
Review By: Mr. Yuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home course. South Austin at its BEST. So many Ace and Birdie runs. The amenities include seats and trash cans on every hole. The tee pads are a great addition. Many of the holes a deceptive. What looks like an easy bird can turn into a +1 in a hurry. The view from 15 at dusk is worth the trip.
Cons: Play early or the place is packed. No matter what day of the week there is always has a crowd.
Other Thoughts: SADA spends a ton of time and money on this course. This course is an excellent example of what a community golfers can do!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.