Paducah, KY 
Paducah DGC Share
Uploaded By: tdortch Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Solid Course

1    4/7/2015   4/7/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in an unused corner of a mulit-use park, so other than a hike-and-bike trail there is little interference with other park users. For the most part the course is wooded, though many of the holes play at least partially through open ground. There are several where you tee off in the open to a basket in the woods, or where the tee is in the woods and you are throwing to a basket in the open. These holes, mixed with a couple of totally open and a few totally wooded holes give nice variety.

Hole lengths vary from 215 to 515 feet, with most in the 250' to 425' range. Nice variety of straight, right-finishing and left-finishing holes, but nothing that I would describe as a tunnel.

Good level concrete tee pads, decent signs, and Innova baskets that catch well but are showing quite a bit of rust on the chains.

Decent sized parking area with a Porta-John.
Cons: No elevation makes this a pretty straightforward woods course. Some of the tee signs don't show the basket position accurately, apparently due to some new pin locations.

There is a creek bordering many of the holes, but it isn't really in play on any except Hole 15 where your drive may fade into the creek if you are too far left.

When I played the course was soggy and muddy with a lot of standing water. They'd had considerable rain in the past week so it was understandable, but it looks like the course could hold water for a while.

Holes 13 and 18 are kind of duds. Wide open throws over grass without needing to hit a specific line.
Other Thoughts: The stated pars on the course are generous. This should probably be closer to a par 56 course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Has grown on me.

5+    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 52  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been a transplant here in Paducah over the past month for school rotations. Having said that, this has become my home course in the area. After having first played this, I probably would have given this course a 3 star tops.... now I give it 3.5 stars... and would go as high as 3.75 if I could.

The Good:
This course was designed very well. Just within the first 4 holes, you get a hug variety in shots. This is one of those courses that you are just going to get better from playing it. This course has everything from tight fairways that force you to stay in the green space... to long bomber holes to play with the wind.... to awesome double OB. With well placed trees, I found myself throwing turnover shots where I would normally be throwing a forehand. Just really well designed.

Other great things: Amenities... there is a port-a-potty (better than nothing), nice benches at every hole.... the tee signs are great.
Cons: The Bad: These things are not necessarily fixable... but take away from the course just a bit. Drainage... don't come here after it rains without water proof boots. It will be a bad day. Bugs... yep it is basically a swamp. Bring bug spray or anti-malarials. Flat terrain... again not much you can do on a flood plain. I really wish that some of the holes in the back would have brought that creek into play. It is a beautiful creek... and could have made for some really fun holes. I don't take that away from the course really... and I know that you have to work with what the parks and rec gives you in terms of land.
Other Thoughts: This has been a great course to practice on this past month. I really appreciate having a course in this town. All of the dudes that I have had the chance to play with are super nice. Would love to see this course get the HB tournament treatment. Would make for a nice little 1 day C tier event.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid Kentucky Course

1    9/21/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice wooded course that has some length to it too. It definitely requires you to hit your lines. Since the course has many par 4s, it is very scoreable even though the hole layouts are difficult. There are also a few more open, longer holes that can suit your needs if you have to have some long throws. The tee-pads were large and grippy even though they had puddles on them. The course really drained well from the inch and a half of rain there was the night before. You could tell the baskets were aging a little bit but they weren't in bad shape. The course was in really good shape with the brush being clean and it made the round much easier than a lot of wooded courses.
Cons: There were multiple baskets, but there weren't any ways to tell which spot it was in so we had to look. Also there were multiple baskets on some holes where it said there was only one which was confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course will lead to a fun round that challenges your abilities and how well-rounded your game is. It is a course that you could play at daily since it is an easy walk, and it would force you to improve. Overall, i really enjoyed it and hope to be back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Round of Disc Golf

1    9/21/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Very Nice and Grippy Tee Pads even when wet
* The landscape work done on the holes was nice
* The benches and bag holders were great
* Good mix of wooded and open holes
* You can score on this course or it can bite you
* Good Navigation map at the start
* All the holes had definite lines. Most holes provided some different options as well.
* Even though this course was in some pretty thick woods, we had NO trouble finding disc
* Nice baskets and a practice basket
* I got a chance to play alot of different discs on this course.
* Wide variety of shots required to get around this track
* We played after a heavy rain the night before an the course drained pretty well.
Cons: * A sign or two didn't seem accurate to me.

*Some holes had multiple pin locations with no way of knowing what location it was in without walking the hole to find it.

* We had a navigation issue on a couple of holes. Arrows on the baskets or ground would solve this.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round at this site. The course was heavily wooded and that provided good shade for the round. The fairways were very well defined and the rough was penalizing but not brutal. I am mostly a RHBH player, and the course seemed to set up very well for a RHFH. (Lots or long hard turns to the right) The course was very easy to walk. (no real hills) There are a couple issues with crossing other holes and non disc golf related obstacles that come into play. It was my first time at this course, but I will be back anytime I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just stopping by

1    4/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Very fair yet punitive to drives that stray from the fairway. You will use just about every disc in the bag for this one: Hyzer, Anhyzer, Low Ceiling, High Shots, Skips, Rollers etc.
Cons: Bugs and nettles in the summer months.
Mud and puddles in the winter months.
A well used hiking trail runs next to some of the holes. On hole #13 there is a softball field that's out of bounds but tell that to the right fielder when you about take his head off with an errant throw. Hole 18 has a children's playground on the right side that comes into play also

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Fun but difficult!

1    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: soccermark93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course was challenging and had a lot of different throws, some long hyzer and anhyzer drives. You get to play in the woods and out. Also they have some creative names for each of the holes....fun course
Cons: Pretty densely wooded. If you play during the spring of summer, you have a good chance of putting multiple discs in the woods and wading through thorns and poison ivy to get to it. This is a course for most experienced players and it was apparent, only two holes under 300 ft, so its not easy to stay on par for younger players.
Other Thoughts: I practice on the open holes a lot, 12,13, and 18 plus the practice net. For all the cons, I would suggest it for most intermediate to good players.

 Not as tough as billed but fun

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 254  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sitting aside from the other activities in this multi-use park, the course allows from some nice secluded golf. Each hole forces at least one gap to be hit and can cause a bit of trouble if you're off. Most fairways were fair enough with the rough causing headaches if you're unfortunate enough to go in there. All but two holes are longer than 300 feet so you'll have no shortage of length except on several of the new sleeves. Most holes have alternate new sleeves (which is where the baskets were when I first played here) that required different shot shapes and distances from the original placements. Each hole has large grippy tee pads and good tee signs showing the original pins/distances. Navigation between holes was not an issue. Paths were worn in the woods making it easy to follow and the next tees were easily visible on the open holes.
Cons: Though nothing major can be done about it but this course is about as flat as they come. The only semblance of elevation I saw was the slight drop off before number 18's basket. Though navigation was easy, multiple times you have to back track to get to the next tee. After completing number 12 you have to walk back over half the distance of number 13 just to get to the tee. And its not even a hole worthy of the walk... 475' wide open, no elevation, no danger, no excitement. Number 14's tee is in a dangerous spot as well. Any follow through off the tee will result in dangerous footing into a creek bed where a twisted/broken ankle is awaiting. Not sure where the supposed water was to come into play but it was absent. The course description says, "Creek in play on 6 holes," but it must mean you go stand near it and tee off away from it. Also, I thought number 17 was a very dumb hole. Half of the view off the tee was blocked by one tree creating a boring tweener hole near the end of the round.

I'll allow for some time for this to get fixed but with all of the new pin placements, all but number one's tee signs are obsolete. None of the signs indicated where the baskets were nor their distances. This was rather bothersome in the woods with blind shots on longer holes.
Other Thoughts: I guess I was there with the layout in virtually of the new pin placements. Since it was my first impression of the course, it was nice to see multiple sleeves but I didn't get the feel of playing the original course. This is not a true championship caliber course as was described. I wouldn't consider any of the holes true par fours, maybe one or two were legit par 3+ but that's it. With that being said, this course still provides more of a challenge than several of the other nearby courses in Murray and Benton.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OPEN FOR BUSINESS

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big and tight, easy to navigate, and lots of variation. This is a challenging and fun course. Cant wait to play again!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It's dry enough to play after the flood. Hopefully it will get a cut soon. Lots of mosquitoes and ticks.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So...is that water casual?

2-4    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots required, including a couple air-it-out drives. Good use of elevation changes.
Cons: 2-3 throw and pray kind of holes. I'm all for challenging tee shots, but I'd like to have a little more than 5 feet width for a route.

The course has been flooded both of the last two times I've played it (two years separating the occasions.). This last time, many of the fairways were ankle-deep or deeper. Which makes the tight shots excruciating.
Other Thoughts: A couple swings with a chainsaw and a few drainage canals and this course would hop to a 4/5.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Passing Through

1    8/11/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: topflight
Played: 93  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great,identifiable fairways. Multiple flight paths. Good use of terrain, but wish the river/ creek could come into play more. Easy to follow.
Cons: Very mushy, slighty overgrown in mid-August. Several holes were just there. The two that ran along the road seemed just thrown in, maybe there was no other land option,but doubt it.
Other Thoughts: Fun for the most part. 3-4 holes had challenge. Strong recreation player should shoot 54 or better.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.