Bowdoinham, ME 
Acker's Acres - The Wicked Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #15 (Taken 10/2008)
4 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
"Twisted 12" #15



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: mainediscgolfer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course one of the best around very well kept easy to get around it is fun to play there are some chances for aces and there are some holes that will challege you one of my favs they also have a board on each hole for you to right your name if you get an ace

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

2-4    6/13/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: neilstegman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of long holes and short holes. Very well maintained. 2 different courses to play.
Cons: It was a little muddy when I was there because it had rained the previous 2 days...but nothing too bad
Other Thoughts: My wife actually let me play this course on our honeymoon. It was about 40 min from Westport Island(and about the same from Boothbay). I went to play a round, and the next day just happened to be their big summer tourney, so I had to come back. The second course was under construction at the time, but really had some promise to it(and is probably finished now). The owners couldn't be nicer. They even sent mailed me a tournament mini after the fact. Thanks for showing a Maryland boy a good time. Definitely the best course in the area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dont miss Acres Acres

5+    8/7/2010   11/7/2011
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 80  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of Maine's best disc golf locations. They have two courses and both of them are fantastic. Upkeep is done on this course regularly always making for a great experience. The course owners Barb and Dave are nice as can be. There is a nice balance of long and short holes pressing you to use a varied amount of shots. Located in Bowdoinham, ME you are in the middle of Maine's disc golf Mecca - it's a great location to be able to see a lot of different courses in one area. Feel welcome at this golf course, bring some food and some bevarages and enjoy during your round.
Cons: There aren't too many bad things to say about this place. One of my only complaints are a few specific holes, all problems which could be fixed by a tee pad relocation or the removal of certain trees. That being said the owner is open to suggestions and will make adjustments if he feels the are reasonable. If you lose a disc in their pond chances are you might never see it again, I;m not sure how often someone dives there.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting Maine, this should be on your list of places to go. Two great courses with a great mix of long and short holes - backhand and flick holes. There are also many great courses within a half hours drive.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in maine

5+    11/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: dsm767
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Goods course to work on the basics in every way shape or form. You will need every disc in your bag at some point during the normal holes, not to mention a almost 800' par 5 on the twisted 12; a side course that will test your abilities as a disc golfer and set greater players aside from the rest. Also home to a rather nice couple that runs the shop whom always around to greet players.

One hole over water to note, however, they dragged the pond last year and ALOT of discs came out so if you lose a disc on the last hole you might just get it back since its a small pond.

Good layout overall alot of short holes under 200ft or so. alot of aces happen on this course and there is a board at the tee on every hole where you can sign your name if you get an ace on it, also you can see how many people have gotten an ace on every hole in the club house as well.

This is an extremely well maintained course and I have seen the owner out on the course plenty of times keeping up the course, he even complemented me on an amazing 300ft hyzer shot in the trees as he was riding his tractor through the hole next to us.
Cons: When they dragged the pond, they didn't have a labeling system for the discs they just threw them on the side of the pro shop in a few large totes and let people rummaged through as they pleased, at least it seemed.

This was always a plus for me at Pleasant Hill Disc Golf in Maine where they had a alphabetized list of every disc the type of disc it was the color or the disc and who made it and if you had more then one it was labeled by the owners name so disc recovery was easy.
Other Thoughts: Wish list it if you haven't been yet, its worth the trip and only about 45 minutes outside of Portland maybe an hour and a half outside of Portsmouth NH

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 acers

2-4    5/21/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kfitz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice hole lay outs, very well kept, owners are on site getting feed back, players where out in force and let us play through their large groups. last hole plays to club house over pond, watch the ace runs
Cons: little congestion where two coarses share a few holes
Other Thoughts: owners where really involved in the devolopment feed back, cant really really overstate general good player vibe there

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

5+    5/22/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: xphelanx
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well groomed, friendly owners.
Cons: ....What cons?
Other Thoughts: Having played this course many times, I feel that it is one of my favorites. It is by far the best-kept course I've ever been to and you can often see the owner out on his tractor doing this and that to improve or fix it. Lots of great holes that are worthy of their pars and the price is very reasonable for the quality that you get. I recommend this course to anyone that has never played it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pure gold

5+    3/10/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: xZombiEx
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is very easy to find your way around. Everything is very clearly marked, and each tee box also has a spot for you to write your ace should you get one. All tee boxes are cement. There are hardly any easy shots. Trees line every point on this course forcing you to use every disc, and every shot type. Hole designs that force hyzer shots, and holes that force anhyzer shots. Pro shop was well stocked with discs and provisions for a day on the course.
Cons: The only thing I found with the course was there wasn't a place for my cigarette butts on every hole. Some holes had a cigarette bucket, but on other holes there was just the bottle bin. I am not one for littering, so I left them next to the bottle bins.

update 6/29/13 - There is a cigarette bucket at every hole now.
Other Thoughts: The first thing I noticed about this course was that the owner was right there to greet my group at 8:30 am. It was early in March and snowing, and yet Mr. Acker was right there to say "Hello!" If that isn't dedication to the sport, I don't know what is! The second time I played was also in March, and there was already someone out there mulching the fairways at 9am. There were also no leaves on the trees yet when we played, so the course is only going to get more challenging. For the avid disc golfer, that is always a plus! I traveled over an hour to play this course, and I am going to be sure to do it many, many more times this season.

update 6/29/13 - The owner is still coming down to greet you before you start your round. Unless he is out on the course working already! the second course is now finished, and is quite a challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Its a MUST!

5+    8/3/2008   3/3/2009
Review By: Jonny_Dread
Played: 68  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two 18-hole courses.. with a few holes you play twice to complete the 18. The people that run this place are the best. Really care about the game and it shows. Great variety of distances and angles. Good signs and flow. Fairways are groomed. Small lake to throw over on 18. Pay to play but WELL worth it. Pro shop with discs, food and drinks.
Cons: I dont see much wrong with this place at all. Cant find anything bad to say about it. There are a lot of people who play it... at least when I have been there.. so expect a wait on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This area has a lot of great courses. This is one of them. If you are traveling in this area make this your first stop. Great for beginners but seems to be geared for the experienced players. A few aceable holes along with some true par 5's/. Bring your whole bag of discs for this course. I am surprised that this course is not yet rated... its awesome!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.