Austin, TX
Searight Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 South Austin Course

2-4    3/27/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: RRDiscgolfer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course, lots of different shots, very challenging. There is a hole that goes down a hill/mountain, lol, and it is the highlight of the course.
Cons: All courses have cons and this one does, very worn out course, doesnt seem like they do too much maintanence to this other than pick up trash and check that baskets are there. UG.
Other Thoughts: I hear that after they open Circle C that the city is going to close Searight for a couple of months to put in concreate tee boxes and do maintanence. South Austin/Austin in general needs more courses.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fair course

1    11/4/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course has a good mix of shot types. Some elevaton changes. Mainly shorter holes wich allow for some birdie potential.
Cons: Very poor signage! Challenge to figure out where to go/throw. Why are there so many disc golf courses like this? Would rate higher if better signs. Dirty course.
Other Thoughts: Haven't played much in the Austin area but this course didn't impress me too much. Appears like an older course in need of some love. Dirt tees with old baskets with nothing but rocks and dirt for faiways.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/9/2008   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very fun 18 hole course that during the fall and winter gets turned around backwards. Tunnels galore. Always a group to join in with. A beautiful cliff shot into the sunset. Short and long shots and several ace chances.
Cons: Tees are worn. Very busy most of the time
Other Thoughts: Located right down the street from Disc Nation the awsome-est discgolf store that I know of.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Seawrong

1    11/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Secluded holes w very few crossing fairways. Lefts, rights, and many blind holes.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky, but not impossible. T boxes are just little construction markers surrounding some ruts. Easier to find the ruts than the markers...
Other Thoughts: Fun. Varied. Nothing to write home about really, but glad I went. Could not imagine how muddy you would get after a rain storm.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Carved out of cedar forest. A nice finesse course.

5+    3/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very interesting topography. Most holes are isolated from one another. Good variety and balance of shots.
Cons: Dirt tees. Dirt fairways. Old baskets.
Other Thoughts: As an annual visitor to Austin, this is one of the courses I have to play at least once while I'm here. As it is carved out of a dense evergreen forest, the best feature of the course is the fact that while you play the course, you will rarely see another hole from the one you are playing.

The worst feature of the course is there is very little in the way of ground cover. Most of the fairways are bare earth. Playing after the course has received rain means you will be slogging through some heavy mud.

The course has a good variety and balance of shot shapes and hole lengths are varied as well. You will utilize pretty much every shot in your bag and you might have to get a little creative should you wander off the fairway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, closed in, great course

5+    3/31/2006   10/21/2008
Review By: fly_hyzer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is on small footprint, it works its way around itself, making for quick play if not crowded. Shots are tight with a lot of looks at different shot types, short holes offer attempts at accurate ace runs, and sweet hi tomahawks and thumbers. There are still moderately long holes that seem even longer when forced to keep it within a tree lined fairway. This course is set back in a park, is super tree-lined, and has few if any residential areas backed directly up to it, making it very friendly to relax and enjoy yourself during your round......
Cons: Trash sometime isn't emptied promptly and begins to stink...but other that this rare issue this course is my personal favorite. If I were to give it any negative criticism it would be that this course lacks a reeeally long hole, if anything this course plays on the short side, but does so very well.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played this course since the ability to reverse it can about, so can't really review "seawrong" but I plan to make my way through there over thanksgiving, so we'll see. As for others saying this course is confusing, I can see this a little as at 3 you have to pick the correct direction where acouple holes walking paths cross one another, but truthfully, this course has fairways and walking paths that are clearly delineated and as long as you don't try to double back down the hole you just threw, you should be ok.

Also, as far as dirt tee boxes go, this is was a norm in Austin the last I lived there (3 yrs ago). I asked Dave Moody on afternoon at his disc trailer at Pease and the vague recollection of this conversation boils down to the city wouldn't permit concrete tee pads either for tax/budget/funds allotment issues or zoning issues...don't know exactly, but it was basically some bureaucratic bullsh&t on behalf of the city of Austin. Hopefully this has changed in the past couple years.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    8/19/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting layout. Good shot selection. Lots of narrow tree lined fairways. Quick and easy play.
Cons: Tee boxes need to be cemented. Needs signage, new players will find it difficult to navigate without a little work or help from a local. A lot of pot smoking on this course.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. It's not as brutal as Circle C, but not so easy that you can just swing away. there are some holes that can be exploited with the tomahawk, but if it gets too easy just force yourself to dig a little deeper in to the shot bag.

Like I said above this course gets alot of traffic and I usually run into at least one group that is smoking pot on the course, so if you are with the kids or this just bothers you be prepared when you play Searight.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing, but not great.

1    7/31/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fairways are pretty cool, although short. There is one cool hole that you throw down hill on, but it is also short and a thumber/tomahawk will easily get you there. Other people on the course were very friendly and helpful. Austin disc golf etiquette is great.
Cons: This is another of Austin's confusing dg courses. There aren't any signs to let you know anything about the hole. There are no concrete tee pads, only dirt tees that are no where near flat or suitable. Most all of the holes are short and make for easy birdies. The only obstacles are the trees, which can easily be thrown over the top of.
Other Thoughts: Try to memorize the map at the entrance because that is your best bet of finding your way around. The course makes a big figure 8. If you can figure out the crossing point of the 4 holes at the center of the figure eight, then you should be okay navigating the course by yourself. If you make the committment before you start to not throw over the top, then this course could be somewhat challenging, but otherwise way to easy. I, too, was glad when I finished so I could move on to find a better course to play.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Seawrong

1    6/2/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2008
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There are a couple of fun elevation drop shots but overall nothing to write home about.
Cons: Not much thought in the design. Most fairways are just straight cuts through dense cedar. The cedar trees make for a very frustrating round if you try to hit the tunnels and then fade or skip under a cedar tree. The locals all seem to have mastered the over the top type of throws because the cedar trees are short. Dirt hole tee pads are an Austin standard. No signs make it difficult to follow the figure 8 design the first time you play. It will help if you look at the large map at tee #1 before you begin.
Other Thoughts: When I finished hole 18 I was happy to be done. I don't reccommend driving out of your way to play this course.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.