Port Arthur, TX
Pleasure Island: Berry's Treasure Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/5/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: adudek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: wide open course. quick playing. dont have to walk very far to tee pads. Beautiful scenery with landscape and passing ships as you play.
Cons: The course has grass pads. Nothing is marked for where you should be throwing off. Signs are useless besides the hole numbers. Every hole feels the same. Mosquitoes are kings on this course. Left with about 30 bites. the pins are crap. Not the same pins throughout the course. signs dont offer the best description of the hole. Hole 15 and 3 are played to the same basket. That was never told at the front sign. The course is in really bad shape. I understand the weather this area has, but come on. Maybe some upkeep would be nice.
Other Thoughts: My final thought would be not to ever play this course unless you live next door.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Had a moment from the film, The Day After Tomorrow?

1    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 204  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Yes the mousquitos rule the island. HOWEVER, if you go when it is cold or windy, you can get a decent experience here. I went on a windy day and had little to no problems at all. The locals, said this was rare and that they wear lots of clothes and use lots of bug spray when coming here. This course has a few trees, lots of wide open holes, some OB, and fair elevation. This course is far enough away from most populations, that it should never really be that busy. The message board does have a map on it and it was really helpful. It was a real trip getting ready to putt and then all of a sudden I giant ship started floating into my view. I posted a picture of this in the courses pictures. I was like, is this the Day After Tomorrow? It is pretty cool that you are playing on an island. They do have a shelter with a pinic area on the course. I do think it is cool that this park is fenced in and set up just for Disc Golf.
Cons: There are signs that help a lot but they are in really bad shape. The dirt/grass tee pads are not in the flattest conditions. The baskets are all funtional but are worn. It is obvious this course has been around since 1991 and that the hurricanes have done their number on this place. All the refuge is cleaned up, but keep that in mind when coming here. We are probably not seeing what the course creator intended today. (sad thought I know) Also, plan ahead, as there are no bathrooms at the location and nothing very close by.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was not what I expected from an island course. This is basically your average open course. The trees and elevation that are there, does give it some flavor, but it was not enough to make me want to play a second round. One thing for sure, if you happen to play here, you will now be able to say that you have played on an island. BTW, make sure you get your wooden nickle with that.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: matt27d
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great scenery next to Port Arthur Port on the Gulf of Mexico looking at the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Bridge. Course is by itself and there's no reason for anyone to get in your way unless it's another Disc Golfer. Good hole layout and works well with the elevation changes. Being next to the Gulf, there was a constant breeze the whole time which adds a challenge to the course.
Cons: Grass isn't taken care of to well. It was almost like a pasture. The tee signs need cleaning. There are a lot of misquitos next to the water there. There are also some craters where the tee boxes are supposed to be. I think they removed a tree stump maybe. There are also no restrooms on the course, you may need to drive to the park nearby.
Other Thoughts: BRING BUG SPRAY!

This course is a good play and I can see the potential in the course if it would get fixed up a little bit.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your bug spray

5+    3/29/2008   3/31/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Cool view of the port where you can see large freighters coming in and out. Good mix of short reachable holes with a couple long ones too. An enjoyable course to play in dry conditions. I liked #15 with the basket shielded by the tree. An ace run at #18 can easily land you OB.
Cons:
Most tee signs are in need of major repair. The distances on some signs are not close to the real distance. Restroom facilities not convenient. A lost disc in the reeds (on #14) will be very hard to find. Holes #1 & #2 as well as #11 & #12 play back towards each other so be careful on those. Large mosquitos can be looming.
Other Thoughts:
Course was damaged in 2005 by Hurricane Rita and modifications were made to keep it playable. The course was reset to the pre-Rita configuration in Feb 2008. However, significant damage to some trees has left parts of the course too sparse.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.