Layout Extinct

Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 208ft.   3 / --   3 / 208ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    9/14/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: Ample parking.
Easy to follow course.
Some long holes.
A few blind holes.
Not very busy.
Cons: Not all hole's have tee pad's.
The first four hole's are just in an open field.
Most sign's have been torn down.
No elevation changes.

 Fun little pitch n putt

1    5/15/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park with some small elevation changes. These are used as much as possible to add some interest with some upslope and downslope holes. About half of the holes play more open, and half are tight technical shots through the woods. The wooded holes can be very tight with punishing rough to catch errant shots, but are short enough that most players have a chance to run at them if they hit their line.

The park was pretty, and there wasn't much vandalism or litter. The baskets had some spots of rust but were in decent shape and caught just fine. The tee signs were basic, but had a distance and hole map that were entirely adequate. The flow of the course was good, with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course plays extremely short. Many of the wooded holes play under 200', and I only remember one hole that was long enough to require more than a putter shot. It was fun to play tight lines through the woods, but it got a little old, especially with wide open short holes mixed in that didn't add anything interesting to the course.

The tees were natural, and not in great shape in several places. Some were rutted or not level, and some were muddy, making for less than ideal tee surfaces. The course was pretty crowded with large groups unwilling to let smaller groups play through, I don't know if that's a normal thing, so I didn't let that affect my rating, but it was a little annoying.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the shorter lengths, but will be challenged to hit tight lines in the woods and stay out of the dense rough in places. More experienced players will find some fun shots here, but overall not need to use more than a putter to reach most holes.

This course would be a fun place to play super class rounds or practice hitting lines with your putter, but don't expect much variety or real challenge. It's worth a quick stop if you're in the area, but don't drive too far just for this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short

5+    9/13/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: TheDGWizard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quick course to play. Takes my friend and I about 45 minutes.
-You'll get some low scores, making you feel better about your game.
-It's not usually too crowded (at least when I go)
-Lots of potential to get an ace
-Fair variety of hole setups (after the first 5).
-Easy layout to follow
Cons: -Worn out tee boxes.
-Not much of a challenge. Even as a beginner, There's good potential for a birdie or ace on basically every hole.
-The first 4 holes are in a flat, open field. Boring.
-It's very short. The longest hole is only 373, and the shortest is 136.

Other Thoughts: Despite its shortcomings, it's still fun to play. It's probably a very good course for beginners or children to play.

Of the courses I regularly play, this one is my least favorite. But I'll continue to play it because it's the only one available when I'm in that area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Cool little course

2-4    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: Unsourced
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Practice basket.
-Very nice course to bring beginners out on.
-About four or five very nice holes.
-Easy to navigate.
-Scenery is pretty nice once you get into the wooded holes.
-Nice ace opportunities.
Cons: -First four holes are kind of boring
-Tee pads!!!
-Wooded areas there still are next to no obstacles.
-Missing two signs.
-Airplanes overhead and police sirens half the time. (not too secluded)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mini-Disc Golf...engage

5+    8/4/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super fun little course(after the first four holes). It's literally like mini golf with discs with it's short (120-180) twisty holes. A good test for your mid-range and approach shots. Fairly close to Milwaukee, which horribly lacks in it's disc golf courses(1 in the city). It's just fun sometimes and to me that's good enough!
Cons: Short. Have played 4 rounds of 18 in a three hour period. The first four holes are out on a flat football field like surface and play 230+. Kind of boring. You see these when you pull up and think "what a dud course". It's the back holes that are the little gems here. A little over zealous giving some holes a par 5 rating. Three holes very EAGLE makable in this scenario. Loose gravel tees that are annoyingly slippery.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, this is the funnest little course close to Milwaukee. A perfect bring beer out and drink and throw discs kind of course. My short game has drastically improved from this course. I think if they added some clowns to throw through and some wind mills it would truly be a fun little course. :-) ...joking. Try it at least once.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This course starts slow

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wooded holes on this course are great for practicing short hyzers and anhyzers. The underbrush on every hole is cut back nicely so that you can find your disc with ease if your drive goes foul. Also, 90% of the course can be played with a Mid range and a putter which i liked because it was great practice. The woods were the fun part of the course, I'm skipping right to them next time.
Cons: Many of the holes are way to short. Some shorter than 140' and less. I could never play this course too much because it would get stale pretty quick. The first five holes are just wide open grass shots that are only maybe 250'. Yippee! Par is too easily obtained on this whole course. The "long" hole is a par 5 at 300". Good for beginners for sure.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for dog poo and poison ivy. Beware!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Personality

5/20/2008   5/29/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety of distance and difficulty; nice area; decent labels for the course (hole number, map of the obstacles, and distance are all printed. Hole-in-ones are often written on the signs by hand); easy to find the next hole; qualities that match beginner and more advanced skill levels; the course has something that I would call 'personality' and can't easily put into words
Cons: About 7/18 holes are essentially in a flat and open field with very few obstacles - some really have no specific challenges; it gets busy very often with pretty heavy drinkers - this doesn't bother me at all except they move very slowly and are obnoxious; very poor drainage makes this a no-go after a heavy rain; open holes generally don't compensate by having longer distance
Other Thoughts: If the 7 holes mentioned in the cons matched the quality of the other 11, I'd probably give this course a 3/5. Since they don't provide any real challenge I feel forced to give this course a score of 2.0 - this course is average. (Note this was edited down from a 3.0. The reason is that I've played several other courses since and it put this course in perspective)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.