Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 253ft.   3 / --   3 / 253ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 The one that started it all...

5+    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: thenamesben
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a real beginner friendly course, flows very nicely, and offers lots of challenges to newer placers.

-Good mix of open holes and wooded holes. The first four holes are wide open, then it's straight into the woods, which can be pretty harsh during the summer, then the course spits you back out into a few more open holes to finish up.

-Good mix of long(ish) and short holes. There are a few holes here that will make an experienced player pull out a driver, but there are a lot of short holes that not only offer some ace-runs, but are good for the up and coming golfer to learn on.

-The signage is excellent, except for the two missing signs, numbers 13 and 15. They are short holes with no mandos, but I suppose some people are anal about know the distances. (I'm not.)

-Open all year!
Cons: -While short holes are a pro for beginners, they are a con for experienced players. If all you want to do is grip it and rip it, this course isn't for you!

-Natural tees. I usually don't mind natural tees, but because of the insane amount of traffic this course gets during the summer, the tees are pretty much little ditches. Many players opt to throw from the side of the tee. As of this writing, the tees and baskets on the front 9 have been woodchipped.

-This course gets WET! After a rain this course is nasty. Lots of large puddles and the tees, being natural are just straight mud.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played, just about a year ago now. It was a fun course to learn on, but I have outgrown it, and moved on. I still play it only because it is 3 minutes away from my work, and I can get a round in in the morning. If you're in the area, give it a go!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 FUN LITTLE COURSE

5+    12/19/2011   1/30/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent variety of holes. Some wide open short aceable holes (Well if you are good that is). Quite a few through some bramble with defined enough lines to make the pins accessible on one shot. A couple of longer (300-375') holes to add in some grip it and rip it feel, but really only on 3 or 4 holes.

2) Excellent use of the terrain. It isn't severely sloped, but some holes go uphill slightly, some go downhill, and some go across the slopes.

3) Pins are very well protected on the tighter holes, really placing an emphasis on shot location rather than distance. However, there are bail out areas for your drives on a few of the really tucked baskets.

4) First four holes are a nice warm up, no obstacles at all, just line up your shot test the wind and throw away. 3 of them should be easy birdies because they are drivable for even a beginner (assuming good technique of course).

5) The tight holes are tight, but short enough that even a beginner can toss some good throws without having to worry about too much stuff. The target should be to stay in the open fairway though, because if you go deep in the shule (New DG word to me I kind of liked it so I decided to use it here instead of just calling it Bramble) you could be in for a whole lot of Buckthorn!

6) The middle holes will leave you wondering why you didn't birdie them all, and instead walked away with pars and bogies! What I am saying here is they may be short, but you need to think about your line first then worry about how hard you need to throw it.I like the challenge rather than just easy layup holes!

7) Gravel was placed in many spots between holes and before and after teepads . . this helps with the mud around the course and works well in already compacted soils.
Cons: 1) Not enough distance, but I suppose they did what they could with their property. Rather than just making it a 9 hole course and extending the holes, they decided to go regulation 18 holes but have shorter holes. It isn't too big of a deal because the there really are three types of holes here and equally balanced 1) wide open 2) tight in the brambles 3) fairly open with tucked baskets, and each of these three types of holes have about 6 holes each so at least it is broken up nicely.

2) Plastic geogrid mesh put on tees and gravel poured into them. . . its a good theory but they are as slick as anything else so you might as well still throw from the turf outside of the tee area. They also put this stuff around the baskets . . . so be ready for parkjobs turned into 25' putts!

3) Last two holes are pretty plain, I would have tried to incorporate more of the bramble from the middle holes on #17 and #18. They don't really inspire you to come back, but the middle holes ( 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14 ) will leave you wondering why you didn't birdie them all, and instead walked away with pars and bogies!

4) I would have tried to incorporate the stream/river (along #2 and behind #3, also behind #13 and along #14) that runs through the property, there could be some great holes crossing the water. I am not sure where their property ends and begins, but if possible, a few of the beginning holes could be broken up and incorporate the river. Or just add a few holes crossing back and forth across the river. They would need a couple bridges for sure, and the banks are pretty steep, but I would like the holes better had it been used.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an average ourse but it can be fun if you go to throw shots . . . there is a good variety and decent challenge to make you execute to score well. i have gotten much better over the 3 years of playing and just recently shot my best round ever (-13). Its a long way since I was shooting over par here initially.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Luck?

5+    10/14/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: Paul H.
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As stated in other reviews, when you first get to the course, the first four holes lead you to believe this was a poorly thought out course. Be patient. By the time you get to the woods, you opinion will change. Short, technical holes with some longer "chuck-em" holes break up the tedium. A good mix of hyzer/anhyzer holes help your mid/short game. This is a great course to improve your short game.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. Some of which have these bizarre concrete stumps in them. Watch your footing, especially after it rains! No alternate pin placements. No pro tees. First four holes are pretty boring, unless you approach them as "ace" practice.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course! No, it's not the best around, but who cares. It's a great place for some practice rounds, especially to practice your short/mid game. Concrete tees and alternate pins would kick this course up a notch or two...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Creek disc golf

1    8/23/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The frist 4 holes lead you to believe that this is a stinker of a 9 holer, but hole 5 takes you into the woods that you won't leave again for quite a while....It's an 18 holer that's pretty short (there are a few holes that are over 250) so you can practice your short games; some holes are eagleable and quite aceable.

I barely brought out my midranger; instead decided to practice my short range driving. Found it far more challenging than originally expected due to really good pin placements.
Cons: There's poison ivy galore here. I'm sure the skeeters multiply incrementally when it's wet, so bring some OFF if you're playing after it rains.

If you've got a big arm you might be disappointed. Maybe 2 holes are over 300', quite a few are under 200', and the rest are in between.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mini-Disc Golf...engage

5+    8/4/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super fun little course(after the first four holes). It's literally like mini golf with discs with it's short (120-180) twisty holes. A good test for your mid-range and approach shots. Fairly close to Milwaukee, which horribly lacks in it's disc golf courses(1 in the city). It's just fun sometimes and to me that's good enough!
Cons: Short. Have played 4 rounds of 18 in a three hour period. The first four holes are out on a flat football field like surface and play 230+. Kind of boring. You see these when you pull up and think "what a dud course". It's the back holes that are the little gems here. A little over zealous giving some holes a par 5 rating. Three holes very EAGLE makable in this scenario. Loose gravel tees that are annoyingly slippery.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, this is the funnest little course close to Milwaukee. A perfect bring beer out and drink and throw discs kind of course. My short game has drastically improved from this course. I think if they added some clowns to throw through and some wind mills it would truly be a fun little course. :-) ...joking. Try it at least once.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This course starts slow

7/21/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wooded holes on this course are great for practicing short hyzers and anhyzers. The underbrush on every hole is cut back nicely so that you can find your disc with ease if your drive goes foul. Also, 90% of the course can be played with a Mid range and a putter which i liked because it was great practice. The woods were the fun part of the course, I'm skipping right to them next time.
Cons: Many of the holes are way to short. Some shorter than 140' and less. I could never play this course too much because it would get stale pretty quick. The first five holes are just wide open grass shots that are only maybe 250'. Yippee! Par is too easily obtained on this whole course. The "long" hole is a par 5 at 300". Good for beginners for sure.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for dog poo and poison ivy. Beware!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Personality

5/20/2008   5/29/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety of distance and difficulty; nice area; decent labels for the course (hole number, map of the obstacles, and distance are all printed. Hole-in-ones are often written on the signs by hand); easy to find the next hole; qualities that match beginner and more advanced skill levels; the course has something that I would call 'personality' and can't easily put into words
Cons: About 7/18 holes are essentially in a flat and open field with very few obstacles - some really have no specific challenges; it gets busy very often with pretty heavy drinkers - this doesn't bother me at all except they move very slowly and are obnoxious; very poor drainage makes this a no-go after a heavy rain; open holes generally don't compensate by having longer distance
Other Thoughts: If the 7 holes mentioned in the cons matched the quality of the other 11, I'd probably give this course a 3/5. Since they don't provide any real challenge I feel forced to give this course a score of 2.0 - this course is average. (Note this was edited down from a 3.0. The reason is that I've played several other courses since and it put this course in perspective)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.