Libertyville, IL 
Adler Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 281ft.   4 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Place

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Signs - for the normal 9 hole course there are super nice signs.

- Tee pads - Nice Teepads good space and size

- Baskets - a lot of the nine holers like this in my area don't have baskets. They are the old DGA baskets(I think) but still catch pretty good.

Navigation - It's pretty easy to find your way around the course. The only hiccup i saw was 7 to 8, as it cuts through the woods, however if you skip 8 and go to Nine, you will end up getting to 8 anyways.
Cons: - the course holds water- I went right when it got nice, but the course was pretty wet still, (It snowed a week ago but not much)

- Hole 4 - This one is kind of a pitch and pray hole. The gap is super tight, and still easy to get to but it seems like they could take a tree out and make it a little bit better.
Other Thoughts: After playing with a local at another course, I found out that there are 27 holes here, but I didn't really read into it. I think the people rating it higher are off that rating.

Overall for a nine hole course this is one of the better ones I've played. Nothing really makes you need a huge arm, but also is a little bit more challenging then your normal pitch and putt course.

My work's training office is about 15 minutes from the course, it was a bit hard to find on a GPS, but if you follow the directions on the front it's very easy to get to.

Also make sure you don't park by the pool and you park by the log cabin looking building, unless you want to get a little extra walking in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course ...

1    6/23/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Forehand Shiver
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's well maintained and the layout is easy to follow
Cons: It's now a very short course, typical for the area.
Other Thoughts: This past June was the first time playing the course in about 11 years. I thought I was going crazy because I remembered the course differently -- much differently. I later found out that it's now a nine hole, rather than the 18 I grew up playing. The new layout takes a big hill out of play, leaving eight short holes and one that's around 350 ft. It's now just an OK worth only playing if you're in the area. It's very similar to a nearby course in Buffalo Grove.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Best Use Of Land

1    6/29/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Holes like 1, 2, 7, & 9 were put together well and required shots that challenge you. You don't see holes as well thought out as #2 at a nine-hole course.
-Good challenge for all skill levels.
-Good mix of holes in the woods and out in the open.
-Signs and tees are in great shape.
-Locals were friendly, pointed us in the right direction when we got there.
-Short walks between holes, for the most part.
Cons: -Not all baskets were put together well.
-Some of the wooded holes (3 & 4) had that "throw at the trees and pray" feel to them, #4 in particular had no line to get you close to the basket.
-Standing water comes into play after rain
-Lots of land for this course, which leaves no excuse for mediocre hole designs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I just didn't enjoy my experience from this course. The bad condition of the baskets didn't help, and the surplus of land in addition to the lack of design left me thinking "this course needs work".

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Friendly little course

1    5/7/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty city park that features mostly wide grassy fairways with about half bordered by trees on one or more sides, and the rest having spotted trees through some part of the fairway. This is over slight elevation changes on about half the holes as well.

Memorable holes: 2 & 3 run through a large hallway of trees (like a cathedral). Hole 2 doglegs right, and 3 doglegs left to exit the hallway.

The beginner and intermediate player will feel right at home here, though I ran into a few pro-level players who frequent the course. You won't spend much time looking for lost discs, and due to the open fairway nature - wont be banging into too many trees.

The hidden blue (alternate) tees, which are not of the regular course layout, are very interesting. If they were included as regular holes, my rating would jump a bit. Get yourself a course guide, or play on the Tuesday league night to have an easier time finding these tee locations.
Cons: The course had to be trimmed from 18 holes to 9, and though I never saw the old layout, I can only imagine what types of holes could comprise this present layout to make it better..... Now, there lacks a wow factor on many holes. There is not much punishment on most holes for poor execution. Most times, an error in driving still made par very doable.

Slight design criticisms:
Hole 4 - the woodiest hole, is a bit poke & hope.
Hole 7 - crush a drive across an open grassy field. If you have about 350' distance, all you have to do is hit the canopy of trees protecting the pin, drop down, and have your birdie putt.
Other Thoughts: League night seems well attended and a great way to meet the locals. They also had an ace pot with many very realistic ace runs - they had alternate blue tees in place and soo many aceble runs that you felt like your ace pot money was going into somebody's hands (it didn't that night). Thanks to the league night director! One tip though.....maybe best not to pair the out of town guy with the meanest guy in the Chicago area. Just sayin'.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a bad 9 holer

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Requires excellent shots 300+ feet through trees to card birdies. Mostly straight shots required with a couple more open hyzer holes at the end. This is one of the most fun 9 hole courses in the Chicago area. Nice long cement tees.
Cons: Only 9 holes which makes play difficult during the summer when the course sees alot of action. Baskets are in bad shape.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Wooded Course

2-4    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun wooded course that requires some technical shots, which is different from the other courses in the area. The first tee has a map showing the course that you will need to give a quick look-over before playing. Concrete teepads are always a plus.

The first hole is probably the most memorable hole on the course, allows for various different approaches. The length is pretty long compared to other 9-hole'r in the area. It is a mix of right/left, up/down, and long/short holes, which is really nice. Des Plaines River is a hazard at Hole 9.
Cons: Like I said, the first hole is memorable then it just trails down from there. It is a really old course that probably has not been maintained in a long time. The baskets here are old and can be difficult to find. I had a hard time finding hole 4, which was pretty hidden in the woods. The baskets are also not easily spotted.

It is difficult to navigate the course your first time out. I even overlooked Hole 8 coming from hole 7. *Hole 8 is on the right from the basket at Hole 7 just past a small baseball field. *

It surrounds a public park so there will be day campers running around the park along with other park goers. Not a course for beginners because they will get frustrated with the wooded holes. Hole 9 is not anywhere near the first tee so its quite a walk uphill back to your car or first tee.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray since it can get pretty bad during hot days. Worth a trip if you're in the area. To get to the first tee, drive past the swimming pool parking lot to another parking lot with the course map next to the first tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 needs some TLC

5+    7/19/2008   2/26/2009
Review By: SavannahSean
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good variety of tee shots. Mostly wide open, wooded shots have huge fairways. Some elevation change, medium distance. A big driver will find every hole a possible birdie. Seven may be the only challenge, but a drive around four hundred feet will leave you with a reasonably easy putt.
If you're used to urban courses that are more like pitch and putts you will enjoy this course and think it's quite a challenge.
Cons: Only nine holes. Nothing too technical. Any advanced or open division disc golfers should shoot well under par with every hole deuceable. Don't expect to be challenged. Great course for beginners however.
The course seems to be neglected. Damaged baskets, broken signage, and graffiti all made it feel like a forgotten course well past it's prime unlike back in the nineties when it was well taken care of. I was dissapointed.
Other Thoughts: I just recently discovered this site, and haven't played the course recently. My most recent round I was only visiting the area, but it was my local course for years. It is possible improvements have been made.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth trying out

6/14/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A variety of shots are required; mix of wooded and open holes with obstacles; several holes require a good amount of skill to have a chance at a 2; elevation on 2 of the 9 holes; the first hole is extremely well designed; sign at parking with a course map; concrete tee pads
Cons: The holes become less imaginative and easier as you progress through the round (1 is fantastic, 2-4 require some thought and skill, 5+6 require a decent shot without much innovation, 7 is a very open driver's hole, 8 and 9 are just slightly more than open holes with a slight hill); some long walks between holes; the 9th hole isn't very close to the first tee, which is more important for a 9 hole course; most holes are in the shadows without any highlighting at all, making them very hard to find on a sunny day; the ground in the woods is completely barren and doesn't absorb water well - any rain at all will make this pretty sloppy; very dense trees and tree 'canopies' that may and will grab your disc - bring a water bottle to throw up there; buggy; can get busy (no points off for this);
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a couple of times and enjoyed myself. One of the main reasons I wanted to check this out is that someone labeled it 'very hilly' - it is not. There is one hill that comes into play on the 8th and 9th holes... maybe a tiny bit on the seventh. Other than that there is very little elevation change. That disappointment doesn't affect the score of course.

The first hole is really great - there are dozens and dozens of different ways to go off the tee and even the approach will make you think. Other than that hole, nothing really blew me away, but I did enjoy the next few holes after that. If the entire course was this good, I'd probably give it a '3.0 - good'. Unfortunately, the design really tails off on the second half. If the entire course was like the last half, I'd probably score the course a '2.0 - average' or maybe even a 1.5. Considering this, and the fact the the first hole is so memorable, I will say this course is above average - 2.5.

(We did play this course after quite a bit of rain and fallen in the past few days and this was considered. The comment about the woods' floor still stands though - bring some shoes you don't mind messing up if it had rained and some bug spray.)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center