Layout Extinct

Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 165ft.   3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Like a good friend...

5+    4/22/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners as well as veterans to the sport. There are a nice selection of wide open holes to start and get you warmed up. There are also a number of shorter and more technical holes once you cross the street. For a newbie, this course should net you lower scores and keep your confidence up. For experienced players, this is a course that is like a driving range. Challenging yourself to try new shots is what a course like this is made for.
Cons: Wet. If it rains, this course is not the greatest at getting rid of it. The drainage isn't terrible, but you can count on standing water. The course isn't very long, but that isn't always a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to call your home course. You can learn, develop and grow on a course like this. Even at its busiest, it is still a fast moving course. Very happy to call it home.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Abendschein is hard to spell

5+    5/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: KevinCG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played this course dozens of times. I like that it never closes and that its always sparsely populated, even on the weekends. I have played in the dead of winter and it was surprisingly enjoyable. I GPSed the course. Here is my Google map: http://maps.google.com/maps/m...3b84&z=17
Cons: Dirt pads. Mosquitoes everywhere. This is the worst course for bug bites I have ever been to. Wear bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course. Nothing too easy, nothing too hard. Its a good warm up if you live in the area. Its well groomed and the people that hang there have always been very nice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Abendschein Park

1    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * There is a variety of hole types ranging from heavily wooded to open.

* There is a wide range of tee to cage differences.



* If you throw your disc poorly and it goes into one of the wooded areas it is easy to find because most of the wooded areas have paths or are very small.

* Lastly there were some very nice hole designs. They tested the fade and curve in your disc with some holes that were dog leg lefts and rights, the distance of your drive with a few moderate distance holes, and your accuracy using a couple short holes.


Cons: * Some of the open holes were identical to each other so the first five where a little boring.

*and the tee pads are in pretty poor shape. I think they were originally grass but now are dirt so if it has rained recently that could be a problem.


Other than that the course was very good.
Other Thoughts: * It is located in a nice and quiet park area.

* They have a practice cage by tee 1 so if you just want to work on your putting since the course is usually very empty you will have no trouble doing it there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Put-put disc golf. Fun little course.

5+    10/20/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well thought out little course just south of Milwaukee a few miles.There's only a couple of longish shots, & some nice little ace runs all over this course. Usually ample parking right at the start/finish area of the course. OK signage, but could use some updating.
Cons: -signage needs to be updated.
-poison ivy on the back side of the course.
-Mosquitoes are insane on this course. BRING THAT BUG SPRAY!!
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to go play on a late afternoon. It is short enough that you can get 2 sometimes 3 rounds in after a day of work before you run out of light. On the down side, I'll surely have some brain malady from all the bug spray I've used here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: DarthErikUWRF
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow design.
-Nice relaxing course to play
-Some challenging shots but still fun to play for all range of abilities of disc golfers.
Cons: -Very popular course, leads to long waits to throw.
- When it rains more water hazards appear around the course
-the Thornapple Trees cause problems.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play for everyone, no matter what your ability is. Beware of some trees, otherwise there is no problem with this course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: lynne302
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy layout to follow, you don't spend your time trying to figure out what hole to go to next.
-it is great for beginners, not a lot of risk of losing a disc or getting frustrated
- it is great for all ages and capabilities, I've played with a 6 year old and a 60 year old and everyone in between.
- the back 9 are my favorite holes
Cons: - some holes are missing signs (#13 and #15)
- tee boxes are wood chips
- it is in a flood plain so be careful when it rains
- the river on #14...could be potentially bad
Other Thoughts: It may not be an extremely challenging course, but it is great to just get out and play and have fun. We play the course, with a large group, regularly just to unwind after work.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Well Laid Out

2-4    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Back 9 are fantastic, lots of fun. Well Laid Out Course makes it easy to pick and choose holes you want to play.
Cons: Lots of Airplanes overhead, First Five holes are kind of boring, can get busy. Not maintained as often as should be.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the Thornapple trees!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.