Corpus Christi, TX 
West Guth Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 206ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    12/24/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my closest course. It's got some good distance, blue and red tees; in some cases also white tees. Factoring in the OB and sometimes big time wind and you'll see a wide range of scores. I started scoring well only after I stopped going OB a lot. I recommend this course to anyone in the area. If you are coming down for business, bring your bag and leave yourself some time to play. It's very close to a lot of the port/oil/gas other industry.
Cons: Trying to imagine playing this for the first time, without a guide, and I imagine it could be tough. The tees are dirt, and in some cases rutted, and probably difficult to see. The city mowers often knock over markers. It'll be a lot easier if you find a local to accompany you. I think it's a fun course and worth the effort; I also think that with the use the park gets, you'd see any signs marking the course get vandalized within weeks. Good asphalt tees with a stencil showing the hole and directions to the next tee would be a huge improvement here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Guth

5+    4/28/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice change from Ingleside. 2 sets of tee here and it looks like they are puting in a thrid set. Its pretty wide open but the baskets are pretty well guarded for the most part. Good baskets. The tees are dirt and have ruts in them that sometimes make for akward drives. Elevation is used very well. You have to have a big arm and be able to control it in the wind to score well here. Consistancy is a reward here too.
Cons: This course is always windy which can make it tricky but makes a good course for wind practice. Navigation can be hard for someone who hasnt been here before. No maps available and for the most part there arent to many locals there during the week so be patient. Cant play over be 3's fairway after school, kids EVERYWHERE! Hot and its a long walk once you get started. Tee signs are just numbers with no pic of the hole. The pond on 1 is gross.
Other Thoughts: I like this course alot but its kind out of the way. I would much rather play Ingleside if you have only one course to play(heard from locals Inglesides getting another 18). Bugs and moles all over the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go long, pack sandwidges, bring water

1    9/28/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: Jungle Tim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well kept 20 hole course in a public park. Creeks and lakes in play with an excellent mix of length and multiple tees on each hole. Some nicely protected baskets and some elevated tees for going big. This course makes excellent use of the park and features especially as there is a limited amount of foliage.
Cons: It is a wide open course and for my tastes not nearly enough danger. If you shank it you should still expect to par on most holes. Its long but its not really difficult. Lacks some incline drives, and tight wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: The 20 holes make for a good long round. Take DEET with you, and definitely some sustenance, as well as mucho agua!

A very enjoyable course, with something for all levels of golfers, that is probably the best in Corpus Christi.

Check the events schedule for the course as it is unavaliable for play during cross country events.

Concrete tees should be in soon as well as a 21st hole!

Get in touch with 3rd Coast Disc Golf, the're legends and they will show you around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Breezy and fun course

6/7/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: willez
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun course, close to corpus christi, definitely the best in the area
Cons: Watch out for the fire ants! they are everywhere, if the disc goes in the water its see ya disc
Other Thoughts: A pretty wide open course

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1/16/2008   1/16/2008
Review By: Erroneous
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rolling hills, green grass, duck pond and creek in play, lots of wind, open but requires good shots due to wind and O.B.
Cons: sometimes crowded with parties and BBQ's
Other Thoughts: John Houck design and guaranteed to be a good challenge.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.