Corpus Christi, TX 
West Guth Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 206ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 West Guth

2-4    7/5/2013   5/15/2014
Review By: wiskidew
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open space. You can really open up your arm. Elevation comes into play often. Little chance of losing a disc on this course. I was only down visiting, so I don't know the strength of the community, but the course was empty both times I played that week.
Cons: Even having pieced together a map of the course from other reviews, I had a very difficult time navigating. I would love to see new signs and tees.
Other Thoughts: With a little upkeep, this course would be a joy to play instead of a chore to navigate. I may be moving to the area, and this course is a pro on my list to move. I would love to spruce it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/20/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: t tommy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the 50th course in Texas. At that time Texas was the only state with 50 courses.
1. Hole 1 has a great basket placement - real risk and reward hole from either tee. An improvement over the original placements.
2. Wind and elevation changes cause great crosswinds on several holes that can challenge your preconcieved notions of what kind of wind you are facing.
3. the park is still sort of green despite the drought.
4. Not a lot of players on course, you can play as fast as you want or take your time and make a few practice throws.
Cons: 1. tee box on 1 red is an ankle breaker
2. no basket on hole 5
3. red tee on 6 has had a big tree limb hanging on it forever
4.no signs for hole info or directions
Other Thoughts: This was the first 18 hole course in the coastal bend. (at that time Ingleside was a 9 hole course with compost filled pits for tee boxs) Time has taken it's toll on Guth. Trees on Holes 2, 9, 11 blue, 12, 13, and 15 that once added to the challenge of the course are dead and gone. Erosion has ruined a signature hole on hole 5. Local have improved basket placement on hole 1 (tough hole, great challenge) but tee box placement on red 3, red 6, red 12 and both tees on 17 need to return to original placements (Call John Houck, he designed the course). The tee box on red 1 is a horrible ankle buster and no basket on hole 5. It would be nice to see locals put some elbow grease into reviving the 50th disc golf course in Texas. Maybe replace some of the trees and the missing basket. Relocating and manicuring tees would be welcome as well as some sort of direction signs. It would be great to see this course return to it's former glory. It is still a good course with lots of elevation changes and the topography causes the winds to play some mean tricks on several holes. It's a fun course worth playing but has been and could be better again.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Steeplechase On The Coast

2-4    10/25/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 11/10/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course. It has at least 18 holes. And there are quite a few challenges here. #15 comes to mind. There is a throw across a wide part of the creek that, if you can't throw at least 125 feet from the red tee, you have lost a disc. There is no going to get it. Otherwise good course and worth playing once or twice.
Cons: Tough to navigate. No tee signs. Hole #5 basket is missing. People all over the park. Good luck if you play in the afternoons. Watch out for the trees. They like to capture discs and keep them.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course and a good place to play in a pinch. My recommendation is braving the mosquitoes and going on down to Ingleside and playing their two courses there. Much better courses and much more challenging.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where is East Guth?

1    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Red and blue (and also a few white) posts mark the tees and are also numbered to help with navigation.

2) Rare elevation usage in Texas. This was a welcome sight when we arrived at the course. The slight rolling hills were also fun to play and basket placement was key in certain areas, which really brought the elevation into play.

3) Basket placement is key on most of these holes since they are mostly open. The green areas probably are the biggest redeeming value of this course. There are quite a few baskets protected by trees and obstacles forcing you to come in from specific directions. There also are a couple baskets placed where the elevation will come into play.

5) Decent variety out here because it brings a pond into play, it has elevation, it has some interesting basket locations, it has some open bomber holes, some tighter tucked basket locations, and you even have to be concerned with a couple of creek crossings. It isn't the best course in the area in my opinion but it is the most diverse.

6) A lot of the challenge here seems to come from distance alone, because most of the tree trouble seems to only come into play at the tee or at the green. I like to have tree trouble and other obstacles the entire length of the fairways.

7) Good distance variety on this course from a few in the high 100's a bunch in the 200's NO 300' footers, a few 400's and a 500'. I love how this impacts the shots that need to be thrown on a course. I just hate having the same approach distance on every hole.

8) It is a nice feature to have dual tees regardless of their conditioning because it allows all skill level to come out and enjoy.

9) Fairly beginner friendly because it is mostly open. The elevation, distance, and the wind will still challenge the beginners, but that is life deal with it!

10) Every hole out there does have something to make it interesting. At first I didn't see this but after looking back I guess the holes were much better than I thought. I had fun I just wasn't wowed I guess and I like to be wowed. Regardless I upped my rating to a 3.0.
Cons: 1) #1 tee had some excavation done around it and had not been repaired.

2) Navigation at times is difficult. Figuring out the additional holes was not easy, partly because there are no number plates on the baskets. transition from Hole #1 to Hole #2 was goofy because of a large backtrack . . . not a great way to start the course having to wait for people playin #1 to walk back through your fairway.

3) Tees are dirt/grass which is always a big negative in my eyes. The turf itself in spots on this course where compaction and traffic wouldn't even be an issue seems spotty. Simply put it is not the healthiest park turf I have ever seen. When wet I can imagine it being messy and muddy on the tees, around the greens, and even in the middle of some fairways. Add concrete tees and this is automatically a 3.5 instead of a 3 course IMO.

4) A little too open for my liking in general. Its a good thing there is elevation and some pretty interesting basket positions or this course would not be anywhere near as good as it is. There are some trees out there but it is mostly around the tee or the green, and not a callenge the entire length of the fairway.

5) Baskets are old Mach baskets without number plates and many times are tough to find because they blend right into the surroundings.

Other Thoughts: The maintenance issues, lack of good teepads, along with the lack of decent navigation signs, teesigns and garbage baskets drop this course to a mediocre course overall. It is still a decent course but I simply would much rather choose some of the others in town over this course. It is fun to play still because of the basket locations and the elevation changes which no other course in the area seems to have. If the turf was in better condition and teepads were added I think this course could really be a mid 3 rating. If only it had a couple of tight wooded tunnels to and this course would have it all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Town Course

5+    9/26/2005   10/26/2009
Review By: Trampy1
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open park...lots of long open drives mixed with a few close, in-the-trees shots. Great course for those that like to rip it.
Cons: After a rain, bring the bug spray, and beware of the ditch. Park has a bad reputation after dark, so best not be there too long after a later afternoon round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course-Hard to Navigate

1    11/28/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: djxionic
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, pretty good course. Different types of holes for different skill shots. Hilly terrain allows for good elevation change and a good work out. Trees and water allow for scenic views. Pins are consistent and in pretty good condition.
Cons: No map or info for course. No practice tee at hole 1. Hard to find white (front) tee boxes on wholes 11 and 16. Parking is weird. Tee boxes are in poor condition. Parts of course are just dirt with no grass or vegetation.

Other Thoughts:

Difficulty differs drastically from hole to hole. One whole may be 400 feet with trees and other obstacles and the next maybe 200 feet with a direct line of sight to the pin. Multiple skills shots required to hit par. Elevation changes between front and back 9.
***Parking***Enter park off of Up River Road-follow paved road around until you see the lake (ducks and trees all around). Park on either side of road near the lake. Tee box for whole 1 is in front of parking lot 50 yards ahead of the lake (Unable to access parking lot for course thru park entrance. The parking lot is only accessible through the adjoining neighborhood. I couldn't find it)
Watch whole 16-I had a seven stroke blowup...be carefull!!!


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Viva Variety

2-4    9/28/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I first arrived, it seemed a little wide open, however, the course design is excellent, and uses the terrain and trees cleverly on almost every hole. Every hole has some wrinkle to it, more than one in many cases. Whether its:
+Shooting over a river to a pin up on a hilltop
+Shooting slightly downhill to a pin guarded by a clump of large trees
+Shooting around/over a scary-looking green duck pond to a pin on the bank & in the trees

For a park with only scattered clumps of trees, I was amazed how well-protected the baskets were here. Most of them were in or behind some of trees that came into play on the hole, which really created a lot of variety of lines.

This is the type of course that calls for a wide variety of shots, and a lot of balanced risk-reward with hazards like riverside pins, lakeside pins, hillside pins, and very appropriate usage of OB to make every hole different. Holes tend to be on the long end (especially for a course of apparently all par 3s)

This course will push you, and let you know what shots/discs you need to add to your arsenal. This course has arguably the most terrain in play of all the courses I've played so far in the Houston-Corpus area.
Cons: This park does not play through any heavily wooded forests, so wooded tunnel shots are the one area where this course is lacking. Since the trees are scattered, it opens up many options to go around/over/through obstacles that don't exist in a forest course (ex. Blue Ribbon Pines), and makes this course easier as a result, but whether this flexibility should be considered a con is debatable.

Long Tees are dug out, but no concrete poured yet. Several Tee signs broken or unreadable, but the dirt tee areas are usually easy to spot. Benches at most long tees.

It is hard to find Hole 1 without help from a local. Some baskets are hard to see, and would benefit greatly from a numbered flag stuck in the top
Other Thoughts: Since the holes are long and tricky (yet par 3), you will need controlled D to shoot even on this course, but the great part of this course is that you will have a great time here regardless of your eventual score. Loads of fun, just could use a bit of a face lift.

With repainted tee signs, clear hole #s marked on all the baskets, basket spokes painted to point in the direction of the blue and red tees for the next hole, and improved tee boxes (concrete or gravel), this is a fun, challenging 3.5, or maybe even 4 star star course


Bring Bug Spray, or the skeeters will carry you off.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.