Fairmont, WV 
Orange Crush Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 431ft.   5 / 612ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/30/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great usage of what the land offers.... Though the terrain might be extreeme for some, I found the DGC VERY challenging and didn't mind the extreeme terrain because they had benches at every hole and ya knew you we're playing a great DGC. I liked the elevated baskets sprinkled around the course by using the old fireplaces that we're already present in the park.

(Orange) Next tee signs are present at every hole and course is easily navigational.

Benches at every hole. (I can't express this enough. I don't care what kind of DGC you playing, benches are essential and appreciated)

Long, flush with the ground tee pads. I also saw some serious volenteer work on the drainage around a few tee pads. (Nice, very nice work).

I liked their bridges (metal and wooden).

2 tee pads, 2 basket positions on every hole.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. (At least they didn't use large gravel in the front of the tee pad).

Though there is a mirror as you exit Morris Park, there still is a blind spot to your right and everyone should exit the park very carefully.

The rough is to be avoided in some places as its pretty thick. (behind the basket on # 18 comes to mind as well as a few other places. I lost a stratus # 11, because I turned it over to much. My fault, my throw, but I paid the price of entering the rough and looking for my disc. If anyone finds that disc would you please give it to someone that DOESN'T have a disc to play)
Other Thoughts: The Fairmont Disc Golf club is so lucky to have 2 (8, if you play both tees and both pin positions at both Disc Golf courses)
Championship caliber DGC in their backyard. And why is that.... They got great land to use for a DGc, and they also have good leadership and strong support from it's members. Keep up the hard journey to what your doing at the courses. Your love shows and it's greatly appreciated by this visitor/ tourist.

I'll be back.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    12/27/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Very good. Alot of holes have extreme elevation change. The course plays in the woods around the bottom portion of the park. Most of the holes are par 4's. This course has a ton of variety, huge down hill throws, throws over small gorges, even up hill throws (one with a double river running down it).

Course Atmosphere--
Awsome! You start out in the park and after 2 holes you feel like your completely out of the park and in the middle of the woods in the mountains. The scenery on this course is really cool. This course has some of the steepest elevation of any course iv'e played (even next to ski resort courses).

Course Navigation--
No maps but there are laminated tee signs that are just as helpful as wooded signs would be. Also the orange arrows on the trees pointing to the next hole makes this course very easy to navigate (even easier then "Seth Burton" which has a map) .
Cons: Course Maintenance--
Even though you can tell alot of work has been put in, it still has some work to be done. The tee pads are gravel and the last couple holes still need to be trimmed up a little. Also a couple benches would be nice because this course will have you wanting to sit at times due to the HUGE hills you walk up and down. Very nice orange discatcher baskets though!
Other Thoughts: Hazards--
Good amount of holes with small fast moving rivers. Also I guess the huge elevation could be a hazard if you get a blind roller.

-Overall "Morris park" the park that holds both "Seth Burton" and "Orange Crush" is a very good golfing destination. You get the best of both worlds with fun elevation changes on both courses. "Seth Burton" is the open, standard, pro like course which runs along the top of the park. "Orange Crush" is the scenic technical course that runs on the bottom part of the park. I highly recommend these courses to anyone. There is no way you could go here and not have a good time (unless bad weather was a factor).

--Even though this course is about 8 hours from me, I will for sure make a 2nd trip here at some point in my life. I'll be very anxious to see "Orange Crush" when its completely done!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 The Crush is ON!

1    5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: wvdiscgolf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many different shots, doglegs left and right, lots of par 4/5's - only 2 real birdie shots on hole 6 and 7. #8 Basket (the Johnny Sias Hole) is located 10 ft. high on top of an old stone grill w/ chimney. This park has many such treasures being unearthed in these woods including old stonework, fountains and forgotten trails!
Cons: lots of brush and junk off the side of the fairways so if you do go off the beaten path ... BEWARE! Also desperately needs concrete tee's.
Back 9 still incomplete, a very long walk and not (yet) tourney ready.
Other Thoughts: Very important to have control shots, can get lost in the rough woods very quickly! Great Orange Discatcher baskets and clear fairways.

*With so much course improvement and work days there are much clearer fairways, cleaner greens, long and short tee pads on every hole and "A" and "B" pins for every position. 5/5!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center