Corpus Christi, TX 
West Guth Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 200ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 West Guth

2-4    7/5/2013   5/15/2014
Review By: wiskidew
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open space. You can really open up your arm. Elevation comes into play often. Little chance of losing a disc on this course. I was only down visiting, so I don't know the strength of the community, but the course was empty both times I played that week.
Cons: Even having pieced together a map of the course from other reviews, I had a very difficult time navigating. I would love to see new signs and tees.
Other Thoughts: With a little upkeep, this course would be a joy to play instead of a chore to navigate. I may be moving to the area, and this course is a pro on my list to move. I would love to spruce it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/24/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my closest course. It's got some good distance, blue and red tees; in some cases also white tees. Factoring in the OB and sometimes big time wind and you'll see a wide range of scores. I started scoring well only after I stopped going OB a lot. I recommend this course to anyone in the area. If you are coming down for business, bring your bag and leave yourself some time to play. It's very close to a lot of the port/oil/gas other industry.
Cons: Trying to imagine playing this for the first time, without a guide, and I imagine it could be tough. The tees are dirt, and in some cases rutted, and probably difficult to see. The city mowers often knock over markers. It'll be a lot easier if you find a local to accompany you. I think it's a fun course and worth the effort; I also think that with the use the park gets, you'd see any signs marking the course get vandalized within weeks. Good asphalt tees with a stencil showing the hole and directions to the next tee would be a huge improvement here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lost in Space

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: DiscMan Walking
Played: 115  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of land to work with, huge Park with creeks, pond, elevation changes, and a fair amount of trees for the area.
Hole # 10 is the signature hole. Two live oak trees guard an easy shot down a draw from the top of a hill - beautiful shot.
The course is well manacured fits discretely into the hills.
Cons: This list is long and well earned.
1. Finding the parking area next to hole #1 is difficult at best. The directions do not even mention that there is a parking lot right next to hole # 1. They direct you to the park and hole #1 doesn't have parking inside the park - you have to leave to find the parking area.
2. The map isn't accurate - holes and tees are not really where they say that they are. I thought that I was geo-caching with my cell phone trying to find the holes (all of them).
3. Hole #1 breaks some of my cardinal rules. You throw towards an area intended for people.
There is a park bench, ducks, trash cans, a pond and no "Mando" to go around. In order to get par you almost have to go straight for the basket right through the melange of hazards.
4. Baskets are old, rusty and do not have number plates. The rely on the Discraft sticker on the pole inside the chains. This was a bad idea 15 years ago - it hasn't changed. Now, people have scratched the numbers off, they are so moldy you cannot discern what basket you are throwing at, and in one instance there are two baskets about 20 yards apart (with no numbers on either).
5. Hole 5 doesn't exist. So don't waste time trying to find it.
6. Baskets are located across roads and hiking/biking paths. With all the land that they have to work with, this seems ridiculous.
7. There are multiple tees for hole # 10 So many in fact that they seem to be everywhere - and make finding hole # 11 obscure.
8. The tee boxes don't exist - they are mud patches with either a blue (long), red (medium) or white (not sure) 2 ft post in the ground that may or may not have the number carved into it.
9. From 10 - 18 you seem to cross pedestrian paths several times. Disc Golf has a bad enough reputation (unearned) but we do not need to be throwing at people to add to the rap.
10. The baskets are old and grey - they have no color and make it difficult to spot.
11. No tee signs, no signage at all (even at hole 1).
12. I didn't see the need for multiple tees/ placements on hole 10. It confused me, so I guess that others might be confused too.
Other Thoughts: I guess that I was disappointed mostly. Disappointed in the lack of attention, disappointed in the missing basket, and disappointed in the old run-down tired course that is suffering from old age and apathy. I hope that someone takes on the challenge and revitalizes this course. It could be a really good course with a little attention and some TLC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/20/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: t tommy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the 50th course in Texas. At that time Texas was the only state with 50 courses.
1. Hole 1 has a great basket placement - real risk and reward hole from either tee. An improvement over the original placements.
2. Wind and elevation changes cause great crosswinds on several holes that can challenge your preconcieved notions of what kind of wind you are facing.
3. the park is still sort of green despite the drought.
4. Not a lot of players on course, you can play as fast as you want or take your time and make a few practice throws.
Cons: 1. tee box on 1 red is an ankle breaker
2. no basket on hole 5
3. red tee on 6 has had a big tree limb hanging on it forever
4.no signs for hole info or directions
Other Thoughts: This was the first 18 hole course in the coastal bend. (at that time Ingleside was a 9 hole course with compost filled pits for tee boxs) Time has taken it's toll on Guth. Trees on Holes 2, 9, 11 blue, 12, 13, and 15 that once added to the challenge of the course are dead and gone. Erosion has ruined a signature hole on hole 5. Local have improved basket placement on hole 1 (tough hole, great challenge) but tee box placement on red 3, red 6, red 12 and both tees on 17 need to return to original placements (Call John Houck, he designed the course). The tee box on red 1 is a horrible ankle buster and no basket on hole 5. It would be nice to see locals put some elbow grease into reviving the 50th disc golf course in Texas. Maybe replace some of the trees and the missing basket. Relocating and manicuring tees would be welcome as well as some sort of direction signs. It would be great to see this course return to it's former glory. It is still a good course with lots of elevation changes and the topography causes the winds to play some mean tricks on several holes. It's a fun course worth playing but has been and could be better again.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Steeplechase On The Coast

2-4    10/25/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 11/10/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course. It has at least 18 holes. And there are quite a few challenges here. #15 comes to mind. There is a throw across a wide part of the creek that, if you can't throw at least 125 feet from the red tee, you have lost a disc. There is no going to get it. Otherwise good course and worth playing once or twice.
Cons: Tough to navigate. No tee signs. Hole #5 basket is missing. People all over the park. Good luck if you play in the afternoons. Watch out for the trees. They like to capture discs and keep them.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course and a good place to play in a pinch. My recommendation is braving the mosquitoes and going on down to Ingleside and playing their two courses there. Much better courses and much more challenging.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where is East Guth?

1    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Red and blue (and also a few white) posts mark the tees and are also numbered to help with navigation.

2) Rare elevation usage in Texas. This was a welcome sight when we arrived at the course. The slight rolling hills were also fun to play and basket placement was key in certain areas, which really brought the elevation into play.

3) Basket placement is key on most of these holes since they are mostly open. The green areas probably are the biggest redeeming value of this course. There are quite a few baskets protected by trees and obstacles forcing you to come in from specific directions. There also are a couple baskets placed where the elevation will come into play.

5) Decent variety out here because it brings a pond into play, it has elevation, it has some interesting basket locations, it has some open bomber holes, some tighter tucked basket locations, and you even have to be concerned with a couple of creek crossings. It isn't the best course in the area in my opinion but it is the most diverse.

6) A lot of the challenge here seems to come from distance alone, because most of the tree trouble seems to only come into play at the tee or at the green. I like to have tree trouble and other obstacles the entire length of the fairways.

7) Good distance variety on this course from a few in the high 100's a bunch in the 200's NO 300' footers, a few 400's and a 500'. I love how this impacts the shots that need to be thrown on a course. I just hate having the same approach distance on every hole.

8) It is a nice feature to have dual tees regardless of their conditioning because it allows all skill level to come out and enjoy.

9) Fairly beginner friendly because it is mostly open. The elevation, distance, and the wind will still challenge the beginners, but that is life deal with it!

10) Every hole out there does have something to make it interesting. At first I didn't see this but after looking back I guess the holes were much better than I thought. I had fun I just wasn't wowed I guess and I like to be wowed. Regardless I upped my rating to a 3.0.
Cons: 1) #1 tee had some excavation done around it and had not been repaired.

2) Navigation at times is difficult. Figuring out the additional holes was not easy, partly because there are no number plates on the baskets. transition from Hole #1 to Hole #2 was goofy because of a large backtrack . . . not a great way to start the course having to wait for people playin #1 to walk back through your fairway.

3) Tees are dirt/grass which is always a big negative in my eyes. The turf itself in spots on this course where compaction and traffic wouldn't even be an issue seems spotty. Simply put it is not the healthiest park turf I have ever seen. When wet I can imagine it being messy and muddy on the tees, around the greens, and even in the middle of some fairways. Add concrete tees and this is automatically a 3.5 instead of a 3 course IMO.

4) A little too open for my liking in general. Its a good thing there is elevation and some pretty interesting basket positions or this course would not be anywhere near as good as it is. There are some trees out there but it is mostly around the tee or the green, and not a callenge the entire length of the fairway.

5) Baskets are old Mach baskets without number plates and many times are tough to find because they blend right into the surroundings.

Other Thoughts: The maintenance issues, lack of good teepads, along with the lack of decent navigation signs, teesigns and garbage baskets drop this course to a mediocre course overall. It is still a decent course but I simply would much rather choose some of the others in town over this course. It is fun to play still because of the basket locations and the elevation changes which no other course in the area seems to have. If the turf was in better condition and teepads were added I think this course could really be a mid 3 rating. If only it had a couple of tight wooded tunnels to and this course would have it all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Should have been fun

1    8/9/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: The Crit Piece
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: From what I saw (see Cons/Other thoughts), this is looks to be a really fun course. Its not heavily wooded but the cleverly placed tees/baskets make for some moderate/hard shots over and through small groves. The trees seem to catch discs so that adds a challenge. Some holes are on the longer side. Coming from higher altitude and throwing in the heavy air makes you feel like a beast. Plan on lots of Hyzer Flips.
Cons: Poor tee quality, no signage, hard to find tees and baskets.
Maintained based on the fact that there is a school right next to it with a football field instead of the fact that its a potentially awesome course.
Let me say, I am from Colorado. How does anyone play in this heat/humidity? We came well prepared with gatorade and water and got there around 7:30am to beat the heat. It was unbelievably hot. Kudos to anyone who is commited enough to disc to play in this heat on a regular basis.
My main complaint was the bugs (I know that can't be helped) By hole 3, I was so covered in mosquitoes that I stood up from swatting them to tell my buddy I was getting eaten alive and he had 10-15 on his back biting him THROUGH HIS SHIRT. It was like something out of a horror movie. Tons of bug spray is an absolute must although you will likely sweat most of it off after 9 holes so bring extra and reapply.
If your shot goes in the water on 1 or the revine just convince yourself you never liked that disc anyway and move on with your life. The water is ill.
The super high grass is a nightmare and it eats discs.
Watch out for the huge red ant hills.
Other Thoughts: Maybe we were in Corpus at the wrong time (we were) and maybe we just caught a particularly bad morning (we did) but it was a shame we had to pack it in early because this course looked like a ton of fun. Maybe winter is a better time to play? Had a lot of fun tossing some more over stable discs in the heavy air. If they would spray more often for mosquitoes, this is a really solid course. Feel like we really missed out on an awesome round due to the tough conditions

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Town Course

5+    9/26/2005   10/26/2009
Review By: Trampy1
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open park...lots of long open drives mixed with a few close, in-the-trees shots. Great course for those that like to rip it.
Cons: After a rain, bring the bug spray, and beware of the ditch. Park has a bad reputation after dark, so best not be there too long after a later afternoon round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 West Guth Park

1    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: sub ceroh
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another public park course that is well kept up. Trees, sand,and water in play and there are multiple tees. Nice to play a 18 hole course since most are 9 in this area. As usual lots of wind due to the ocean which makes this course more fun. Nice layout and elevation changes but mostly flat.IF YOU ARE IN THE AREA THIS IS THE COURSE TO PLAY.
Cons: There is no map on the course so use the one from DGCR as it is a bit confusing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 West Guth Park

1    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: lohrtom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes. Spread out for some very nice long shots. You get a work out walking the course.
Cons: I made the mistake of playing this course on Memorial Day. LOTS of kids and picnickers there. One was using a basket to hang their jackets (why I don't know, it was 93F). A very confusion course if you have never played it. Get a course map to start. I played it to play it. I'd wouldnt recommend it.Other nice courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: If your disc get stuck in a tree on hole 10, ask the elderly gentleman that lives just over the fence to use his pole to knock it out. He is disc player friendly and has seen numerous get stuck in the thick branches in the trees that surround the hole. Also, enter the park from the rear to park near tee 1. Don't use the main entrance unless you have to.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.