Fond du Lac, WI 
Adelaide Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #14 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 270ft.   4 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging course with dangerous water shots.

1    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 148  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The mach 3's they had here were all in good shape and caught well. Also the concrete tees were all level, grippy and large enough. The elevation here offers a high degree of challenge, especially if windy. When we went it was extremely windy and almost impossible to hit your shot. The pond in the park is used on 4 of the holes with the baskets being located pretty close to the water. The tee signs here were pretty good too. They had all the info you'd need on them with a good map of the hole layout. I like that the chain that's painted red on each basket is actually there to point you to the next hole. This is a great idea as there are some longer walks between a few of the holes. The course starts in the northeastern corner of the park with a very nice kiosk with a large detailed map of the course. The course was very clean and looked to be very well maintained. There's a skatepark in the park as well but won't come into play, other than that all you got to worry about is other disc golfers here.
Cons: A number of the holes were very open or had very few trees. The baskets had numbers on both sides which was confusing on hole 3 since the number facing the tee pad said 5. I don't know what these numbers were on there for. Some of the rough around the pond and the pond itself can make it very easy to lose a disc. Hole 17 is kind of ridiculous with jungle like rough and the pond to the right and more jungle and a creek to the left with a very narrow tunnel off the pad. This hole is also probably 3 times longer than the previous hole. Would've liked to see them split this more evenly.
Other Thoughts: This was a very solid course overall just nothing too amazing either. If you're in the area I'd definitely recommend checking it out though. It's a fun course and the water holes really add some much needed challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

1    9/4/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Bferks12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: >Good tee boxes and markings
>Good elevation changes (use of hills)
>Fun course for any skill level, with a good balance of long and short holes
>Some holes had multiple tee boxes for pro vs rec
>Gave par for both recreational players and pros at each tee box
>Good use of the pond on the holes that bordered it.
Cons: >Too open. There were not a lot of trees or other obstacles
>Parking lot is not near the first hole, so it became confusing to try to find it. It was the first time we played this course though, but some accurate markings would have helped.
>The course was very close together, and some holes were placed in very close proximity.
>The hole order was harder to find on the Front 9, since there wasn't arrows or markings leading to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was very nice. It looked like the people who ran the park were trying to plant more trees on the course which was a plus. Also the park had maps of the whole course at opposite ends, which helped to find where the holes were. The course bordered a playground, so hitting the kids might become a hazard during school hours.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/12/2011   2/12/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tees
Great next tee signage with the red chains
Great use of the pond
Challangeing hills and holes on windy days
Cons: Can be busy at times but that is just a sign that the sport is growing
Other Thoughts: Cant wait to play this one again

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 That Lake Ate My Coyote!

1    10/28/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Adelaide stretches over several moderately-sized hills with several holes abutting a small lake. Most of the course is a wide open grassy field, with elevation providing the main challenge. A few holes have a smattering of mature trees and bushes in play, although no hole has enough to count as "wooded." Water comes into play on several holes, increasing the risk greatly. Safe landing zones are available for all water holes, but errant shots most likely will end up wet, with little chance of recovery.
- Good solid concrete tees throughout. Nice signs provide distances and a rough sketch of the hole layout. Baskets are in great shape. One chain is painted red on each basket: this is the "next hole" marker. Walk in the direction of the red chain to reach the next tee pad.
- For a course without many trees, Adelaide has some very solid risk/reward opportunities. Water comes into play in several places: running along a fairway to the right, running along a fairway to the left, water directly behind the basket, and one hole (#17) with water on both sides. Safe-landing zones make the water holes very fair, but punish errant shots. Elevation is used to its maximum potential. Baskets sit along the tops of several hills, with several potential rollaway spots. The course forces shots both up and down the hills.
- #17 is an outstanding hole that has water to the right and left. The water to the left is slightly shielded by brush and trees growing on the steep slope down the lake. A safe-landing zone is provided about halfway to the basket, but otherwise the fairway is pretty narrow and offers the best risk/reward on the course.
Cons: - Since Adelaide plays mostly over open field, the flow might be slightly confusing the first time through. The red chain "next tee" signage is brilliant and largely alleviates problems, so I don't find this to be too much of a "con."
- Multi-use park may experience some issues with other park-goers and/or with other discers (some fairways overlap a bit).
Other Thoughts: - Not an amazing course, but solid through and through. I'm very partial to wooded, adventure style golfing but this open, grassy, park-style course had me wanting more. The water holes and those with risky, rollaway-prone pin placements offered plenty of danger for the round.
- Great for glow rounds. Impossible to lose a disc (unless it gets wet).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I stopped by

1    4/19/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Course uses all of the property features well. 4 or 5 holes have water that is definitely in play. A handful have baskets tucked near or surrounded by trees. The finishing hole is a tunnel shot down a corridor of large mature trees. Elevation comes into play on 4 or 5 holes, although those baskets are in the wide open so the elevation is the only interest on those holes.

2) Nice concrete tee pads on every hole. Baskets are also in good condition. Tee areas have sign posts near most holes, but are missing signs (This isnt vandalism here it is becuase the course was just totally changed, so they havent gotten new signs yet.)

3) Forces you to think about your shot on most holes. Only a couple are staring right at you, the other have different options for getting to the basket.

4) Nice park in with other amenities, but the disc golf is on its own int he park which I always factor into my review. Its nice to disc golf and not have to worry about hitting other people doing other things. The only issue would be if people were fishing in the big pond!

Cons: 1) Missing signage because it is new, but I am sure that will be taken care of soon.

2) Only one or two long holes so the distances get a little boring, but since most holes have some other obstacle it isn't completely boring.

3) Grass is still very thin on this course because it was seeding in October. It should fill in as things start to grow now, but for the time being if it is wet it could be a little muddy.

4) Lots of garbage and stuff around the pond, although it looks like the pond is an overflow for the rainwater system or something because of the massive pipes feeding into it by hole #16.

2)
Other Thoughts: I played this course on my way to a tourney in Berlin at Riverside Park. I played 2 more courses after the tourney and had fun at each course. This was the most well rounded I played. I did like Winnebago County better but this course had its own uniqueness and I am glad I played it too. I wanted to get back to pull out the two discs I saw (one in pond one in river) but it got dark.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Adelaide Park Review

2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Really fun course. I love the first 70% or so (the last few holes are "blah" to me). There are several holes where you can just launch on.
Cons: It is a course that could be easy to lose a disc on. On certain holes, I recommend that you have someone go ahead and watch where your disc lands. There is a fairly large pond to worry about.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.