Missouri City, TX 
Missouri City Community Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 346ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    4/23/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very pleasant neighborhood course that sits in a secluded part of the park. This means that you should not have to contend with any other patrons at the park.
The tee signs that are present are very nice and descriptive. The baskets also have big numbers facing the tees. Navigation on the main 9 holes should not be a problem.
There are a few hills. Something that is unique in Houston.
I find the baskets to have good placements. No hole seems too open. Most baskets are guarded by trees or blind shots (#5) from the tee.
The alternate tees - if you can find them - add distance to the course. The front nine aren't too short but it is nice to add a little bit of distance.
There is a map at the start of the course showing the main 9 holes.
Cons: I do not think this course is played enough for the tee pads to be worn it to a good point. Some of the tee pads are starting to turn to dirt.
Especially in the spring and growing seasons the grass can be very long and the park does not seem to mow frequently. The grass is not long enough to lose discs but it is long enough to make you annoyed when walking around.
Even with a lack of rain the course seems to be muddy near the low lying areas. There are bridges to help but the one or two that are present are not always enough.
Other Thoughts: In this Houston area this is probably the second best nine-hole course in town behind Northside Christian Church.

There are alternate tee pads marked with tiny bricks. These can prove to be challenging to find, but most of them are worth it to find. Use the map on DGCR to find the tees.

All in all this is a good course to come out and play if you are close. This would be a great course to have in any community.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Jim from NJ

2-4    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: JamesJosephMarks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This is a very nice course for someone of my age, level of play and ability to throw for distance.
2) It is neat and clean.
3) It is a much safer environment than some of the city courses I have played.
4) It is set-apart from the other sports areas, so other people are not wandering through the course.
5) Baskets have large numbered signs facing the player.
Cons: 1) I couldn't find the sign-board and "tee-box" for #5 - I eventually noticed 2 small orange flags and thin wires in the ground where the tee box should be.
2) The sign-board on #9 is missing the sign.
3) I only found one alternate tee area.
4) Better tee boxes would be helpful and provide a much better rating.
Other Thoughts: 1) The course is extremely dry - it didn't even seem like it got any of Sunday's huge rain storm.The grass is mostly brown. Sadly, many of the small trees are dead.
2) Be careful of the hundreds of ant hills hidden in the long grass.
3) As a newcomer, I always think it would be helpful if the basket showed the direction of the next tee area. On this course, it is not that important.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Toto we aren't in Missouri anymore

1    1/10/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 713  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) A lot of time and effort was clearly put into the undulations on this course. It is cool to see earth moving performed for the design of a disc golf course, something that pobably ha snot been done on many courses ever so this is very unique. It almost has the feel of an old executive par 3 golf course but EricJ said that was not the case, it was done specifically for this course.

2) 9 Mach baskets with # plates facing the tee. This is always nice to see the installation done properyl.

3) This course has a little bit of length on a few holes. Play the longer alternative tees for even more distance. There is a good variety in hole distance from each tee also, which results in a few multiple shot holes for those that cannot throw 300'+. I like this feature forcing some longer approaches along with some holes that are parkable distance around 200-250'.

4) This seems to be a really nice clean park. There are some other activities in the park like Baseball, soccer, and some other activities. Plenty of parking for all users it seems

5) Main course map page listed at the first tee area along with a DGCR page on the backside, it has distances and a decent map of the total course.

6) Tee signs have a decent diagram, Hole # and distance listed. They are easy to spot and help with navigation, although the flow isn't always intuitive.

7) This course has EricJ as a guide and I was thankful to get in a round with this DGCR legend. He also birdied #9 (380')with a parked drive, that was am impressive feat, and he didn't even make it look like he put in a ton of effort. He also gave me on of his legoman mini's. That was a cool thing to do!

8) I am sure wind can be a factor out here because there are not a whole lot of trees to affect the wind patterns. This would be an added feature to a course that doesn't present a ton of challenge other than through distance.

9) The course is completely removed from the rest of the parks activities. Its always nice to not have to worry about people walking all over the place.

10) This course seems to be very clean and well maintained. That is always a plus for how a course feels.
Cons: 1) There are not enough obstacles for my liking on this course. There usually is just a couple things to avoid on this mostly open "park-like" course. I much prefer technical disc golf over bomber open courses, probably because there is more thought and less "arm" needed.

2) Turf tees always leave a little to be desired although these seemed to be in decent shape. I would guess this course gets a fair amount of play and the tees seem to be in better shape than I would have expected.

3) No garbage cans or benches ont his course at all that I can remember.

4) Flow isn't always intuitive, meaning you can find youself thinking the next hole is one way and it actually is the other. It isn't horrendous because you can always look for the next tee sign/post, but it just seemed strange ina few locations.

5) The course takes up a fair amount of space considering it is only 9 holes. There is a lot of unused open space between holes, which is only a negative because the walks between holes get slightly extended.

6) Undulations and drainageways seem to cause low lying water in spots. We played the day after a rain and while most of the areas we walked were ok, the low spots seemed to retain a little bit of the moisture.
Other Thoughts: There aren't a whole lot of criticisms of this course but I simply cannot give it a higher rating than a 3.0. It isn't my style of course and that is how I rate courses. It is a decent course if you enjoy mostly open bomber type holes. i simply have no way to play this course at my current level without having a lot of mediocre drives with simply upshots to layup for a tap in 3. That doesn't fit the way disc golf is supposed to feel. If I were to improve and add 50' to my drives I could see enjoying this course more than I do at this current level. It isn't a bad course it just doesn't fit my likes and dislikes at this point.

The undulations around the baskets are sort of unique, but they are not severe enough to really affect play that much.

SO while my 10 pros and 6 cons might lead you to believe i might rate this course (3.42 average) along the same lines as all the other people, remembr how I rate courses, based ont he liklihood I would return. I am pretty sure I would only go back to this course to play the alternative tees, or if my skills improved to where the 300-350' holes were reachable by me. It simply became a drive, a simple upshot, and a tap in putt for 3. That is boring and gets old.

Simply put, I just wish there were more obstacles and more variation in the holes, then I could see upgrading the score I gave it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

5+    1/6/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Well maintained course; routinely mowed. Baskets in good shape. Grass tee boxes typically are firm. Great tee signs with diagrams of each hole's layout. Virtually no pedestrian interference. Good use of the sparse trees to make the holes interesting. All the baskets are on small hills to make putting a bit more challenging.

There's an "alternate nine" configuration you can play that increases the difficulty, challenge, and fun factors on the course. The tee locations are marked with small white bricks. But you'll need the map posted here on DGCR to find them.
Cons:
From the main nine tees it's not the most challenging course; Advanced players will be bored. Low lying areas can get soggy after rains, but there are foot bridges to cross the lowest areas and these are typically off fairway areas.

After the Hurricane Ike tee sign #5 lost it's metal course diagram and it hasn't been replaced since.
Other Thoughts:
This was the first professionally designed course in the Houston area.

Only hole #4 offers a significant chance of losing a disc over the barbed wire fence into the cow pasture. The pin placement for #5 can be tough to see for first timers: look far to the left, about ten o'clock from the teebox.

In Summer 2008 the Birdshot guys cleaned and painted the tee signs. Much nicer looking now. They also installed blue brick Alt tee markers.

You will occasionally have to contend with a ball golfer using the area around basket #9 as a driving range.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.