Mulvane, KS 
Alan John Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #3 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Love this 9 holer

5+    3/15/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: This is a well kept course with good tee pads and decent signs. There are a few bridges to help you cross the creek.
This course has enough trees to keep you on your toes and challenge your throws.
There are other amenities here like a basketball court, volleyball pit, etc.
This course has ACE run potential on a couple of holes and it has a good mix of challenging holes too, but not so challenging that they are frustrating.
You can play multiple rounds here in a decent amount of time.
Hole observations:
1-Straight shot with a drainage ditch on the left side of the fairway.
2-Short with a low ceiling. The creek is behind the basket.
3-Plays L to R with the basket next to the creek.
4-Straight shot with a low ceiling.
5-Straight shot with a low ceiling.
6-Plays L to R crossing the creek with a protected pin. This is a nice challenging hole.
7-Throws next to the creek with a low ceiling mid fairway.
8-Throws across the creek, basket by some pine trees.
9-Plays L to R with a low ceiling.
Cons: 1's tee sign has a hole in it and 6's tee sign is bent sideways. Also 8's tee sign is gone.
You might have to do some back tracking to cross the creek if the water level is up.
There is a walking path that comes into play on 8 and 9 so be aware.
The pine trees on 8 will leave your disc sappy.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you shape your shots in order to score well. More experienced players can get by with a fairway driver or a mid range disc to work on that part of their game.
It is a good park style course that is a fun play.
In my opinion its the best 9 holer in the area.
I like to play this course multiple times, as a tune up, before heading up to Stone Creek in Derby. If you are in the area then give this course a play I think you will find something here to interest you.

 nice course

2-4    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: bodine1991
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: very nice course, im new to disc golf i enjoyed this course,easy to follow. watch out on hole 8 i had trouble the 2 times i golfed here, creek is in play and the beautiful pine trees on the right like to catch disc, shoot low on this hole.
Cons: lots of braches and debrie scattered over course left over from heavy t-storms, hole 5 tee is a little far from 4 but once you know where it is no problem.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoy coming here since i'm new at this, theres no tall grass, i find it challenging enough but not to discourging.this is a excellent course to practice your game

 Not a bad little nine holer

2-4    6/22/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner to intermediate level course in well manicured park. Has all the proper signage that it needs. Decent amount of water threat for the demographic with three holes that straddle the park's small creek and two others that threaten it. Has a good lefty-righty balance. For its short length, demands some precision off the tee pads.
Cons: Probably will be underwhelming for advanced players. Pros will have a birdie fest here. Longest hole is only 315'. Multiuse park and all of the problems that would likely come with that, (although any time I've been here I was the only one there). Not much space in the way of parking.
Other Thoughts: I've seen plenty of garden variety small town 9 holers. This is amongst one of the better ones around. If you're finding the established layout a bit too vanilla, and the park isn't otherwise occupied, some good safari holes can be made. Not a must play, but relaxing and fun, and perhaps a good course to get that elusive ace on. Just a few blocks off K-15. You can see the park from the highway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mulvane, Ks

2-4    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Placed in a nice well kept park. Easy course to follow as very tee has a sign with number, distance, next tee and direction. The main park sign has a birds eye view of the course with all the tees and baskets labled on it. Tees are concrete. The course plays along a creek which comes in to play on 5 of the holes.
Cons: The bridges over the creek come in to play on holes 2, 6, and 7.
The creek is very nasty, smells like crap and very dirty water. It is not deep (1 to 2 ft only) but very had to see a disc if it goes in. There were three disc lost in it when we were there. My buddy lost his after it it a tree on hole 6 and rolled in the creek. And two younger kids lost on on hole 3 and 7.
Other Thoughts: Besides the creek its a really nice course. Nothing real long or real short.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: smitcraft
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course.

The course offers you several shot off the tee. I love to go here and practice my putter and Buzzz game.

Normally mowed and not very busy.

Cons: Pretty short, and when we play league there once in a while, most people pick the Hyzer line.
Other Thoughts: Very fun and relaxing place to play and practice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/12/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: Basilikos
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Well kept/Manicured
+ Tees and Holes are easy to find
+ Trees and Stream provide great obstacles
Cons: - Very short
- Not much variety (every hole is pretty much the same)
Other Thoughts: It's a very nice course that is great for practice of just some simple fun. Nothing complicated will bog you down, but conversely, nothing will push you to play harder.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: Cornnuts
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee signs
Visible holes
Grass and trees trimmed
Cons: Course could be longer
Only nine holes
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a new Disc Golfer. This course is easy to follow and isn't to difficult due to its length.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun time

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: nathanburrows
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads. easily visible tees.
Cons: Lots of trees in places. Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of curved shots.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean, manicure and short

7/3/2008   7/3/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good design
-Cement tees
-Signs
-Creek hazard often in play
-No looking for discs, no rough
-Well mowed and clean
-Technical
Cons: -9 Holes
-Not very long
-Mostly straight, not many doglegs

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.