Adrian, MN 
Adrian DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rob Martin Hole #17 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 350ft.   3 / 442ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Expected a little more

1    6/26/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 holes
-Chains were decent
-Holes were not too short although close
-A few trees here and there as well as a creek for obstacles
-Map and scorecard in office so make sure you come during course hours
-You could camp here and play too
-Good for beginners, not too hard
-Holes 10 and 11 were fun. Hole 10 was very long and let you air it out. Hole 11 was a short shot with the basket perched on the side of the only hill on the course.
-Close to I90 and easy to find.
Cons: -Not enough challenge for intermediate or advanced players. There are a few trees but not thick enough to provide a lot of challenge. The stream isn't really close to the baskets and isn't much of a challenge
-No elevation
-Layout is poor, would be very confusing without map. If multiple groups are on the course you may be throwing close to other tees/fairways
-Tee pads are natural
-Signage is faded to the point of not being visible anymore
-Camping could come in the way of the course at times
-Holes were pretty repetitive, not a lot of shot shaping, it was mostly straight shots with distances varying slightly
Other Thoughts: Like the previous reviewer I expected this course to be great due to the other reviews. It was a decent 18 but nothing special. It is probably worth a stop if you have time and are traveling by on 90.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Plain and simple

1    3/17/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets were all present and intact. There are wooden marker poles for each hole. The camping site is nice, and bathrooms are available in the middle of the course. Very short walks between holes, and not much confusion on the layout, especially with the map on here.

The park was very nice and well kept.

Unfortunately for this course, I didn't really have any memorable holes. See con section.
Cons: Natural teepads are not necessarily a con, but the ground was not very firm, so it was hard to have a decent run-up. The poles at the tees were numbered, but that was the only information I could find other than what was on the map.

All of the holes were flat, plain, mostly short, and uncomplicated. I don't know that much of that could be changed due to the available land, but there were certainly not too many challenges there, LOTS of deuce opportunities.

The land that this course was on definitely holds a lot of water. The melting snow really did a number on the course, as there were a couple holes that I chose to skip due to very large collections of standing water that I was not willing to wade through to find my disc if I did not clear it.

As previously mentioned, I was not a big fan of the heavy chains. The baskets are nice, but there is something about those chains that didn't fit. Your disc just hit them and stops. The chains don't really "catch" your disc. Also, we all know the most satisfying sound of DG is the CHING of the right type of chains when you nail a put. If you are lucky on these baskets you might get a slight "clink".
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed when I got to the course, as it was rated a 4 here on DGCR. I have played several world class courses, and I must say, this is most definitely not a 4 in my opinion. It was close to my travel route, so I had thought it would be a bonus along the way.

My rating of 2.5 is to say this course is average at best, and the only thing keeping it from being a 2 or below is the fact that it had nice facilities and was very well kept and easy to access.

Maybe a redesign or some forced mandos could make this a slightly more challenging course in the future.

I would not avoid this course if you need to kill some time in the area, but really there is not much else around to visit for unless you have to travel to the area for another reason. If you happen to be camping here, it could be a fun thing to do while you're there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Benak56
Played: 47  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Little pro shop and bathrooms
- Well kept
- Lack of elevation change is made up by water hazards and distance.
Cons: - No paved tees
- Can be difficult to navigate your first time.
- Some like the heavier chains but I did not care for them.
- Water is very disgusting to retrieve discs from.
Other Thoughts: Loved this course. It's a long walk but well taken care of and provides many challenging shots. The course is located on a campground which is nice. Well worth stopping by!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: corynace
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very nice course well spread out good water hazards i knocked mine in the water twice, also i like the 600+ hole made it in 5 shots but very challenging
Cons: no cement tees!! water in the creek is very gross and polluted

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth checking out

1    5/1/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: trw83
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets have heavier chains than I expected, do a good job of catching discs. Tees all have wooden posts marking them and the distances listed at each tee are accurate. Course is well taken care of and the position of trees provides a decent challenge on some holes. Water comes in to play on several holes. Fairly easy to work your way around course, but did have trouble finding a couple tees.
Cons: Little elevation change, prefer concrete tees to the natural grass tees they have, the tee marker for hole 3 is missing (was told an ATVer had clipped it) and was impossible to find without help. FYI the tee is located right next to the creek by a concrete culvert that ATVers could ride across.
Other Thoughts: Pro Shop wasn't open when we were there, so I couldn't get a scorecard or map, which would have helped. Look forward to playing it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.