Fairmont, WV 
Orange Crush Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #8
3 / 179ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket (about 10 ft. High)



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 There's a reason why it has 'Crush' in the name!

1    9/3/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 122  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: · Two tees on each hole - I'd describe them as 'difficult' for the short tee and 'exceptionally difficult' for the long tee. Laminated maps located at each tee (a couple were either faded or incomplete but not a problem).
· Innova baskets in good shape - liked how the top of the baskets are lined with orange and have the tall flag poles w/two flags (orange and yellow) making them easier to see in the dense woods
· Many up/down hill holes with significant elevation changes - thrilling actually. However it's extremely physically demanding so proper footwear and provisions recommended.
· Long holes with very tight, technical woods calling for serious accuracy and line shaping. You'll need a variety of shots as well as your 'A' game plus mental toughness to merely survive.
· Even without a map, the course was easy to navigate with many orange arrows pointing the way to the next tee.
· The course flowed naturally for the most part (see cons for one exception) and the design is top notch (even though it seems to be created by masochists!)
· There are water hazards and some deep ravines as well. However it was extremely dry when I played so water was not a disc eater but ravines were a challenge to retrieve discs from
· Recovering from errant shots will be a serious test of your creative shot making
· #1 & 8's raised baskets mounted on stone structures - with steps up to basket to retrieve discs!
Cons: · Appeals to the disc golfer looking for a remarkably challenging course with assured physical and mental strain so certain types of players may be turned off by this.
· The course is not very broken in with many holes needing some more maintenance/clearing to be, as other reviews have pointed out, 'tournament ready'.
· Tees were inconsistent - they're crushed gravel which isn't always the best footing and some are sloping/eroding a little on the sides so slippage can occur just standing too close to the edge. Some didn't allow much room for even a small run up or an x-step from a particular side of the tee or preferred angle.
· Lots of disc hunt/loss possibilities as off the fairway can be thick and unforgiving (front 9 basically plays on side of mountain w/deep gorge on left hand side throughout - RHBH beware!)
· Somewhat of a long walk between front and back nine (hole 9 to 10) which mildly disrupted the flow
· Pretty much all dense woods holes so not a huge amount of variety in hole types (open, semi-open, lightly wooded). However with Seth Burton on site, you have the option to play these other hole types not found on 'The Crush'.
· Needs additional benches - this course has many considerable up/down hill holes and more seating options would be beneficial.
· While it mostly has a secluded feel, on the first couple of holes you can hear the nearby interstate which was a bummer.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely one of the most difficult course I've played to date - not only from a technical/design/layout aspect but for the extreme physical toll it exerts on your body. I'm embarrassed to say I was idiotic enough to play this course AFTER Seth Burton and man did I get beaten down….or 'Crushed' as it were.

My advice is this: if you're going to play both courses on site, are going to play each as a distinct, separate course and want an enormous challenge, then absolutely play Orange Crush first. You'll want to be fresh when tackling this one - believe me, I learned this the hard way! However if you don't care about playing each course separately, then definitely heed the observations of other reviewers and play a mix of the two courses in alternating 9 hole sequences.

Concerning course maintenance: While playing, I encountered a local who was clearing #9's fairway (apparently for an upcoming tournament). We had a brief conversation regarding the course and he admitted that some of the holes 'hadn't even been touched' maintenance-wise for the entire summer.

I uploaded pictures of the course and the difference between the maintained holes and those that weren't is striking - for example, check out hole #10 versus hole #14. Additionally, look at the originally updated front 9 pics against the ones I uploaded recently (Sept. 2010) to notice how far the course has progressed. The amount of work to create a course with such extremes is commendable to say the least. Keep up the good work as this one will be a gem once totally completed.

The strongest sequence of holes is 11-16 - severe downhill/uphill elevation throughout with considerable length, tight woods, punishing rough off the fairway and by and large just plain exhausting. A true joy to play these holes with #16 being the standout: The long tee is located on the other side of the road which separates the two courses. From this open area, you throw downhill over the road, through a small grassy area into an increasingly narrowing gap surrounded by mature hardwoods & dense rough developing into a cleared, slender, well defined fairway. This ruthless downward shot culminates at a ravine/water hazard protecting a pin on a sloping, fast green. Wow! This one gave me an ear to ear smile.

Orange Crush still could use some improvements specifically in the area of course maintenance, but once it takes form it'll be something special. I won't label this course a destination or must play mainly due to its out of the way locale & immaturity. However combined with Seth Burton I'd call it the place to be for a serious disc golfer looking for a some tough as nails Disc Golf.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: lilniners
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course makes you bring out every type of throw you have.

The layout of the holes flows pretty smoothly.

The length is manageable even for newer players.

There are several signature holes that will stand out in your mind.

The holes are well marked with orange ribbon and flags on top of the baskets.
Cons: The walk between the front 9 and back 9 is a little too far.

The hills will test your physical endurance and may cause you to mess up a few throws.

The tee pads are gravel and are not as nice as the concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: This park has a great combination of two courses: one tests your accuracy (Orange Crush) while the other tests your big arm (Seth Burton Memorial).

Remember: Eat oranges not Whoppers

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Chutes and Ladders!!!!!

1    5/2/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The WILDEST and most INSANE layout I have ever encountered. The most memorable downhill plunges I have played anywhere. The back 9 has 5 holes that would qualify as Signature holes on any other course. This is a course for experienced players who are craving a difficult course with rewarding fun shots. 4 shots in a row that are over 400 feet long with over 100 feet of elevation drop. That was not a misprint you literally are driving multiple times down the sides of the mountain in horrifying but gleeful moments of terror and wonder. Once you get into the back 9 everything changes and your playing the most extreme DG anywhere. (way more extreme than Diamond X in Montana) I was laughing and screaming out loud all alone as I walked up to these tee boxes perched on the sides of mountains aiming down corridors down to the abyss below. Every hole is tight woods and every hole has elevation....either extreme uphills, extreme downhills, or extreme punishment for going of the fairway. The front 9 are a test of control and will as you endure the woods and elevation with often extreme punishment lurking to the left of the fairway.....you don't want your disc to finish its fade flight path here...keep it controlled straight and low. You will grow disgruntled and restless as you endure these long tight routes through walls of tree cover and with steep drops all around. If you can manage the twisted up and down fairways you might be close to par. After the elevated pin of 8 and the relatively wide open huck of nine everything changes. After a long walk your greeted with a long tight downhill drive into the forest. The fun continues and suddenly you are forgetting about the cruelty of the front 9. I cannot put into words the steepness nor the challenge of these holes. A few uphills that reward both power and precision. A few over the valley shots and a slew of funky unconventional holes where you will be wondering how to make your disc negotiate all the hazzardous trees, undulations, and cliffs. Your legs, lungs and mind will get a workout here. I found the tees to be amazing...how did they build these big tees and maintain them so far out and down and up these hills?
Cons: It is not for the out of shape player, it's not for beginners, it's not for those who are afraid of rugged terrain and woods. I slipped and fell down the mountainside a few times...don't laugh...you will too! Try to play it when it's dry. I played in a torrential downpour, it was the scariest discing I ever played. Often times the fairway was little more than a hiking trail with a deep gorge to the left...pretty absurd to do anything more than putt 100 feet and then do it again if your concerned about losing discs or dont feel like repeling down these steep slopes. Blind nature of course, dense jungle, roll aways combined with mountain terrain is sure to gobble a few discs. I would have preferred some wider open landing areas to shoot for and some larger greens as a reward for all that struggle. It seemed to me the designers are trying to make the craziest and most difficult course possible and have forgotten about rewarding strategy and shot making. A few times I was aiming for a basket which was basically in the center of a 5 foot wide walking path. Not fun and I love difficult courses. Basically appeals to the young, in shape, experienced, skilled player....if your a bit older, carrying some extra weight, a beginner with raw skills....your in trouble. 18 was just a tight hole with a bunch of turns...not a memorable finisher. The front 9 definetely favors lhbh or rhfh play as the mountainside drops to the left on every hole due to the course trekking across the mountain in this direction. The walk from 9 to 10 is quite long but worth it.
Other Thoughts: With some more clearing and a few wider landing areas and bigger greens this course could approach elite status. It's not everyones cup of tea but it is a course unlike any other and will be burned into your mind and legs for a while. The recommendation of playing the entire 2 course layout in a mixed allignment alternating between the more groomed park setting of Seth Burton and the more strenous wilderness Orange Crush is a great idea 36 holes of alternating between mountain golf and park golf is just the remedy for these 2 distinct courses. I would start at Seth Burton 8-18 do Orange Crush 1-9 then Seth Burton 1-9 and finish with Orange Crush 10-18...that would be quite a day of disc golf!

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Crushed

5+    12/17/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: allinpflop
Played: 167  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land available. I like the new alt pin positions and the short tees make it almost possible for a less than 900 rated player to enjoy a round. This is a course to test yourself. You need to have all the shots to be successful but you will be glad you came. Many holes are very memorable both for the elevation used and the obstacles. And once you have been Crushed you can also play Seth Burton in the same park. Don't make a trip just for this course but if you are going to be in the area it's a must play.
Cons: Signage has improved quite a bit from last year but still needs more work. Tees are awful, not level and the crushed gravel is tough to play on. Still some more clearing that needs to take place. If you leave the fairway you may not be able to find your disc. Somewhat lefty or forehand favored.
Other Thoughts: One of the toughest 18 hole courses from the long tees. Be prepared for a hike. You will either be walking uphill or downhill, there isn't a level hole that I can think of. This course is definetly a work in progress. The guys responsible for this course have made great strides in the 2 years that I have played it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fabulous course(s)

1    11/22/2009   1/27/2010
Review By: eileenontrees
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Some amazing long fairways, really fun layout totally encircling a steep hill.
dog friendly
Cons: confusing layout of tees/baskets to claim two different courses on the same course.
Other Thoughts: I forget which hole, but my drive throw landed and rolled... and rolled, and rolled! It luckily stopped just short of the woods, but it was hilarious and cost me another 2 throws just to get back to where it initially landed! Challenging, fun course design.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 18 holes now... only 9 when I played.

1    6/14/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I played the course there were only 9 holes. With 18 in place now my score could easily go up.

On the same site as Seth Burton which is a totally different type of course than this one. It makes for an excellent variety on one site.

This course is tightly wooded, and quite long for this type of course. The length of the course if more indicative of more open hole courses than a wooded course of this nature.

This course will require all of your best shot-making skills. It's guaranteed that you will end up off of the fairway and in the woods. So be prepared to use all of your "trick" shots. There are uphill and downhill tee shots. There are right turning and left turning holes. There are doglegs that will require you to be able to accurately layup for your approach. And again, when you're deep in the woods, make sure you have a tomahawk, thumber, scoobie, and any other shot that you can think of ready.

I hate to list this as a con, so I'm going to list it as a pro instead. This is defnintely not a beginner friendly course. You should definitely work a lot on your basic skills before stepping foot on this course. Seth Burton, while not a beginner course by any stretch of the imagination, would be better suited for a beginner than this one.
Cons: The course was in very rough, immature shape when I played it. The fairways were overgrown a little and the rough was very thick. Plus the paths between some of the holes were also very overgrown and a bit scary to pass through. High grass, in 85 degree heat, in the mountains of WV is not my idea of a good time. Can you say snake city? Fortunately, I didn't see any.

The tees were natural and still very rough. The tees were marked with plastic picnic cups of different colors. Effective, but not very professional. The signs were made of laminated, hand drawn outlines of the holes. Several of them were quite faded and hard to make out.
Other Thoughts: I would love to go back and play the full 18 next year. And I would really love to see this course in a few years. Right now, it's very rough and immature. But the hole layout for the nine that I was able to play is wonderful. This course will no doubt be a diamond in the rough very soon.

As I mentioned in my review of Seth Burton, if you find yourself within 100 miles or so of Fairmont, WV definitely check out these courses. You won't be disappointed.

***1-8-09***
164StarValkyrie just let me know that the course maintenance has improved on the course since my review. I played the course in July, 2008. I'm totally psyched to get back out to Fairmont, WV again this Summer... will probably push it up to Spring now knowing that all 18 holes are in place and in primo condition. Thanks for the update man!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


1    12/27/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Very good. Alot of holes have extreme elevation change. The course plays in the woods around the bottom portion of the park. Most of the holes are par 4's. This course has a ton of variety, huge down hill throws, throws over small gorges, even up hill throws (one with a double river running down it).

Course Atmosphere--
Awsome! You start out in the park and after 2 holes you feel like your completely out of the park and in the middle of the woods in the mountains. The scenery on this course is really cool. This course has some of the steepest elevation of any course iv'e played (even next to ski resort courses).

Course Navigation--
No maps but there are laminated tee signs that are just as helpful as wooded signs would be. Also the orange arrows on the trees pointing to the next hole makes this course very easy to navigate (even easier then "Seth Burton" which has a map) .
Cons: Course Maintenance--
Even though you can tell alot of work has been put in, it still has some work to be done. The tee pads are gravel and the last couple holes still need to be trimmed up a little. Also a couple benches would be nice because this course will have you wanting to sit at times due to the HUGE hills you walk up and down. Very nice orange discatcher baskets though!
Other Thoughts: Hazards--
Good amount of holes with small fast moving rivers. Also I guess the huge elevation could be a hazard if you get a blind roller.

-Overall "Morris park" the park that holds both "Seth Burton" and "Orange Crush" is a very good golfing destination. You get the best of both worlds with fun elevation changes on both courses. "Seth Burton" is the open, standard, pro like course which runs along the top of the park. "Orange Crush" is the scenic technical course that runs on the bottom part of the park. I highly recommend these courses to anyone. There is no way you could go here and not have a good time (unless bad weather was a factor).

--Even though this course is about 8 hours from me, I will for sure make a 2nd trip here at some point in my life. I'll be very anxious to see "Orange Crush" when its completely done!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 It's gonna be nice

2-4    9/21/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has some of the best downhill shots in disc golf ANYWHERE!! Serious elevation changes. Hole 11 I have dubbed "The Temple of Doom" because it feels like you are Indiana Jones and you should be in the coal cart to get over the bridge.

This course is going to be amazing. It is a true test of the serious disc golfers game. It gives you long par 4's, lots of slopes, hills, and tight wooded fairways that really require your complete game.
Cons: Brush, lots of brush that still needs to be cleared away, but that's just because it is a new course. The back 9 just went in a few weeks ago. Once they drag all of the branches and brush piles far far away from the fairways, this course will be amazing. As of now, it is rough and will make you pay if you get off the fairway. But it is still worth a visit. Just remember, it is a par 64 -66, so be prepared to take a lot of 4's, and to to a LOT of walking. :)
Other Thoughts: With this course and the Original Seth Burton Course in the same park, it really (should)makes Fairmont a prime destination for the disc golf traveler. You have 2 courses in 1 park both with the first tee very close to each other. The Original is a beauty and this orange Crush is the beast. But I think any serious disc golfer who wants a challenge and wants to see some of the coolest shots you could ever wish to throw, will absolutely love playing this course. I say by 2010, this course will be in PRIME shape. Perhaps sooner if they can get some more help in working on the course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Crush is ON!

1    5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: wvdiscgolf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many different shots, doglegs left and right, lots of par 4/5's - only 2 real birdie shots on hole 6 and 7. #8 Basket (the Johnny Sias Hole) is located 10 ft. high on top of an old stone grill w/ chimney. This park has many such treasures being unearthed in these woods including old stonework, fountains and forgotten trails!
Cons: lots of brush and junk off the side of the fairways so if you do go off the beaten path ... BEWARE! Also desperately needs concrete tee's.
Back 9 still incomplete, a very long walk and not (yet) tourney ready.
Other Thoughts: Very important to have control shots, can get lost in the rough woods very quickly! Great Orange Discatcher baskets and clear fairways.

*With so much course improvement and work days there are much clearer fairways, cleaner greens, long and short tee pads on every hole and "A" and "B" pins for every position. 5/5!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.