Libertyville, IL 
Adler Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 270ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
good 9-holer

1    8/9/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: ellephant
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
Pros: good tee pads
nice variety between wooded and open holes
good signs
no overly simple holes
thin rough, it is very easy to find discs
beautiful park
Cons: not enough distance variation
can get busy on weekends
they could have made better use of the space
Other Thoughts: This was a nice 9-holer that is better than most around the area, but there is nothing special about it.

Nice Place

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Signs - for the normal 9 hole course there are super nice signs.

- Tee pads - Nice Teepads good space and size

- Baskets - a lot of the nine holers like this in my area don't have baskets. They are the old DGA baskets(I think) but still catch pretty good.

Navigation - It's pretty easy to find your way around the course. The only hiccup i saw was 7 to 8, as it cuts through the woods, however if you skip 8 and go to Nine, you will end up getting to 8 anyways.
Cons: - the course holds water- I went right when it got nice, but the course was pretty wet still, (It snowed a week ago but not much)

- Hole 4 - This one is kind of a pitch and pray hole. The gap is super tight, and still easy to get to but it seems like they could take a tree out and make it a little bit better.
Other Thoughts: After playing with a local at another course, I found out that there are 27 holes here, but I didn't really read into it. I think the people rating it higher are off that rating.

Overall for a nine hole course this is one of the better ones I've played. Nothing really makes you need a huge arm, but also is a little bit more challenging then your normal pitch and putt course.

My work's training office is about 15 minutes from the course, it was a bit hard to find on a GPS, but if you follow the directions on the front it's very easy to get to.

Also make sure you don't park by the pool and you park by the log cabin looking building, unless you want to get a little extra walking in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course ...

1    6/23/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Forehand Shiver
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's well maintained and the layout is easy to follow
Cons: It's now a very short course, typical for the area.
Other Thoughts: This past June was the first time playing the course in about 11 years. I thought I was going crazy because I remembered the course differently -- much differently. I later found out that it's now a nine hole, rather than the 18 I grew up playing. The new layout takes a big hill out of play, leaving eight short holes and one that's around 350 ft. It's now just an OK worth only playing if you're in the area. It's very similar to a nearby course in Buffalo Grove.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Best Use Of Land

1    6/29/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Holes like 1, 2, 7, & 9 were put together well and required shots that challenge you. You don't see holes as well thought out as #2 at a nine-hole course.
-Good challenge for all skill levels.
-Good mix of holes in the woods and out in the open.
-Signs and tees are in great shape.
-Locals were friendly, pointed us in the right direction when we got there.
-Short walks between holes, for the most part.
Cons: -Not all baskets were put together well.
-Some of the wooded holes (3 & 4) had that "throw at the trees and pray" feel to them, #4 in particular had no line to get you close to the basket.
-Standing water comes into play after rain
-Lots of land for this course, which leaves no excuse for mediocre hole designs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I just didn't enjoy my experience from this course. The bad condition of the baskets didn't help, and the surplus of land in addition to the lack of design left me thinking "this course needs work".

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best 9 holer north of Chicago

5+    6/10/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Very challenging 9 hole course.
+Course will test most advanced players.
+Birdies are extremely rewarding.
+Good mixture of tight wooded holes and semi-open bombers.
+Decent elevation change.
+Some possible ace runs.
+Nice baskets and big concrete tee pads.
+Good front signage.
Cons: -Multi-use park. In the summer there is often a camp occupying the the park which can make playing difficult.
-Lots of mosquitoes.
-Hole 4 is virtually an impossible tee shot.
-I feel like they could make a few holes in the woods. This course could be 18 if the land was used to its full potential.
Other Thoughts: Course is located in a fantastic park. Great design for a 9 hole course. The best 9 hole course in Illinois that i have played. My friends and I often travel half an hour out to this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Friendly little course

1    5/7/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty city park that features mostly wide grassy fairways with about half bordered by trees on one or more sides, and the rest having spotted trees through some part of the fairway. This is over slight elevation changes on about half the holes as well.

Memorable holes: 2 & 3 run through a large hallway of trees (like a cathedral). Hole 2 doglegs right, and 3 doglegs left to exit the hallway.

The beginner and intermediate player will feel right at home here, though I ran into a few pro-level players who frequent the course. You won't spend much time looking for lost discs, and due to the open fairway nature - wont be banging into too many trees.

The hidden blue (alternate) tees, which are not of the regular course layout, are very interesting. If they were included as regular holes, my rating would jump a bit. Get yourself a course guide, or play on the Tuesday league night to have an easier time finding these tee locations.
Cons: The course had to be trimmed from 18 holes to 9, and though I never saw the old layout, I can only imagine what types of holes could comprise this present layout to make it better..... Now, there lacks a wow factor on many holes. There is not much punishment on most holes for poor execution. Most times, an error in driving still made par very doable.

Slight design criticisms:
Hole 4 - the woodiest hole, is a bit poke & hope.
Hole 7 - crush a drive across an open grassy field. If you have about 350' distance, all you have to do is hit the canopy of trees protecting the pin, drop down, and have your birdie putt.
Other Thoughts: League night seems well attended and a great way to meet the locals. They also had an ace pot with many very realistic ace runs - they had alternate blue tees in place and soo many aceble runs that you felt like your ace pot money was going into somebody's hands (it didn't that night). Thanks to the league night director! One tip though.....maybe best not to pair the out of town guy with the meanest guy in the Chicago area. Just sayin'.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Top Tier 9 Hole Course

5+    12/12/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots here with decent elevation change and both wooded and open shots. Excellent signage and picnic benches offer a place to sit and rest when the course gets busy. Holes 2 and 3 feature a beautiful, tree lined fairway and test your ability to curve both left and right. Hole 5 is a challenging shot with good spacing between trees and a well guarded basket although it does border Milwaukee Ave offering little privacy. But this is, after all, a small park and Adler makes good use of the space. Hole 7 features a long open throw over a field with a nice shaded green. Overall, a lot to like. Garbage bins a plenty and the park is always well maintained. Tough to lose a disc unless you overshoot hole 9 into the Des Plaines but a fun finishing hole nonetheless with ample opportunity for an ace.
Cons: Hole 8 is a little uninspiring and hole 4 is so densely wooded, there is hardly a gap to aim for. Hole 1 used to be a fun, challenging shot but has recently been made less difficult with the removal of the tree hazard guarding the basket. Very disappointing (-0.5 rating). Park does tend to get crowded in the summer months but what did you expect in a park shared by a public pool in the north burbs?
Other Thoughts: Been playing this course on and off for nearly 10 years. Adler is about the best you can expect from a 9 hole course. Leagues on Tuesdays are fun and inviting and there are always good people out there to play with. Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course.
Good signage
Nice tee pads
Nice variety- wooded and open holes incorporated nicely into the design. This creates a nice mix for a nine holer.
Good use of elevation- the elevation that is found in the park is used abundantly throughout the course
Good distance
Cons: Hole 4 barely has a fairway at all a bogey is good on this hole. It is all luck.
Other Thoughts: Nothing great here, nothing bad though. It's all pretty good

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Tuesday Dubbs

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: timj5304
Played: 107  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice park with plenty of room for improvement, lots of nice people who like to enjoy a fun round here. For being a 9 hole course had some fun holes with some slight elevation, some longer bomber holes and some shorter technical ones
Cons: The baskets are garbage and barely catch discs, lots of punks coming through talking trash during the league
Other Thoughts: Coming from MN I know good courses and bad courses and this one was worth my time to enjoy with my GF. We played the dubbs league and she was paired with the defending amateur world champion!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough of Chicagoland 9 Hole Courses

5+    3/27/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 130  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of variety here in terms of hole length and wooded vs open holes.

While there are no mountains, the available elevation in this park is used well.

Easy navigation even without next tee signs.

Concrete tee pads are in good shape.

Great view of the mighty Des Plaines River from #9's tee.

Restrooms are typically open Memorial Day---Labor Day.

Park is open until 9:30 pm all year for the glow rounds.

Rec/INT level players typically find this course to be a challenge, especially on the windy days.
Cons: This multi-use park can become very crowded during the summer months. Day camp and other activities occasionally ignore the disc golfers. Please be sure to wait or skip a hole when necessary.

Mud during the spring and fall seasons is very prevalent here.

Some consider the uphill walk back to the parking lot after #9 to be a drag...but it's really not that far.
Other Thoughts: Alternate tees on every hole add good variety here. Some may be difficult to find. Ask a local or a course guide for assistance if you are interested.

As previously stated, this park is very busy during most "good-weather days". There is a pool/water park, summer day camp and other activities. Please be aware of other park users and yield to them when necessary.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.