Fairmont, WV 
Orange Crush Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: lilniners
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course makes you bring out every type of throw you have.

The layout of the holes flows pretty smoothly.

The length is manageable even for newer players.

There are several signature holes that will stand out in your mind.

The holes are well marked with orange ribbon and flags on top of the baskets.
Cons: The walk between the front 9 and back 9 is a little too far.

The hills will test your physical endurance and may cause you to mess up a few throws.

The tee pads are gravel and are not as nice as the concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: This park has a great combination of two courses: one tests your accuracy (Orange Crush) while the other tests your big arm (Seth Burton Memorial).

Remember: Eat oranges not Whoppers

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 18 holes now... only 9 when I played.

1    6/14/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played the course there were only 9 holes. With 18 in place now my score could easily go up.

On the same site as Seth Burton which is a totally different type of course than this one. It makes for an excellent variety on one site.

This course is tightly wooded, and quite long for this type of course. The length of the course if more indicative of more open hole courses than a wooded course of this nature.

This course will require all of your best shot-making skills. It's guaranteed that you will end up off of the fairway and in the woods. So be prepared to use all of your "trick" shots. There are uphill and downhill tee shots. There are right turning and left turning holes. There are doglegs that will require you to be able to accurately layup for your approach. And again, when you're deep in the woods, make sure you have a tomahawk, thumber, scoobie, and any other shot that you can think of ready.

I hate to list this as a con, so I'm going to list it as a pro instead. This is defnintely not a beginner friendly course. You should definitely work a lot on your basic skills before stepping foot on this course. Seth Burton, while not a beginner course by any stretch of the imagination, would be better suited for a beginner than this one.
Cons: The course was in very rough, immature shape when I played it. The fairways were overgrown a little and the rough was very thick. Plus the paths between some of the holes were also very overgrown and a bit scary to pass through. High grass, in 85 degree heat, in the mountains of WV is not my idea of a good time. Can you say snake city? Fortunately, I didn't see any.

The tees were natural and still very rough. The tees were marked with plastic picnic cups of different colors. Effective, but not very professional. The signs were made of laminated, hand drawn outlines of the holes. Several of them were quite faded and hard to make out.
Other Thoughts: I would love to go back and play the full 18 next year. And I would really love to see this course in a few years. Right now, it's very rough and immature. But the hole layout for the nine that I was able to play is wonderful. This course will no doubt be a diamond in the rough very soon.

As I mentioned in my review of Seth Burton, if you find yourself within 100 miles or so of Fairmont, WV definitely check out these courses. You won't be disappointed.

***1-8-09***
164StarValkyrie just let me know that the course maintenance has improved on the course since my review. I played the course in July, 2008. I'm totally psyched to get back out to Fairmont, WV again this Summer... will probably push it up to Spring now knowing that all 18 holes are in place and in primo condition. Thanks for the update man!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 It's gonna be nice

2-4    9/21/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has some of the best downhill shots in disc golf ANYWHERE!! Serious elevation changes. Hole 11 I have dubbed "The Temple of Doom" because it feels like you are Indiana Jones and you should be in the coal cart to get over the bridge.

This course is going to be amazing. It is a true test of the serious disc golfers game. It gives you long par 4's, lots of slopes, hills, and tight wooded fairways that really require your complete game.
Cons: Brush, lots of brush that still needs to be cleared away, but that's just because it is a new course. The back 9 just went in a few weeks ago. Once they drag all of the branches and brush piles far far away from the fairways, this course will be amazing. As of now, it is rough and will make you pay if you get off the fairway. But it is still worth a visit. Just remember, it is a par 64 -66, so be prepared to take a lot of 4's, and to to a LOT of walking. :)
Other Thoughts: With this course and the Original Seth Burton Course in the same park, it really (should)makes Fairmont a prime destination for the disc golf traveler. You have 2 courses in 1 park both with the first tee very close to each other. The Original is a beauty and this orange Crush is the beast. But I think any serious disc golfer who wants a challenge and wants to see some of the coolest shots you could ever wish to throw, will absolutely love playing this course. I say by 2010, this course will be in PRIME shape. Perhaps sooner if they can get some more help in working on the course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.