Libertyville, IL 
Adler Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 337ft.   4 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great 9 holer with lots of trees and woods.

1    8/2/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) This is a great course set in a very wooded picturezue park. It has all sorts of other activities and a great 9 hole course. Apparently it used to be 18 holes and could certainly have the potential for another 9 set in that wooded area to the right of #2.

2) Sledhill on #9 is a great disc golf hole (while being a weak sledding hill). It is a gradual slope but the wind will most likely play a little havoc. You are throwing downhill and with the normal prevailing wind so the disc will travel!

3) Big concrete pads are nice to throw off of with plenty of room to make your normal desired approach.

4) Nice big sign at the beginning of the course and a diagram of all of the holes.

5) Although old baskets . . . they seem to still catch just fine!

6) Lawn areas are well maintained.

7) Distance is an average of over 300' which is nice for an older park style course. I like the challenge that goes with it.
Cons: 1) Wooded holes can get a little uddy as the mulch is thin in spots. Dirt around the concrete tees and baskets could also use some mulch to help clean things up a little bit and provide a little better looking course.

2) Walk from 6-7 is a little long, but at least it takes you from one area to the next avoiding crossing paths with pedestrians on the walk path.

3) From 7 green to 8 tee is confusing. I kept walking towards #9 tee without realizing #8 tee is set into the woods to the right. It is far enough away from the basket on #7 they need to have a direction sign (unless I missed it).

4) There is no clear line on a few of the holes . . maybe it is easier to develop some lines if playing the course many times, but specifically #4 there is almost no way to get close to the basket! Lots of plinko trees!

5) Bug spray is a requirement!

6) Definitely not a beginner friendly course because of distance and tight wooded holes. Even the open holes on grass have a lot of mature trees that will most certainly frustrate the beginner.
Other Thoughts: This is a very old fairly well maintained property. It is certainly an old school park course using the best features of the park. Dense woods, tunnel shots through rows of mature trees, a few open ripper holes, and some holes with well placed trees to create the shot making requirements.

The only thing keeping this course from a higher rating would be some mulch additions around the tees, greens and some fairways. Also Like others have said the basket are hard to find so maybe a bright paintjob on the basket would help or a plastic utility flag.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 I'm a fan

5+    8/8/2008   8/8/2009
Review By: theseus414
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Holes 2 and 3 are bordered by perfectly parallel lines of trees, which is really a sight to see. It's like something out a Tim Burton movie. I like the rest of the course (except hole 4) too.

Oh, and also on hole 3, I almost HIT a 7 YEAR OLD. I couldn't see him.
Cons: There are to many trees on hole 4 and it plays like pinball from the depths of Frolf Hell.
Speaking of Hell, the other players kind of blow. Honestly, there must be something in the water in Libertyville b/c the other players are really cocky. Not kidding, people getting cocky on the Frolf course. I try to explain that this is glorified Frisbee and not some dick measuring contest, but that never works.

Also, I ALMOST hit that 7 year old. So close.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, the other people who know about it suck, and be careful of the kids.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Wooded Course

2-4    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: fifteen
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun wooded course that requires some technical shots, which is different from the other courses in the area. The first tee has a map showing the course that you will need to give a quick look-over before playing. Concrete teepads are always a plus.

The first hole is probably the most memorable hole on the course, allows for various different approaches. The length is pretty long compared to other 9-hole'r in the area. It is a mix of right/left, up/down, and long/short holes, which is really nice. Des Plaines River is a hazard at Hole 9.
Cons: Like I said, the first hole is memorable then it just trails down from there. It is a really old course that probably has not been maintained in a long time. The baskets here are old and can be difficult to find. I had a hard time finding hole 4, which was pretty hidden in the woods. The baskets are also not easily spotted.

It is difficult to navigate the course your first time out. I even overlooked Hole 8 coming from hole 7. *Hole 8 is on the right from the basket at Hole 7 just past a small baseball field. *

It surrounds a public park so there will be day campers running around the park along with other park goers. Not a course for beginners because they will get frustrated with the wooded holes. Hole 9 is not anywhere near the first tee so its quite a walk uphill back to your car or first tee.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray since it can get pretty bad during hot days. Worth a trip if you're in the area. To get to the first tee, drive past the swimming pool parking lot to another parking lot with the course map next to the first tee.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole

5+    8/1/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: TheTruth
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great diversity in holes.
No advantage for back-handers, or fore-handers.
Challenging but decent for beginners.
Cons: Sometimes too many people, but this course is well worth it.
If you have never been here before, it can be a semi hard course to navigate, but there are many people you can follow. Still worth it.

Other Thoughts: The day campers get a little crazy, but its always funny to see a camp counselor nail a camper while playing dodgeball (look for this when you walk from hole 7 to 8).

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Adler

5+    7/20/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 207  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Adler has nice long concrete teepads on every hole.

Good signage.

Righty and Lefty lines

Ask locals about alt tees

Many memorable holes with mature trees throughout the course. There are tight alleys, open with protected pin. Some nice elevation comes into play on hole 9. Don't overthrow it into the river! Holes 2 and 5 are great. Hole 7 is a nice open oppurtunity to throw a 400 foot drive on whatever line you please.
Cons: The baskets are old with only four inner chains and some of the baskets on the baskets are not too high. Try not to get to frusterated with splashing putts.

Adler day camp is everywhere so watch out.

Gets pretty busy.

Hole 1's green was recently mown over making the hole very open and boring. Hole 3's left rough is also now not punishing at all making it easy to get up and down for par now after an erant drive. Hole 4 has a wall of trees right before the green making the hole very finicky. 8 is a very boring short hyzer hole.
Other Thoughts: They should get some new chains and/or baskets. I wish the park district would take care of their course as it is loved by hundreds of players.

It used to be 18 holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course, Tough For First Timers

1    7/3/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Maverick3324
Played: 80  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: From the narrow forest pathways of holes 2 and 3, to the wide open field shots of 7 and 9, Adler will test your skills as a disc golfer in a variety of settings. This course was challenging for me and very memorable because each hole is unique and somehow different from the previous, whether it is distance, elevation, or layout. Concrete tee pads and detailed tee signage are pluses. Discs that go astray are often easy to find as the brush and woods around the fairways are not very dense and easy to traverse.
Cons: This course is a little tough to follow if it is your first time playing it. Paths between Holes 3,4, and 5, and from 7 to 8 are tough to find and pretty far a part. Hole 4's dense wood and small brook down the left hand side are slightly overkill and make it the toughest and most intimidating hole I have played so far . The forest seems to hold water as the course was pretty muddy and slippery from a recent rain when I played it. The baskets are a little beaten up and tough to spot if you don't know where to look for them. The basket for hole 9 is not very close to the parking lot and makes for a somewhat lengthy uphill walk back to the parking lot. Lastly, the bugs can get bad, so make sure you bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: This course was my very first experience playing Disc golf on a disc golf course. A few times before my family had messed around throwing discs at a park, but this was my first real experience on a disc golf course. Needless to say, I had a horrible time. I could not keep my disc in the fairway and I felt like I spent more time locating the discs than actually enjoying myself. It was difficult to keep my footing anywhere besides the tee pad because of the wet ground.
After developing my game a little by playing a few easier, more open courses such as Willow Stream in Buffalo Grove, I came back to Adler a couple weeks later. After gaining that little bit of experience and confidence, I thoroughly enjoyed my second time playing Adler and am excited for a trip back in the near future.
For those just starting out, I would recommend a less challenging course so you can figure out the game first. That way, when you do come to Adler, you will hopefully enjoy it just as much as I did my second time around and be excited to play it again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Meat & Potatoes

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: Nigel
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Amazing variety of long, challenging holes. Signature holes #2 & 3 put your abilities to the test w/ long, narrow forest fairways.
Cons: Hole #4 can be somewhat discouraging given the thick wood.
Other Thoughts: In my DG experience, I've played w/ competitive and casual players...I prefer the latter. If you enjoy puffing the ganja, there's a nice sidepath in the forest by the start of hole #2. Otherwise, wait until the end of hole #9 and toke up on the benches by the river.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 9-Holer To Be Remembered

5+    5/26/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one amazing nine hole course. There are plenty of shots that have a good risk/reward factor. The course is evenly split up between some very TOUGH wooded holes and some very FUN open holes. The itself is not one were you can make a couple of bad shots and still expect to get a decent score. If you make those bad shots it will sting. Hole #9 is one of my favorite holes that I have ever played. You throw from on top of a slight hill and it is a straight shot to the basket around 280ft. It is great to just stand back and watch the disc fly as this hole is all open. Hole #9 always has birdie opportunities sitting out there for you.
Cons: If you have a serious problem with walking this isn't the best choice of a course for you. Once an 18-holer now a 9-holer there is a good amount of walking distance between holes. Because of this it can also be quite confusing to navigate if it is your first time playing there as to get to the next hole you will sometimes have to cut through a path in the woods. And with the woods there comes plenty opportunities to lose disc that sail on you. One thing that really sticks out at me for this course is the baskets, they are not in the best shape and they are pretty beat. Finally, it can get quite a bit buggy, but if some mosquitoes are going to keep you from playing one of the best nine hole courses in Illinois you should question hole into disc golf you really are.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the #9 steer you away from this course. It is a great course that really tests your ability with a variety of different shots. The wooded holes are extremely tough as you have to thread your way down a narrow fairway or you will hit a tree. Hole #4 on this course is filled with trees all over the place that will act like land mines to your disc if your not careful. I encourage you to come out and enjoy a great couple rounds of disc golf at this great nine hole course

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost as good as a 9-holer can be

5+    4/19/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 380  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.2 Years
6 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 needs some TLC

5+    7/19/2008   2/26/2009
Review By: SavannahSean
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good variety of tee shots. Mostly wide open, wooded shots have huge fairways. Some elevation change, medium distance. A big driver will find every hole a possible birdie. Seven may be the only challenge, but a drive around four hundred feet will leave you with a reasonably easy putt.
If you're used to urban courses that are more like pitch and putts you will enjoy this course and think it's quite a challenge.
Cons: Only nine holes. Nothing too technical. Any advanced or open division disc golfers should shoot well under par with every hole deuceable. Don't expect to be challenged. Great course for beginners however.
The course seems to be neglected. Damaged baskets, broken signage, and graffiti all made it feel like a forgotten course well past it's prime unlike back in the nineties when it was well taken care of. I was dissapointed.
Other Thoughts: I just recently discovered this site, and haven't played the course recently. My most recent round I was only visiting the area, but it was my local course for years. It is possible improvements have been made.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.