Libertyville, IL 
Adler Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 284ft.   4 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Boss Chicago 9'er!

1    6/29/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts right next the parking lot. There is a kiosk with course sign and map. The course has nice sized concrete tee pads. The baskets are older Mach II with the red numbers on top. A few have taken some lickings from local midnight vandals. Tee signs give the normal information.

Hole # 1 starts by having you throw through a modest gap before it opens up into a large grassy fairway. It plays 304'. Hole # 2 has another narrow fairway and is 366'. # 3 is still another narrow fairway for the 276' hole.

My two favorite holes are # 6 and # 9. Both are really pretty. 6 is 300', slightly downhill with a little view from the top. And # 9 is another 280' throw down a slight hill but you have to thread your throw between large trees. These two holes are what made the course special in my opinion. I'll add 1/2 point to my rating because of them.
Cons: Baskets are a little beat, some are leaning. They've definitely been worked over but they've managed to survive the Mongol hordes.
Mosquitos are a problem during certain times of the year or so I hear.
Popularity problems with too many players.
Muddy issues, as well as I've been told.

Other Thoughts: This is not quite the typical Chicago 9'er. Accuracy is more important here than most of the surrounding courses. This course plays at a recreational level. Beginners can play here and enjoy it but it's in no way what I would call a beginner's course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Top Tier 9 Hole Course

5+    12/12/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: Badger Dan
Played: 70  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots here with decent elevation change and both wooded and open shots. Excellent signage and picnic benches offer a place to sit and rest when the course gets busy. Holes 2 and 3 feature a beautiful, tree lined fairway and test your ability to curve both left and right. Hole 5 is a challenging shot with good spacing between trees and a well guarded basket although it does border Milwaukee Ave offering little privacy. But this is, after all, a small park and Adler makes good use of the space. Hole 7 features a long open throw over a field with a nice shaded green. Overall, a lot to like. Garbage bins a plenty and the park is always well maintained. Tough to lose a disc unless you overshoot hole 9 into the Des Plaines but a fun finishing hole nonetheless with ample opportunity for an ace.
Cons: Hole 8 is a little uninspiring and hole 4 is so densely wooded, there is hardly a gap to aim for. Hole 1 used to be a fun, challenging shot but has recently been made less difficult with the removal of the tree hazard guarding the basket. Very disappointing (-0.5 rating). Park does tend to get crowded in the summer months but what did you expect in a park shared by a public pool in the north burbs?
Other Thoughts: Been playing this course on and off for nearly 10 years. Adler is about the best you can expect from a 9 hole course. Leagues on Tuesdays are fun and inviting and there are always good people out there to play with. Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course.
Good signage
Nice tee pads
Nice variety- wooded and open holes incorporated nicely into the design. This creates a nice mix for a nine holer.
Good use of elevation- the elevation that is found in the park is used abundantly throughout the course
Good distance
Cons: Hole 4 barely has a fairway at all a bogey is good on this hole. It is all luck.
Other Thoughts: Nothing great here, nothing bad though. It's all pretty good

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 More distance than other 9'ers

5+    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: ltkettch17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Longest and most difficult of the other nearby 9-hole courses in Lake County (Warren and Grayslake). Some wide open holes that really let you practice powerful shots without fear of losing discs. Some holes with narrow wooded fairways that you need to use more caution on. Challenging course for people who drive less than 300 ft.
Hole 8 is an up-hill drive followed by 9 with a down-hill drive.
Cons: Not a whole lot of variety. Most every hole is straight or to the left of the tee. This is good if you are looking to practice a specific shot - but not if you are looking to mix things up a bit.
Trees are already dropping leaves and it can be difficult to find discs (especially on hole #4).
Mosquito's are vicious most of the season.
Some of the baskets seem loose.
Other Thoughts: Bring some serious bug spray - this is not a joke.
This course is generally busier than some of the others in the area. Lots of players and lots of non-player activities. I've been there when there are cross-country teams getting ready for their season.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 hole that should be an 18 hole

2-4    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 177  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice level cement tee pads
- Great tee signs
- Well manicured fairways
- Every hole is unique and it feels like that was the intention.
- Lots of activities for the whole family
- WATER PARK in the middle of the park.
- Is a good workout for your mid-range and fairway drivers
- Park-goers seem to consistently no "whats" going on
- A few holes are very "picturesque" (2 & 3 for sure)
- Plain and simple... This is a FUN course to play
- I wouldn't mind calling this course a home course
- Blue & Red alt tees. Not easy to find on some holes. Makes it 27 holes.
Cons: - Baskets are old but I'm not complaining
- Hole #4 is kinda dumb. Chuck-n-pray
- The lil creek by hole 4 *beep*ing looks disgusting.
Other Thoughts: Another 9 holes could easily be added without cramming them in or reducing the quality of the course. Hopefully one day it happens. It be nice to get the original designer out there to do them as well. Keep the feel of the course.
This course is not super challenging. Even the tight holes have wide fairways, excluding #4. In general you need to be able to throw straight nuts between 240-320' and you can easily take a 4 or 5 down. (Yes I know that some holes are longer than this and they arn't all completely straight). Would be a great course for after work or a short time frame. Careful on hole 9, if you grip lock or throw too much disk your flirting with a stream.

Favorite Hole #1- When you first walk up to the tee and look down the fairway your left sort of puzzled as to where the basket is. Then you notice the semi-tight gap and it seems to want you to throw a gentle hyzer route. But the basket is dead straight. So you want to throw a very gentle hyzer very straight just past the bushes and trees that block the basket for an easy deuce putt. Or you can take your chance and throw a diving s-curve/hyzer into the "gap" (just above the path visible straight ahead in the tree line) if you want to go for that ace.
Go play this course its fun. Not far off I-94.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all levels

5+    6/5/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course makes great use of the available space for the layout. Even though a large portion of the park is taken up by a pool and some playground equipment, there is enough space to fit in 9 quality holes.
- Some pretty good elevation changes on 3 or 4 of the holes. Mostly downhill shots, with one that goes from hilltop to hilltop. The last hole has a path and a creek past the basket, so the downslope becomes that much more significant.
- Excellent use of forest and trees to make most holes very interesting. #1's basket is guarded by a large patch of forest, very difficult to park a drive by the hole. #2 is a straight/right shot and #3 is a straight/left shot through wide tree-lined fairways. #4 is a short tree-littered hole, while #5 and #6 are a little more open with bigger trees. #7 has a number of trees protecting most lines to the basket. Great variety of wooded holes.
- Holes have decent length overall, with 4 over 300'. Combined with the various obstacles, a very good shot is needed to deuce some holes. Only a couple that are short and open, some elevation on these instead.
- Some water can be in play on #4, but is really just a small run-off ditch.
- Good tees, baskets, and signs.
Cons: - Park is used by a lot of people for a lot of different things. Personally, I have never had a problem with people getting in the way, but it would be very easy. Also, you have to deal with the entrance road on a few holes, and the feeling by Milwaukee Avenue is the opposite of seclusion.
- The last two holes can seem very short and very easy, especially after the first seven. They feel sort of tacked on to the rest of the course, and don't do much to leave you with a good feeling on the way out.
- Long uphill walk back to the car after #9, would make a great upshot hole if other park equipment wasn't already there.
Other Thoughts: - This is a great 9-hole course for people to experience some woods and hills without leaving the northern suburbs. Great use of the forest, there are some decent challenges here. Overall, the course is not extremely difficult, but still very enjoyable. I think it is appropriate for all players, from beginners to people who have been around the block a few times.
- I wish I had the chance to play here when there were still 18 holes. I feel the last two holes really suffer because of the shared land, since there is nowhere else to put them. Still, the course does a great job with what it has and has a high replay factor in my book.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole!

1    5/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 302  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Skilled shots are required
-pretty nice flow
-nice park all around
-nice mix of shots crunched in one small 9 hole
Cons: -People
-People
-People
I understand Disc Golf is an upcoming sport that everybody wants to play but come on PEOPLE! 10 person groups!?!? Everybody throwing 3 and 4 discs per person!?!? Dude.... Sometimes I wish people would just be aware that there are other people out there that wanna play too and your causing a DISC GOLF TRAFFIC JAM!!! ok, I'm done bitching...
Other Thoughts: I totally liked the course! Just the huge groups are just a good reason I'm not going to regularly play this course. Sorry!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix of fun

5+    10/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a fun course with a lot to like. This course is a bit longer than most others in the area. Good variety of holes. Open fields to heavily wooded tunnels. 1 is a bit tricky as an opener... basket is dog leg to the left behind trees. 2 and 3 are tunnel shots in the woods of some distance. 4 again hooks left in woodsiness. 5 had lotsof tree choices. Ditto, but somewhat less for 6. 7 is a long open shot to a basket in the trees and a bit down hill for a great place to grip and rip. 8 and 9 are much morelike many other local mid length, open baskte holes in this area. On a damp morining there were no crowds to worry about. Tee signs are good and tee pads are all smooth, nice concrete.
Cons: Course was a bit muddy after rain. Had I not met up with a local regular and played my first round here with him I would have had no idea where to go from 7 to 8 or from 4 to 5. Use your cell phone camera to snap a shot of the course board at the start to follow it. During summer the campers are everywhere... depending on their activities they can be in your way (or are you in theirs?).
Other Thoughts: I could play 5, 9 times and call it a course... every time picking a different approach to the basket. How many holes can you say that about. The many trees and options would make for a lot of fun. Come to think of it... I will try this on my next visit. 7 seems to get shorter every time I play it... I throw better... the long down hill helps here. 1 could be a great ace hole if the basket were in the clear... 4 is just tree pinball... but fun. I have played her many more times since my earlier review. Like this place a lot... Just do not care for hole #1... just a waste... move the basket for a natural RHBH chance at a lofted ace... and I would play this hole 9 times in a row... 2 and 3 make for a pair of annie and hyzer twins in the tree tunnel that is fun... likely 2 is the sig hole for this course. 4 is frequently muddy, but still good fun... throw annie to move inward from the stream... then lay up from there for an easy putt. I got a 3 on 7 the other day... I am driving farther every time I T off on 7 and will get a 2 on this hole some day. 8 and 9 seem a bit lame... maybe move the basket on 8 to a big annie towards the river... and move 9... somewhere...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Popular 9 Hole Course

5+    8/20/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: beamrider
Played: 123  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything at Adler. Elevated tees on holes 1 and 9, tunnel fairways on 2 and 3, dense woods on 4, trees to navigate on 5 and 6, and a long open hole on 7.

Beautiful park setting. Most of the disc golf scenes from the comedy movie "Clubless" (2008) were filmed at Adler.
Cons: Summer days can be overrun by "day campers", sometimes taking over the fairway on hole 7.

Too crowded most of the time (very popular course).

Can be very muddy in many spots in the spring.

Close to a very busy 4 lane highway on hole 5.
Other Thoughts: One of the best 9 hole courses I've played. Adler is worth the trip.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Adler

5+    7/20/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 225  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Adler has nice long concrete teepads on every hole.

Good signage.

Righty and Lefty lines

Ask locals about alt tees

Many memorable holes with mature trees throughout the course. There are tight alleys, open with protected pin. Some nice elevation comes into play on hole 9. Don't overthrow it into the river! Holes 2 and 5 are great. Hole 7 is a nice open oppurtunity to throw a 400 foot drive on whatever line you please.
Cons: The baskets are old with only four inner chains and some of the baskets on the baskets are not too high. Try not to get to frusterated with splashing putts.

Adler day camp is everywhere so watch out.

Gets pretty busy.

Hole 1's green was recently mown over making the hole very open and boring. Hole 3's left rough is also now not punishing at all making it easy to get up and down for par now after an erant drive. Hole 4 has a wall of trees right before the green making the hole very finicky. 8 is a very boring short hyzer hole.
Other Thoughts: They should get some new chains and/or baskets. I wish the park district would take care of their course as it is loved by hundreds of players.

It used to be 18 holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.