Layout Extinct

Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 373ft.   4 / --   3 / 373ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Abendschein Director's Review

5+    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Jivecody
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are many good things about Abendschein. I find some of the best things to include the easiness of navigation, the amount of garbage cans, the friendliness of the majority of the players, the baskets are in good condition, the variety of the course besides the first four is awesome. It is beginner friendly as well as girlfriend and family friendly!
Cons: There are many cons to the course most of which is the fault of the parks department. No matter how often we tell them that the grass needs to be cut more than once a month (twice a month would be sufficient) they don't do it. The teepads are dirt and rutted out due to rain, they have tried putting in some drainage hard plastic teepads on holes #5, 6,7, and 10; but then just suddenly stopped putting them in. The course is used 7 days a week, 12+ hours a day by people yet it treated by shit by the parks department. We as players are trying to take the matters into our own hands a bit more to develop the course to a better level. The signs get broken by kids and are not replaced, they are not expensive signs to begin with so not sure what the idea is there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the people who come to this course make it worthwhile to play and there are a lot more players who are great to shoot a round with then bad, The nature aspect of it for me is right on and is just a nice small park to walk around and throw some discs! There are not many long holes and some people complain about some holes being par 4 or what-not but most people who play here play the course as par 3's. The garbage is not too much of a factor here as there are many garbage cans and we do our best as players of the league to keep the course clean, ESPECIALLY of glass. The league has drastically been helping the respect factor for the course as well as players rise to a much more humane level. Just sick of going to other courses in the Milwaukee area besides dreztka and brown deer that are overrun by what we label as "wankstas." It's not worth a drive out of the way but if you are comming from chicago area for any courses to the north of milwaukee or in milwaukee this is an easy stop less than 5minutes off the freeway and can be finished in less than an hour if you play through quite fast. The leagues are Sunday at 5 and if you have questions about it you can contact me on this site.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun coarse

5+    3/20/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Horsman
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This coarse is very beginner friendly. I personally love this coarse and that is only because it lets me throw a roc on every hole but one. The coarse has a decent mix of wooded to clear holes and the baskets are nice.
Cons: This coarse is rediculously easy. Until they recently changed the pars on some holes it was very easy to consistantly throw up a -20. The coarse during the later part of the summer and fall is infested with mosquitoes. There are a lot of people that play this coarse and are very inconsiderate.
Other Thoughts: Very easy coarse and fun to play but no need to travel from far away to come play unless you want an ace coarse

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Abenschein Review

5+    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: millanec
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy beginner course, great place to practice. Never really crowded so pace of play goes very quick and people generally let you pass if your playing at a quicker pace.
Cons: Not very challenging. After rain during the summer the mosquitos can be deadly.
Other Thoughts: All in all a nice beginner course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course

5+    1/16/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: esjaygee
Played: 131  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very beginner friendly.
- Good use of the land, especially on the wooded holes
- Good signage, though a few are missing. Some have been replaced recently.
- Open year round.
- Can play a round quickly.
- Has a practice basket.
- Good course to play night disc golf.
- Many ace and birdie opportunities
Cons: - Shares its parking lot with a baseball field. On game days it gets very crowded and it's tough to find parking.
- The first five holes. While being great for a beginner and warming up, after playing the course many times, they do get a little boring.
- Ivy, thorny trees and mosquitoes in July.
- Tees are dirt with woodchips. They are fine in the spring, but come late summer many turn into big ditches and in winter they turn into small ice ponds.
- Can be crowded sometimes, especially after school and on Friday nights. The Sports complex down the road is never crowded and I'll often go there during those hours.
- Some areas can be very wet after a rainfall, especially the first four holes and the area around hole 10.
- Garbage cans are overflowing often.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area and interested in playing a round, send me a message. Abendschein Park is the park were I cut my teeth into the world of disc golf. While it's not a huge course, I feel it does succeed in what it's meant to be, a beginner course - and still has a few challenging holes for the intermediate player.

Walkthrough:
It was nice to learn to drive on some wide open holes, and you get five of those to start, save some trees on the right of hole two. They vary in distance with the 4th hole being the longest. You go into the woods for holes six through nine, six you have to throw around a tree but it's a birdie hole. Hole seven requires a hyzer and is surrounded by woods. Hole eight requires an anhyzer or throwing it over the trees, I've been tossing a thumber with good success on that one. Nine plays out of the woods with trees on the left and way off on the right. The best part of the course is the back nine. 10 is slightly uphill with woods behind it. 11's basket is protected by trees but there's an opening to right that seemed pretty darn narrow for a beginner. 12 is a longer hole with woods on the left and right and some free standing trees along the way. 13 still gives me fits, it is a straight shot with woods on the right and the basket is tucked between woods and a huge pine tree. If you have a super straight shot, it shouldn't be a problem, but I haven't mastered that art yet. 14 is perhaps the easiest hole as I've carded many birdies on here. A low hanging branch makes it a lot tougher in summer than in winter and fall. There is a river on the right that could eat a disc if it catches a tree as I lost one there early on. 15 is another short hole with a handful of trees to make it a bit trickier. 16 is the longest and probably toughest hole on the course for me. The basket it protected by a wall of trees so you have to have a big hyzer to reach it. There are some shrubs on the right of the hole as well so if you miss right, you could have some trouble. 17 sits atop a hill with woods on your left and a big tree on your right, one of the easier holes on the course, where I got my "almost" ace. 18 plays back down the hill 10 came up and outside of a few trees it's fairly easy.

Overall, it's a great beginner course and I can get a round done in less than an hour. You'll often find a few guys (jpaceman on youtube) filming themselves trying to get aces here, but I tend to choke with the camera on me. This course has been rumored to be taken out sometime soon, hopefully I get another year here because it's the closest to my house and I enjoy playing here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

1    9/30/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park and good overall set up. Signage and flow are good. Park is clean. Good variety of holes, lenghts and experiences here. Course does not cross other use areas, but does cross road between 4 and 5. baskets are all in good shape. garbage cans at many tees for pop cans and such. Nice. Played here again. Like it even better in summer. Rough areas are not too rough. Almost wildflower meadows. Not too deep, but rough enough to know you lost the fairway. Woods were not buggy at all, but I did not have to ge very deep. I pared all holes 'cept for birdies on 6 and 15... which was nice... but could have done much better had I not been first timing it with a number of brnad new discs.
Cons: A few tee signs are missing. The one let down here are the tee pads. The teeing areas are well worn. more like tee troughs. The ground is worn bare and the depressions can be muddy at the centers. In many cases I was forced to tee off from along side the pad... disturbing the original intent of the design of the hole. In some cases this does alter play esp. on the shorter holes. The need to work from the side alters the approach a bit. In others, not so much. This time of the year (late July) this tee pad thing was zero issue as it is hot as He** and all were dry... and... dry, they were just fine. With the right shoes, grip was just dandy.
Other Thoughts: I really like the variety here and the way it flows. First 4 holes are wide open grass area. Distances are middle of the pack (for this course) so these serve as a nice warm-up. Get the arm loose and get a feel for how you are throwing for the day. The next few head towards and into the more wooded/wild portion of the course. These holes are shorter but a bit more technical. You will need to make disc and shot selections here more so than 1 through 5. There are dog legs to both left and right. Many slightly wayward shots put you into the rough. Small trees provide nice challenges/options. There are a piar of par 5 on the back 9 making for some added length (comparitively). Bottom line... All good fun. Now that I am back with nearly a year of experience I can say this course is a lot shorter than I remember... No real big arm opps here... I guess my arm is getting bigger. overall... I will play here every chance I get.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Luck?

5+    10/14/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: Paul H.
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As stated in other reviews, when you first get to the course, the first four holes lead you to believe this was a poorly thought out course. Be patient. By the time you get to the woods, you opinion will change. Short, technical holes with some longer "chuck-em" holes break up the tedium. A good mix of hyzer/anhyzer holes help your mid/short game. This is a great course to improve your short game.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. Some of which have these bizarre concrete stumps in them. Watch your footing, especially after it rains! No alternate pin placements. No pro tees. First four holes are pretty boring, unless you approach them as "ace" practice.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course! No, it's not the best around, but who cares. It's a great place for some practice rounds, especially to practice your short/mid game. Concrete tees and alternate pins would kick this course up a notch or two...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Creek disc golf

1    8/23/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The frist 4 holes lead you to believe that this is a stinker of a 9 holer, but hole 5 takes you into the woods that you won't leave again for quite a while....It's an 18 holer that's pretty short (there are a few holes that are over 250) so you can practice your short games; some holes are eagleable and quite aceable.

I barely brought out my midranger; instead decided to practice my short range driving. Found it far more challenging than originally expected due to really good pin placements.
Cons: There's poison ivy galore here. I'm sure the skeeters multiply incrementally when it's wet, so bring some OFF if you're playing after it rains.

If you've got a big arm you might be disappointed. Maybe 2 holes are over 300', quite a few are under 200', and the rest are in between.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.