Fairmont, WV 
Orange Crush Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
crushed

1    6/8/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice layout, signs on every tee, long and short tee option,nice quiet park right off highway!
Cons: disc loss very possible,
Other Thoughts: my friend and I were on a road trip to mt morris for the motocross,had some extra time before the race started soooo of course search for a disc golf course! This course was so easy to find (watch the sharp turn into the park) loved the front nine THEN we found out what the orange crush was all about! Every hole was tough! tight! down the hill,up the hill(a good workout) disc hard to find with all the growth so staying on the fairway is a must! all in all the toughest course I have ever played! If you are in the area you got to check it out!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Orange Crush might leave you feelin' blue

2-4    12/22/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lord almighty--what a course! So worth the 2.5 hour drive.

Perhaps it's petty to list this first, but those orange DISCatchers are delicious. I can only imagine how well they stand out in the foliage-rich seasons.

Signage is superb here, from the tee signs to the next tee signs. I played in about 2 inches of snow and was worried about navigation issues; however, I had few problems. With the snow down, it was hard to tell how well the tees and fairways were kept, but I didn't have any issues when I played.

Orange Crush is about as technical as they come. One may say "too technical," but I'll get to that later. Nearly every shot has a very tight and specific line to get to the basket. No lucky shots here, folks. If you can't thread narrow fairways on a variety of routes, you'll have a sore throat from cursing. These 18 holes definitely reward skill and punish you if you're depending on luck. Also, as my scorecard showed, there's an element of risk/reward often times on the approaches. I never had such a bipolar scorecard, with birdies on some holes and double/triple bogies on others.

Slight hyzer/anhyzer doglegs, sharp hyzer/anhyzer doglegs, and S-shots define a lot of the lines on the front nine. Holes 1 and 8 do a good job of utilizing stone pillars to elevate the basket about 10 feet above the ground, making putting more interesting. Thus, the theme with the front nine is navigating a variety of tight lines.

The name of the game on the back nine is elevation and I mean BIG elevation. Holes 13 (named "the descent") and 14 (named "the ascent") clear ultra steep ravines to get to the basket, but what makes them incredible is the distance along with the elevation change. Hole #10 is another monster, as you need to navigate a narrow 600+ ft corridor with hardwoods looking to deflect even the most perfect shot. They're as beautiful as they are demoralizing!
Cons: As I said before, the entire course is uber technical. The super narrow fairways and steep ravines gave me flashbacks to the Paw Paw courses. Needless to say, there's no open shots here. It'd be nice to have about 4-5 wide open bomb shots (for super long drives or rollers) to help you restore confidence in your game between the wooded holes. This lack of terrain variety, simply, is what makes this a 4 and not a 5 star course.

The course is much a test on your mental game as it is your physical game. Expect a strong arm, as many holes exceed 350ft. What's most taxing, however, is the steep hikes up and downhill (and the walk from the front nine to the back nine). Wear good shoes and get in shape if you wanna play here!

I also had issues finding hole #2 initially, but once I found it, I had no issues with any other holes in terms of navigation.
Other Thoughts: Man, this would be a heck of a place for tournaments. I'd love to see the pros play at the annual Seth Burton Memorial sometime. You obviously need a well-packed bag, a clean mind, and a short memory to succeed here. This course destroyed me when I played (the snow didn't help, either) but I still really enjoyed the layout. I'd love to get back here and try it out in the summer.

It's probably the best course I've ever played when it comes to combining elevation and technicality. As stated before, what separates it from the greats is the lack of variety on terrain and shot selection (few opportunities for rollers, thumbers, etc.).

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasant Valley Surprise

1    9/11/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I went to Orange Crush a little skeptical, worried it would be gimmicky, untamed, and simply dangerous. But I was pleasantly surprised to find it instead a unique gem with some fantastic disc golf shots you won't find anywhere else. Orange Crush is the second course of Morris Park, which is basically a big round hill just off I-79. Seth Burton Memorial DGC plays on the crown of the hill, and Orange Crush plays below and around that course through dense woods on the steep hillside, taking advantage of the hillside's severe gullies and veins.

The course is very challenging yet still fun to play. The course places a premium on control: hitting narrow lanes or avoiding danger to one side or the other.

Holes 10-14 comprise one of my favorite stretches of disc golf holes anywhere for being so difficult yet enjoyable and memorable. I voted Hole 8 as my favorite, though, as the tee shot is a great disc golf shot given the multiple routes, slight decline to the basket, and green in the middle of a small forest clearing.
Cons: It seems hole distances and pars need some more time to be determined. I'm not sure what skill level the different tees cater to, but it doesn't now seem obvious. Once they are set and the course is adjusted accordingly, I think I will enjoy this course even more.

Teepads are a little rustic, but really didn't bother me as you're not going to be making huge run-ups anyway.

I felt like a couple holes (6,7,9) need a few more trees cleared for them to have fairer lanes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is quite an accomplishment. I'm ready to pull the trigger and upgrade this course to a 4.5 once it matures a little more, as its terrain's severity really reminds me of why I like disc golf...shotmaking.

Oh, and the orange-banded baskets are a nice touch, too. Good choice.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Aptly named

5+    10/16/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2011
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Updates as of 2/20/11*

Located in a nice quiet park that is very convenient to I-79.

This is a very pretty course that meanders through thick woods. It is very challenging and has a ton of elevation changes.

Even though this course is in heavy woods all but maybe one or two holes have very distinct fairways.

There are two tees per hole that provide significantly (although both are difficult)different looks at the hole and multiple pin positions. The tees are not in the best of shape but I have never had any problems with them.

Very nice Orange Innova Discatchers.

The holes are very well designed and almost every single one of them has an elevation change on them. Every hole falls into the "techincal" category since they are all in the woods. Each hole call for some nice shot shaping and a few of the longer holes really require you to land accurately. This course really makes you put thought into your shots.

Orange crush is never busy but there is a great local crew that takes care of this course. Everytime that I play it the course looks a little better groomed, and a little more broken in.

Very challenging pin positions, elevated, danger behind, on slopes and well protected.
*A few new pin positions have been added.

Decent bathroom facilites located in two places in the park.

Navigation through these very thick woods is very easy with well marked paths and signs pointing you toward the different tees.

*New tee signs have been installed on Orange Crush. They are very accurate and helpful
Cons: Long walk between holes 9 and 10. You have to walk along the road for 4 minutes or so to the next tee.

Hole #4. As I said before most of the holes have distinct fairways. This is not one of them. It is a brutal uphill pinball hole. Luck is a big factor on this hole. Clear a couple of trees and it would be a gem.


Physically demanding. This is not a con for me personally but would really limit any handicapped or out of shape/unhealthy people from playing it.

Garbage and broken glass. It appears that this park might be a local hang out for high school kids (although I have never seen them) because there is alot of small garbage and broken glass on the first couple holes of the course. *Most of the debris appears to have been cleaned up. A local told me that there is still some work to do on the first couple holes but that it is getting better. With the ground covered in leaves no debris was apparent.
Other Thoughts: I really love Orange Crush. The fun factor on this course is extremely high. I always look forward to playing it.

The course plays through the heavy woods surrounding the park proper. It also plays around the second course located in this park, The Seth Burton disc golf course. Most people play these courses seperately but you are able to transfer from one nine on one course to a nine on the other without any problem. It is a great way to mix up the rounds. If you are going to play the courses seperately, I always suggest playing Orange Crush first since it is much harder and more tiring. If you play them reveresed and are a little fatigued going into your Orange Crush round it could mean alot of trouble.

Great Course. Very Challenging. Very Fun.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 There's a reason why it has 'Crush' in the name!

1    9/3/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: · Two tees on each hole - I'd describe them as 'difficult' for the short tee and 'exceptionally difficult' for the long tee. Laminated maps located at each tee (a couple were either faded or incomplete but not a problem).
· Innova baskets in good shape - liked how the top of the baskets are lined with orange and have the tall flag poles w/two flags (orange and yellow) making them easier to see in the dense woods
· Many up/down hill holes with significant elevation changes - thrilling actually. However it's extremely physically demanding so proper footwear and provisions recommended.
· Long holes with very tight, technical woods calling for serious accuracy and line shaping. You'll need a variety of shots as well as your 'A' game plus mental toughness to merely survive.
· Even without a map, the course was easy to navigate with many orange arrows pointing the way to the next tee.
· The course flowed naturally for the most part (see cons for one exception) and the design is top notch (even though it seems to be created by masochists!)
· There are water hazards and some deep ravines as well. However it was extremely dry when I played so water was not a disc eater but ravines were a challenge to retrieve discs from
· Recovering from errant shots will be a serious test of your creative shot making
· #1 & 8's raised baskets mounted on stone structures - with steps up to basket to retrieve discs!
Cons: · Appeals to the disc golfer looking for a remarkably challenging course with assured physical and mental strain so certain types of players may be turned off by this.
· The course is not very broken in with many holes needing some more maintenance/clearing to be, as other reviews have pointed out, 'tournament ready'.
· Tees were inconsistent - they're crushed gravel which isn't always the best footing and some are sloping/eroding a little on the sides so slippage can occur just standing too close to the edge. Some didn't allow much room for even a small run up or an x-step from a particular side of the tee or preferred angle.
· Lots of disc hunt/loss possibilities as off the fairway can be thick and unforgiving (front 9 basically plays on side of mountain w/deep gorge on left hand side throughout - RHBH beware!)
· Somewhat of a long walk between front and back nine (hole 9 to 10) which mildly disrupted the flow
· Pretty much all dense woods holes so not a huge amount of variety in hole types (open, semi-open, lightly wooded). However with Seth Burton on site, you have the option to play these other hole types not found on 'The Crush'.
· Needs additional benches - this course has many considerable up/down hill holes and more seating options would be beneficial.
· While it mostly has a secluded feel, on the first couple of holes you can hear the nearby interstate which was a bummer.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely one of the most difficult course I've played to date - not only from a technical/design/layout aspect but for the extreme physical toll it exerts on your body. I'm embarrassed to say I was idiotic enough to play this course AFTER Seth Burton and man did I get beaten down….or 'Crushed' as it were.

My advice is this: if you're going to play both courses on site, are going to play each as a distinct, separate course and want an enormous challenge, then absolutely play Orange Crush first. You'll want to be fresh when tackling this one - believe me, I learned this the hard way! However if you don't care about playing each course separately, then definitely heed the observations of other reviewers and play a mix of the two courses in alternating 9 hole sequences.

Concerning course maintenance: While playing, I encountered a local who was clearing #9's fairway (apparently for an upcoming tournament). We had a brief conversation regarding the course and he admitted that some of the holes 'hadn't even been touched' maintenance-wise for the entire summer.

I uploaded pictures of the course and the difference between the maintained holes and those that weren't is striking - for example, check out hole #10 versus hole #14. Additionally, look at the originally updated front 9 pics against the ones I uploaded recently (Sept. 2010) to notice how far the course has progressed. The amount of work to create a course with such extremes is commendable to say the least. Keep up the good work as this one will be a gem once totally completed.

The strongest sequence of holes is 11-16 - severe downhill/uphill elevation throughout with considerable length, tight woods, punishing rough off the fairway and by and large just plain exhausting. A true joy to play these holes with #16 being the standout: The long tee is located on the other side of the road which separates the two courses. From this open area, you throw downhill over the road, through a small grassy area into an increasingly narrowing gap surrounded by mature hardwoods & dense rough developing into a cleared, slender, well defined fairway. This ruthless downward shot culminates at a ravine/water hazard protecting a pin on a sloping, fast green. Wow! This one gave me an ear to ear smile.

Orange Crush still could use some improvements specifically in the area of course maintenance, but once it takes form it'll be something special. I won't label this course a destination or must play mainly due to its out of the way locale & immaturity. However combined with Seth Burton I'd call it the place to be for a serious disc golfer looking for a some tough as nails Disc Golf.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Chutes and Ladders!!!!!

1    5/2/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The WILDEST and most INSANE layout I have ever encountered. The most memorable downhill plunges I have played anywhere. The back 9 has 5 holes that would qualify as Signature holes on any other course. This is a course for experienced players who are craving a difficult course with rewarding fun shots. 4 shots in a row that are over 400 feet long with over 100 feet of elevation drop. That was not a misprint you literally are driving multiple times down the sides of the mountain in horrifying but gleeful moments of terror and wonder. Once you get into the back 9 everything changes and your playing the most extreme DG anywhere. (way more extreme than Diamond X in Montana) I was laughing and screaming out loud all alone as I walked up to these tee boxes perched on the sides of mountains aiming down corridors down to the abyss below. Every hole is tight woods and every hole has elevation....either extreme uphills, extreme downhills, or extreme punishment for going of the fairway. The front 9 are a test of control and will as you endure the woods and elevation with often extreme punishment lurking to the left of the fairway.....you don't want your disc to finish its fade flight path here...keep it controlled straight and low. You will grow disgruntled and restless as you endure these long tight routes through walls of tree cover and with steep drops all around. If you can manage the twisted up and down fairways you might be close to par. After the elevated pin of 8 and the relatively wide open huck of nine everything changes. After a long walk your greeted with a long tight downhill drive into the forest. The fun continues and suddenly you are forgetting about the cruelty of the front 9. I cannot put into words the steepness nor the challenge of these holes. A few uphills that reward both power and precision. A few over the valley shots and a slew of funky unconventional holes where you will be wondering how to make your disc negotiate all the hazzardous trees, undulations, and cliffs. Your legs, lungs and mind will get a workout here. I found the tees to be amazing...how did they build these big tees and maintain them so far out and down and up these hills?
Cons: It is not for the out of shape player, it's not for beginners, it's not for those who are afraid of rugged terrain and woods. I slipped and fell down the mountainside a few times...don't laugh...you will too! Try to play it when it's dry. I played in a torrential downpour, it was the scariest discing I ever played. Often times the fairway was little more than a hiking trail with a deep gorge to the left...pretty absurd to do anything more than putt 100 feet and then do it again if your concerned about losing discs or dont feel like repeling down these steep slopes. Blind nature of course, dense jungle, roll aways combined with mountain terrain is sure to gobble a few discs. I would have preferred some wider open landing areas to shoot for and some larger greens as a reward for all that struggle. It seemed to me the designers are trying to make the craziest and most difficult course possible and have forgotten about rewarding strategy and shot making. A few times I was aiming for a basket which was basically in the center of a 5 foot wide walking path. Not fun and I love difficult courses. Basically appeals to the young, in shape, experienced, skilled player....if your a bit older, carrying some extra weight, a beginner with raw skills....your in trouble. 18 was just a tight hole with a bunch of turns...not a memorable finisher. The front 9 definetely favors lhbh or rhfh play as the mountainside drops to the left on every hole due to the course trekking across the mountain in this direction. The walk from 9 to 10 is quite long but worth it.
Other Thoughts: With some more clearing and a few wider landing areas and bigger greens this course could approach elite status. It's not everyones cup of tea but it is a course unlike any other and will be burned into your mind and legs for a while. The recommendation of playing the entire 2 course layout in a mixed allignment alternating between the more groomed park setting of Seth Burton and the more strenous wilderness Orange Crush is a great idea 36 holes of alternating between mountain golf and park golf is just the remedy for these 2 distinct courses. I would start at Seth Burton 8-18 do Orange Crush 1-9 then Seth Burton 1-9 and finish with Orange Crush 10-18...that would be quite a day of disc golf!

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Crushed

5+    12/17/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: allinpflop
Played: 164  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land available. I like the new alt pin positions and the short tees make it almost possible for a less than 900 rated player to enjoy a round. This is a course to test yourself. You need to have all the shots to be successful but you will be glad you came. Many holes are very memorable both for the elevation used and the obstacles. And once you have been Crushed you can also play Seth Burton in the same park. Don't make a trip just for this course but if you are going to be in the area it's a must play.
Cons: Signage has improved quite a bit from last year but still needs more work. Tees are awful, not level and the crushed gravel is tough to play on. Still some more clearing that needs to take place. If you leave the fairway you may not be able to find your disc. Somewhat lefty or forehand favored.
Other Thoughts: One of the toughest 18 hole courses from the long tees. Be prepared for a hike. You will either be walking uphill or downhill, there isn't a level hole that I can think of. This course is definetly a work in progress. The guys responsible for this course have made great strides in the 2 years that I have played it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.