Paducah, KY 
Paducah DGC Share
Uploaded By: tdortch Hole #18 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Just stopping by

1    4/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Very fair yet punitive to drives that stray from the fairway. You will use just about every disc in the bag for this one: Hyzer, Anhyzer, Low Ceiling, High Shots, Skips, Rollers etc.
Cons: Bugs and nettles in the summer months.
Mud and puddles in the winter months.
A well used hiking trail runs next to some of the holes. On hole #13 there is a softball field that's out of bounds but tell that to the right fielder when you about take his head off with an errant throw. Hole 18 has a children's playground on the right side that comes into play also

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun but difficult!

1    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: soccermark93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course was challenging and had a lot of different throws, some long hyzer and anhyzer drives. You get to play in the woods and out. Also they have some creative names for each of the holes....fun course
Cons: Pretty densely wooded. If you play during the spring of summer, you have a good chance of putting multiple discs in the woods and wading through thorns and poison ivy to get to it. This is a course for most experienced players and it was apparent, only two holes under 300 ft, so its not easy to stay on par for younger players.
Other Thoughts: I practice on the open holes a lot, 12,13, and 18 plus the practice net. For all the cons, I would suggest it for most intermediate to good players.

 Not as tough as billed but fun

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sitting aside from the other activities in this multi-use park, the course allows from some nice secluded golf. Each hole forces at least one gap to be hit and can cause a bit of trouble if you're off. Most fairways were fair enough with the rough causing headaches if you're unfortunate enough to go in there. All but two holes are longer than 300 feet so you'll have no shortage of length except on several of the new sleeves. Most holes have alternate new sleeves (which is where the baskets were when I first played here) that required different shot shapes and distances from the original placements. Each hole has large grippy tee pads and good tee signs showing the original pins/distances. Navigation between holes was not an issue. Paths were worn in the woods making it easy to follow and the next tees were easily visible on the open holes.
Cons: Though nothing major can be done about it but this course is about as flat as they come. The only semblance of elevation I saw was the slight drop off before number 18's basket. Though navigation was easy, multiple times you have to back track to get to the next tee. After completing number 12 you have to walk back over half the distance of number 13 just to get to the tee. And its not even a hole worthy of the walk... 475' wide open, no elevation, no danger, no excitement. Number 14's tee is in a dangerous spot as well. Any follow through off the tee will result in dangerous footing into a creek bed where a twisted/broken ankle is awaiting. Not sure where the supposed water was to come into play but it was absent. The course description says, "Creek in play on 6 holes," but it must mean you go stand near it and tee off away from it. Also, I thought number 17 was a very dumb hole. Half of the view off the tee was blocked by one tree creating a boring tweener hole near the end of the round.

I'll allow for some time for this to get fixed but with all of the new pin placements, all but number one's tee signs are obsolete. None of the signs indicated where the baskets were nor their distances. This was rather bothersome in the woods with blind shots on longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I guess I was there with the layout in virtually of the new pin placements. Since it was my first impression of the course, it was nice to see multiple sleeves but I didn't get the feel of playing the original course. This is not a true championship caliber course as was described. I wouldn't consider any of the holes true par fours, maybe one or two were legit par 3+ but that's it. With that being said, this course still provides more of a challenge than several of the other nearby courses in Murray and Benton.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Slightly Above Average

1    3/6/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Paducah DGC is a well-established course. The fairways have matured. All equipment is in solid condition. The signs are informative, and benches are scattered throughout the course. 80% of the course is designed extremely well. I had heard that the course was very "lefty-friendly" but I didn't find this to be noticeable. There is a solid mix of required shot shapes. The park was relatively quiet while I played, and the round was very relaxing for being in the middle of a large town.
Cons: There are a couple of "throw-away" holes, and this is a pet-peave of mine. I understand that there are times when you place a hole simply to get from Point A to Point B. However, I think there should be some sort of design element on each hole. Tee-pad, an open field, and a basket do not make for a challenge...no matter the length.

My second major "con" is the listed "Par". I remember 2 holes that I felt were possibly a Par 4...which is about 6 or 7 fewer than were listed as Par 4s. For example, Hole 18, was wide open and 355 feet. I felt it even played shorter as the basket was slightly downhill from the tee-pad. A solid Pro is going to deuce that hole more-often-than-not. For regular guys like me, it's a drop-in 3 at worst. A birdie should be somewhat of a challenge, and there are a few holes at Paducah that do not challenge the player for a birdie.
Other Thoughts: While I didn't read every word of the other reviews of this course, I did glance through them. The reviews for this course are the perfect example of what DGCR is all about. Some have given this course rave reviews...which, in my opinion, are inflated. Some have brought the course back "down to earth". This has given the user an extremely realistic idea of what to expect at Paducah DGC. I just felt like this should be mentioned as that is the site's goal for every course in the country.

To close my review, this is not a "Championship Caliber" course. It is a good course that is well-manicured, mature, and has plenty of room to grow. The design, for the most part, is solid. The "throw-away" holes are balanced out by the various excellent holes at Paducah.

This is definitely a good course to stop and play while traveling through Paducah. The course is (by my estimation) about 2 miles off of Interstate 24. Since you don't have to go out of your way to get there, and Paducah is "on-route" if you drive through the region, this is definitely a course to stop and check out. If you are expecting a championship layout, you will be disappointed. But, if you are looking for a solid, above-average course, then Paducah will fit the bill quite nicely.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/2/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Makes you use a variety of shots. Excellent signs. Almost every hole was something different. Many holes play along a big creek, but it shouldn't be a factor...

If you are in this area you should play it when it heals.
Cons: Wet and muddy fairways on some holes when I played it.

Looks like it is now currently unplayable due to the downed trees.
Other Thoughts: I was glad I got to play it before the awful ice storm. I hope the local DGers and the park can get this course back after the ice damage!!!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Woodchoppers Ball

5+    1/11/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long concrete tee boxes and Innova Disccatcher baskets are a good start. Add some tight holes in heavily wooded areas and you have the makings for a great course. Hole #8 is a dogleg right out at 40 feet and the fairway is only 15 feet wide. Hole 16 is called pinball and there is only a 3 foot wide path straight through to the pin. The kiosk , tee signs and the flow from one hole to the next make this course very easy to follow.
Restuarants and hotels are 5 minutes away and a mall where you can drop the misses off. Only takes 1 hour and 15 minutes to traverse the 18 holes at a brisk walk.
Cons: Bugs and nettles in the summer months.
Mud and puddles in the winter months.
Porta-Potties smell funny.(not in a HA HA way). A well used hiking trail runs next to some of the holes. On hole #13 there is a softball field that's out of bounds but tell that to the right fielder when you about take his head off with an errant throw. Hole 18 has a children's playground on the right side that comes into play also.
Other Thoughts: Some very easy holes and some very hard holes. Some true par 4's and some very true par 3's. If you are close to Paducah, Ky. stop by for a round or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improvement

2-4    1/2/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: brattenj
Played: 286  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Very fair yet punitive to drives that stray from the fairway. You will use just about every disc in the bag for this one: Hyzer, Anhyzer, Low Ceiling, High Shots, Skips, Rollers etc.
Cons: Some of the course seemed to be in a flood plain or maybe they had just received a bunch of rain, but the terrain was pretty soggy in some spots.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when it first opened and now have played it almost 3 years later. It amazes me how holes that are new and have "no fairway" are opened up by people playing them and become great holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the West (KY)

5+    8/9/2010   3/6/2008
Review By: johnogorrell
Played: 67  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of length of holes, as well as a good mix of open holes with the wooded, technical holes. The course flows well.
This course just had a lot of work done to clean it up, and looks better then it has since it was put in over 3 years ago.
The signage is a great help.
Cons: The course par is a little bit messed up. There are only about 4 legitiment par 4s (4, 8, 10, 14).
I agree that there are a few throw away holes where you are simply throwing discs is open fields, but those holes are few.
Other Thoughts: If you end up off of the fairways it can be a difficult to save par, but I don't see this as a "con," but as and added challenge. That being said I do not see this as a great course for "beginners." Personally I think this is one of better courses in West KY (outside of the Bowling Green area). If you find yourself near Paducah/KY Lake area you should definately stop by. The local club is growing and on the verge of becoming something great.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.