Layout Extinct

Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Beginner

1    6/3/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a smaller park that has a lot of holes crammed in. Doesn't seem like any other activities are going on, other than the disc golf.
- About half of the course weaves in and around a small forested area, with fairways carved out of the trees/rough. There are some obvious lines to hit, like some hyzers and anhyzers. A few blind pin positions here as well. #13 has a pretty tight gap and finishes right, which is a bit tricky. #16 is the longest hole, uphill finishing behind a patch of rough.
- Some minor elevation changes here, like the uphill 373' hole, and a downhill toss on #17/#18. Nothing crazy, but it helps.
- A deep creek is on the right on one hole, which is in play for a shanked shot or a bad tree kick. The hole is only 136', but what can you do.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signage. Navigation is a breeze. Some plastic/pads around the baskets to help prevent mud pits, a nice touch.
Cons: - A lot of holes are wide open, particularly the first four. If I played here again I would probably start on hole 5 and save myself the trouble. Good for a warmup I guess, and one hole is over 300'.
- A LOT of holes are very short, with a pretty simple line. Seven holes under 200', that's no joke.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, an OK course that offers some interesting shots (that are short), and some longer holes (that are open). A great course for beginners to learn about basic line shaping, and work on distance. Everyone else will cruise through without any trouble. Putter rounds recommended!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/14/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Ample parking.
Easy to follow course.
Some long holes.
A few blind holes.
Not very busy.
Cons: Not all hole's have tee pad's.
The first four hole's are just in an open field.
Most sign's have been torn down.
No elevation changes.

  Abendschein Director's Review

5+    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Jivecody
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are many good things about Abendschein. I find some of the best things to include the easiness of navigation, the amount of garbage cans, the friendliness of the majority of the players, the baskets are in good condition, the variety of the course besides the first four is awesome. It is beginner friendly as well as girlfriend and family friendly!
Cons: There are many cons to the course most of which is the fault of the parks department. No matter how often we tell them that the grass needs to be cut more than once a month (twice a month would be sufficient) they don't do it. The teepads are dirt and rutted out due to rain, they have tried putting in some drainage hard plastic teepads on holes #5, 6,7, and 10; but then just suddenly stopped putting them in. The course is used 7 days a week, 12+ hours a day by people yet it treated by shit by the parks department. We as players are trying to take the matters into our own hands a bit more to develop the course to a better level. The signs get broken by kids and are not replaced, they are not expensive signs to begin with so not sure what the idea is there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the people who come to this course make it worthwhile to play and there are a lot more players who are great to shoot a round with then bad, The nature aspect of it for me is right on and is just a nice small park to walk around and throw some discs! There are not many long holes and some people complain about some holes being par 4 or what-not but most people who play here play the course as par 3's. The garbage is not too much of a factor here as there are many garbage cans and we do our best as players of the league to keep the course clean, ESPECIALLY of glass. The league has drastically been helping the respect factor for the course as well as players rise to a much more humane level. Just sick of going to other courses in the Milwaukee area besides dreztka and brown deer that are overrun by what we label as "wankstas." It's not worth a drive out of the way but if you are comming from chicago area for any courses to the north of milwaukee or in milwaukee this is an easy stop less than 5minutes off the freeway and can be finished in less than an hour if you play through quite fast. The leagues are Sunday at 5 and if you have questions about it you can contact me on this site.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Like a good friend...

5+    4/22/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners as well as veterans to the sport. There are a nice selection of wide open holes to start and get you warmed up. There are also a number of shorter and more technical holes once you cross the street. For a newbie, this course should net you lower scores and keep your confidence up. For experienced players, this is a course that is like a driving range. Challenging yourself to try new shots is what a course like this is made for.
Cons: Wet. If it rains, this course is not the greatest at getting rid of it. The drainage isn't terrible, but you can count on standing water. The course isn't very long, but that isn't always a bad thing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to call your home course. You can learn, develop and grow on a course like this. Even at its busiest, it is still a fast moving course. Very happy to call it home.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun coarse

5+    3/20/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Horsman
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This coarse is very beginner friendly. I personally love this coarse and that is only because it lets me throw a roc on every hole but one. The coarse has a decent mix of wooded to clear holes and the baskets are nice.
Cons: This coarse is rediculously easy. Until they recently changed the pars on some holes it was very easy to consistantly throw up a -20. The coarse during the later part of the summer and fall is infested with mosquitoes. There are a lot of people that play this coarse and are very inconsiderate.
Other Thoughts: Very easy coarse and fun to play but no need to travel from far away to come play unless you want an ace coarse

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: OakCreekKiller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, it is a disc golf course. It's four blocks from my house. Decent short course for kids.
Cons: Short. Boring. Tons of hacks playing. First five
Other Thoughts: Milwaukee has so many better courses. Dretzka and Brown Deer come to mind.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Abenschein Review

5+    6/13/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: millanec
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy beginner course, great place to practice. Never really crowded so pace of play goes very quick and people generally let you pass if your playing at a quicker pace.
Cons: Not very challenging. After rain during the summer the mosquitos can be deadly.
Other Thoughts: All in all a nice beginner course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Abendschein is hard to spell

5+    5/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: KevinCG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played this course dozens of times. I like that it never closes and that its always sparsely populated, even on the weekends. I have played in the dead of winter and it was surprisingly enjoyable. I GPSed the course. Here is my Google map: http://maps.google.com/maps/m...3b84&z=17
Cons: Dirt pads. Mosquitoes everywhere. This is the worst course for bug bites I have ever been to. Wear bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course. Nothing too easy, nothing too hard. Its a good warm up if you live in the area. Its well groomed and the people that hang there have always been very nice.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Abendschein Park

1    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * There is a variety of hole types ranging from heavily wooded to open.

* There is a wide range of tee to cage differences.



* If you throw your disc poorly and it goes into one of the wooded areas it is easy to find because most of the wooded areas have paths or are very small.

* Lastly there were some very nice hole designs. They tested the fade and curve in your disc with some holes that were dog leg lefts and rights, the distance of your drive with a few moderate distance holes, and your accuracy using a couple short holes.


Cons: * Some of the open holes were identical to each other so the first five where a little boring.

*and the tee pads are in pretty poor shape. I think they were originally grass but now are dirt so if it has rained recently that could be a problem.


Other than that the course was very good.
Other Thoughts: * It is located in a nice and quiet park area.

* They have a practice cage by tee 1 so if you just want to work on your putting since the course is usually very empty you will have no trouble doing it there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little pitch n putt

1    5/15/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat park with some small elevation changes. These are used as much as possible to add some interest with some upslope and downslope holes. About half of the holes play more open, and half are tight technical shots through the woods. The wooded holes can be very tight with punishing rough to catch errant shots, but are short enough that most players have a chance to run at them if they hit their line.

The park was pretty, and there wasn't much vandalism or litter. The baskets had some spots of rust but were in decent shape and caught just fine. The tee signs were basic, but had a distance and hole map that were entirely adequate. The flow of the course was good, with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course plays extremely short. Many of the wooded holes play under 200', and I only remember one hole that was long enough to require more than a putter shot. It was fun to play tight lines through the woods, but it got a little old, especially with wide open short holes mixed in that didn't add anything interesting to the course.

The tees were natural, and not in great shape in several places. Some were rutted or not level, and some were muddy, making for less than ideal tee surfaces. The course was pretty crowded with large groups unwilling to let smaller groups play through, I don't know if that's a normal thing, so I didn't let that affect my rating, but it was a little annoying.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the shorter lengths, but will be challenged to hit tight lines in the woods and stay out of the dense rough in places. More experienced players will find some fun shots here, but overall not need to use more than a putter to reach most holes.

This course would be a fun place to play super class rounds or practice hitting lines with your putter, but don't expect much variety or real challenge. It's worth a quick stop if you're in the area, but don't drive too far just for this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.