Paducah, KY 
Paducah DGC Share
Uploaded By: tdortch Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great technical course

1    8/16/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: astrowolf67
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: Very technical course in a beautiful park. Lots of different styles all on the same course, from dog legs, straight wide open holes, to heavily wooded. It's all here.
Cons: Areas of the course tend to hold water quite well. Due to the ice storm, there is a lot of debris still lining some of the fairways, and in sections, a badly thrown disc can take a while to locate.
Other Thoughts: The local guys have done a fantastic job of keeping this course playable considering the damage suffered during the ice storm.

 

1    1/2/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Makes you use a variety of shots. Excellent signs. Almost every hole was something different. Many holes play along a big creek, but it shouldn't be a factor...

If you are in this area you should play it when it heals.
Cons: Wet and muddy fairways on some holes when I played it.

Looks like it is now currently unplayable due to the downed trees.
Other Thoughts: I was glad I got to play it before the awful ice storm. I hope the local DGers and the park can get this course back after the ice damage!!!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Woodchoppers Ball

5+    1/11/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long concrete tee boxes and Innova Disccatcher baskets are a good start. Add some tight holes in heavily wooded areas and you have the makings for a great course. Hole #8 is a dogleg right out at 40 feet and the fairway is only 15 feet wide. Hole 16 is called pinball and there is only a 3 foot wide path straight through to the pin. The kiosk , tee signs and the flow from one hole to the next make this course very easy to follow.
Restuarants and hotels are 5 minutes away and a mall where you can drop the misses off. Only takes 1 hour and 15 minutes to traverse the 18 holes at a brisk walk.
Cons: Bugs and nettles in the summer months.
Mud and puddles in the winter months.
Porta-Potties smell funny.(not in a HA HA way). A well used hiking trail runs next to some of the holes. On hole #13 there is a softball field that's out of bounds but tell that to the right fielder when you about take his head off with an errant throw. Hole 18 has a children's playground on the right side that comes into play also.
Other Thoughts: Some very easy holes and some very hard holes. Some true par 4's and some very true par 3's. If you are close to Paducah, Ky. stop by for a round or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Improvement

2-4    1/2/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: brattenj
Played: 286  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and wooded holes. Very fair yet punitive to drives that stray from the fairway. You will use just about every disc in the bag for this one: Hyzer, Anhyzer, Low Ceiling, High Shots, Skips, Rollers etc.
Cons: Some of the course seemed to be in a flood plain or maybe they had just received a bunch of rain, but the terrain was pretty soggy in some spots.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when it first opened and now have played it almost 3 years later. It amazes me how holes that are new and have "no fairway" are opened up by people playing them and become great holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: jdizzle3id
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Definitely what I would consider a championship course. It forces you to try new shots and approaches. The people were really friendly. There are actually have score cards and pencils at the course. The par fours and fives are actually par fours and fives.
Cons: Rediculously difficult for my skill level. I didn't use the free score card and pencil because then there would have been a record of how horrible I had done.
Other Thoughts: I'm really glad I made the trip from Eddyville, IL. It was certainly worth it. When I was at the course there was no water or mosquitos.(It may have just been a dry time of the year though)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course. Challenging and rewarding

5+    5/6/2008   5/7/2008
Review By: tdortch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATE Sept 18, 2010** The parks dept spent a ton of money removing all the debris from the ice storm. They also redid the land @ hole 5 to eliminate the standing water there. We have our fairways and off-the-fairway areas back! Even some areas that weren't affected are cleaner now and there is much less of a chance of losing discs. Big improvement! We also have bridges to deal with the water, although there has not been any this summer. Peabody also did a ton of work on 16 (Thanks dude!). The course is looking great now!**
This course has a lot of variety to it. There are some tees that allow big arms to rip on and some that require placement over power. The front 9 has the most technical holes on it, with fewer open areas to throw long drives. The back 9 has more of your power shots, but both 9's have a nice mix of both. Lots of trees to carve around. Open fairways go into the woods. Wooded tee boxes go into open fairways. And half of the holes (#'s 1 - 3, #6 - 8, #14 - 16) stay in the woods entirely and most of those have tight fairways with no room for error. Lefty's will have a nice time as the course favors LH throwers. I've been playing this course now for almost a year and still like it.
Cons: As the other guys have said, water will stick around on #3, #5 and #8 for a while. Part of that, though, was that it was winter and the ground was hard enough to keep it. The other part was that we had huge amounts of rain there for a while. That water won't stick around when it's 90 degrees nearly as long. Also have a lot of 'skeeters and ticks, so wear bug spray.
Other Thoughts: If you're passing through, it's worth the time to stop and play. If nothing else, you'll have the chance at hitting some softball players. You can get in a round in about an hour and a half at the most.

*update* The ice storm took some of the trees out and changed a lot of the shots that were there. For example, Hole #7 used to have a nice high route you could take, but the trees are all sagging down in the fairway now, so you have to stay low. Other than things like that, some new holes opened up as well. Our local club has been working on cleaning up and removing what we can, and I think the course looks pretty good considering. Also, the Boy Scouts are going to build us some bridges over some of the kinda steep hills that get really slippery.

Lastly, Atomic City Disc Club (the local club) will be putting in some alternate pins whenever we quit fighting over where to put them! Our forum: www.wkdgc.webs.com

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

3/13/2008   3/20/2008
Review By: darnella
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course has what you want to challange all your skills tight woods a few open holes doglegs everything but water hazards always good friendly people to play with
Cons: can hold water on 3 holes after a hard rain for a couple of days but has never stopped me from playing
Other Thoughts: wish i had more time off to play but can always sneek by forat least nine everyday at lunch..stop by play the course and you will see it is one of the better courses in the tri state area

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A must play if you are in the Area

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: wdb4th
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mixture of long and short holes and open and wooded holes.
Cons: When it rains it is wet... but that is the same for everywhere. The water just hangs around a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: My solution to the water thing is... through over it... not in it

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

3/10/2007   3/10/2008
Review By: hiswill
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lot's of challenge for both long arms and short arms. Best layout - easy to find tees from last basket played.
Seating/Pavillion between practice basket and hole 1
Cons: Can get mucky and buggy.
Other Thoughts: If you're traveling through St. Louis to Nashville this is a must stop.
Hooper's Outdoor Center sells discs.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in the West (KY)

5+    8/9/2010   3/6/2008
Review By: johnogorrell
Played: 67  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of length of holes, as well as a good mix of open holes with the wooded, technical holes. The course flows well.
This course just had a lot of work done to clean it up, and looks better then it has since it was put in over 3 years ago.
The signage is a great help.
Cons: The course par is a little bit messed up. There are only about 4 legitiment par 4s (4, 8, 10, 14).
I agree that there are a few throw away holes where you are simply throwing discs is open fields, but those holes are few.
Other Thoughts: If you end up off of the fairways it can be a difficult to save par, but I don't see this as a "con," but as and added challenge. That being said I do not see this as a great course for "beginners." Personally I think this is one of better courses in West KY (outside of the Bowling Green area). If you find yourself near Paducah/KY Lake area you should definately stop by. The local club is growing and on the verge of becoming something great.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.