Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 327ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Beginner course.

2-4    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: adjohnson2008
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a pretty good mixture of hole. Some are pretty short. And there a a few longer holes. Most of the holes are on the shorter side. The are some wide open holes and some holes good obstetrical. Over all a great course for beginners.
Cons: There are not any holes to really let loose on. The first few hole are way to easy. The course was soggy but playable. Some holes have high wind, but it makes it interesting.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a good course to have a good time one. Pretty good scenery as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The one that started it all...

5+    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: thenamesben
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a real beginner friendly course, flows very nicely, and offers lots of challenges to newer placers.

-Good mix of open holes and wooded holes. The first four holes are wide open, then it's straight into the woods, which can be pretty harsh during the summer, then the course spits you back out into a few more open holes to finish up.

-Good mix of long(ish) and short holes. There are a few holes here that will make an experienced player pull out a driver, but there are a lot of short holes that not only offer some ace-runs, but are good for the up and coming golfer to learn on.

-The signage is excellent, except for the two missing signs, numbers 13 and 15. They are short holes with no mandos, but I suppose some people are anal about know the distances. (I'm not.)

-Open all year!
Cons: -While short holes are a pro for beginners, they are a con for experienced players. If all you want to do is grip it and rip it, this course isn't for you!

-Natural tees. I usually don't mind natural tees, but because of the insane amount of traffic this course gets during the summer, the tees are pretty much little ditches. Many players opt to throw from the side of the tee. As of this writing, the tees and baskets on the front 9 have been woodchipped.

-This course gets WET! After a rain this course is nasty. Lots of large puddles and the tees, being natural are just straight mud.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played, just about a year ago now. It was a fun course to learn on, but I have outgrown it, and moved on. I still play it only because it is 3 minutes away from my work, and I can get a round in in the morning. If you're in the area, give it a go!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 FUN LITTLE COURSE

5+    12/19/2011   1/30/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent variety of holes. Some wide open short aceable holes (Well if you are good that is). Quite a few through some bramble with defined enough lines to make the pins accessible on one shot. A couple of longer (300-375') holes to add in some grip it and rip it feel, but really only on 3 or 4 holes.

2) Excellent use of the terrain. It isn't severely sloped, but some holes go uphill slightly, some go downhill, and some go across the slopes.

3) Pins are very well protected on the tighter holes, really placing an emphasis on shot location rather than distance. However, there are bail out areas for your drives on a few of the really tucked baskets.

4) First four holes are a nice warm up, no obstacles at all, just line up your shot test the wind and throw away. 3 of them should be easy birdies because they are drivable for even a beginner (assuming good technique of course).

5) The tight holes are tight, but short enough that even a beginner can toss some good throws without having to worry about too much stuff. The target should be to stay in the open fairway though, because if you go deep in the shule (New DG word to me I kind of liked it so I decided to use it here instead of just calling it Bramble) you could be in for a whole lot of Buckthorn!

6) The middle holes will leave you wondering why you didn't birdie them all, and instead walked away with pars and bogies! What I am saying here is they may be short, but you need to think about your line first then worry about how hard you need to throw it.I like the challenge rather than just easy layup holes!

7) Gravel was placed in many spots between holes and before and after teepads . . this helps with the mud around the course and works well in already compacted soils.
Cons: 1) Not enough distance, but I suppose they did what they could with their property. Rather than just making it a 9 hole course and extending the holes, they decided to go regulation 18 holes but have shorter holes. It isn't too big of a deal because the there really are three types of holes here and equally balanced 1) wide open 2) tight in the brambles 3) fairly open with tucked baskets, and each of these three types of holes have about 6 holes each so at least it is broken up nicely.

2) Plastic geogrid mesh put on tees and gravel poured into them. . . its a good theory but they are as slick as anything else so you might as well still throw from the turf outside of the tee area. They also put this stuff around the baskets . . . so be ready for parkjobs turned into 25' putts!

3) Last two holes are pretty plain, I would have tried to incorporate more of the bramble from the middle holes on #17 and #18. They don't really inspire you to come back, but the middle holes ( 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14 ) will leave you wondering why you didn't birdie them all, and instead walked away with pars and bogies!

4) I would have tried to incorporate the stream/river (along #2 and behind #3, also behind #13 and along #14) that runs through the property, there could be some great holes crossing the water. I am not sure where their property ends and begins, but if possible, a few of the beginning holes could be broken up and incorporate the river. Or just add a few holes crossing back and forth across the river. They would need a couple bridges for sure, and the banks are pretty steep, but I would like the holes better had it been used.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an average ourse but it can be fun if you go to throw shots . . . there is a good variety and decent challenge to make you execute to score well. i have gotten much better over the 3 years of playing and just recently shot my best round ever (-13). Its a long way since I was shooting over par here initially.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.