Layout Extinct

Universal City, TX 
Universal City Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: MacGyver214 Hole #4 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun course

1    4/24/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
Pros: I really enjoyed playing this course. The open shots have elevation changes to make them difficult and there are plenty if shots through and around trees and creeks.
Cons: No sign to tell you where the number 8 tee is but after a little walk I found it. Parking wasn't bad when I got there but when I left there was a football game going and the lot was full.
Other Thoughts: I will definately be playing this one again when I am in the area. I aced number 9 for my third ace so I will have to try for number 4.

  Humble

5+    12/31/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: korean_texan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: U.C. is what I consider my home court. Since 2001, this course has evolved into a masterpiece that can only get better. If disc golfing after rain, U.C. is the best choice in San Antonio. The huge ditches keep the course from being flooded. U.C. crews take good care of our park while our local eagle scouts have maintained the tee offs.
Cons: 1-4 and 15-18 are open holes, however they do support some nice elevation shots.
Other Thoughts: If don't like the course now, it's being remodeled again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course but getting better

5+    12/19/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: As other reviewers have said, the holes in the woods are the highlights of this course. Luckily, the open holes are being redesigned and I hear good things.
Cons: 1-4, 15-18 are kinda lame, but those are the ones being taken out.
Other Thoughts: Stay tuned. A lot of work is being put into improving this course. I am anxious to see the finished product. Kudos to all who are putting in the effort to make this a better, more challenging course!

  Walls of the Universe

5+    11/10/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: Bannermm2
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Nice and open holes to start then BOOM. Your skill is put to the test for 5-14. Couple mandos and a few blind shots. But they are some fun holes situated in the wood of the park it brings you back to life for the last 3. open air shots like the beginning. If your really feelin it then its easy to get in 3 rounds. Plenty of areas to chill and recharge.
Cons: Some of the chains are rusted and the mounds of dirt and rock in the middle definitley decrease the asthetic appeal. And like most courses it gets muddy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: The holes are fun. Some might find the open shots boring but it is a good solid course. Not the best but pretty good. Worth your time for sure

  Great Beginner Course

5+    10/17/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: Qioq
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are just starting Disc Golf, I think you could not do much better in South Texas. This is a short course. You can play in an hour and half.
As a beginner I like this course for its variety. 1-3, and 15-18 are over open fields. The rest is in medium to thick woods. There are a variety of shots needed.
Hole 18 finishes about 100 yards from the 1st tee.
Cons: Multi-use park. Holes 1, 2, & 18 are near other sports fields, but other than the occasional jogger, only hole 1 is usually any problem. My disc goes on the baseball field more than I'd like. This park gets heavy use for football, etc., which isn't a con, except for possible parking hassles & tickets, that, and having to listen to the football team's P.A. blasting We Are The Champions. Bring your I-Pod.
Other Thoughts: I can well understand intermediate and above players not liking this course a lot, because it is not as much challenge for them. But, I've played it over a dozen times, and still love the variety of shots needed. I think this is a great course to learn on.
Course highlights:
Hole 6: Lots of trees, but its an easy straight shot. It was my first hole in two.
Hole 8: A great hard left. Helps me learn when my discs turn.
Hole 9: The only 2 par hole I have ever seen, and its doable for a beginner. Seems like a great ace opportunity for a veteran.
Hole 10: This is a really tough hole. Its like 250' with a 30' wide fairway, an out of bounds on the left, and thick woods on the right. After 250' it bends hard right , which makes it even tougher for this lefty.
Hole 12: The basket is on a pennisula w/out of bounds mere feet away.
Hole 14: Tee is 20' from a hard right turn past woods, with other trees in front of you. Basket is 150' or so to right of turn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Comfortable Round

5+    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Jethro33
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: easy going round. . . nothing real tricky
Cons: half of the course is in the sun . . . little shade
Other Thoughts: really enjoy playing this course. . . you can play this course with novice people and they still have a good time.

 Watching Airplanes

1    4/28/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee signs, pads, and baskets. There is a good mix of shots here that range from wide open to in the woods, then hyzers to annys and everything in between. Not to many long holes but the are a couple. Not to bad to navigate. Hole 10 is a 425 or so long blind anny through the woods, with a homemade bell to ring to let others know its clear. The holes in the woods are fun because they are tight but not to tight like some other courses that make it hard for beginners. A little creek runs through the back but there wasnt much water in it, but it does make the green on 12 very cool!! The soil looked to be good after a rain which is a plus too. Elevation used pretty well.
Cons: HOT!!! All of the open holes are very common and didnt do much or me at all. The wind can be a factor. The tees on 9 and 11 were kind of akward.
Other Thoughts: Cool watching all of the jets flying over for the whole round. Bring your drinks because it gets hot fast and yo dont see the parking lot after you leave. Parking could be an issue as there are softball feilds, BB court, and the course, not that many spots!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 UC Park

5+    4/10/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of open holes and tree holes. I like the scenery as well, for being in the middle of UC.
Cons: Watch out for offroad vehicles on 8-11, they don't seem to care enough to watch out for discs...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holes 6-14 are the best part

1    4/2/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2009
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well…there are concrete tees and a few pretty good holes from 9 through 14. I just can't think of much else to say here… It's not that everything else is bad, it's just… ordinary.
Cons: The 9 best holes (6-14) are bracketed in the beginning and at the end by 9 weaker holes (1-5 and 15-18). It's like having your books between cheap Dollar Store bookends. You get off to a dubious start with 5 lackluster open holes, then you play 9 decent holes, and you end your round with 4 more insipid open holes to finish with a sour taste in your mouth. The 9 weak holes really pull down the 9 decent holes.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White (most suitable for Intermediate players rated 875-925.)

Most elements of the Design, Basics, and Amenities are merely average or a little below average. The good points of holes 6-14 are negated by the bookend holes 1-5 and 15-18. For example, 6-14 have good terrain with woods or mixed grass and trees, and they have the best greens, but the other holes are too open and boring. Tees and baskets are OK. The length variety is merely average (1 of 155/ 11<299/ 3<399/ 2<499/ 1 of 540. Most are 205-315.) The online map is sufficient, but a little below average

My advice is to enjoy 6-14 as much as you can.

NOTE: I rated this course Below Average, but I recognize that building this course took lots of vision, time, money, and work. Since I don't want to disparage these efforts, I'm not posting my complete review notes in the Links/Files section. If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf @ gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.
You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.