Alma, AR 
Alma Flying Disc Course Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #4
3 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
 A for Alma, B for Big Brush Back Nine

1    6/14/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: Lsayger
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Variety in kinds of shots(wooded and open)
-Easy to navigate (once you have started)
-Concrete pads, decent signage.
-Pretty setting
- Regular but not excessive change in elevation
Cons: -Three holes(currently 12, 14, and 17, though marked differently from the map on this website) have you throw directly across or down the walking trail used by the city. On a busy day, these could be frustrating.
-Short holes (a pro could likely birdie half if not more of this course 1st try)
-Bluffs on front 9 are tall enough to be dangerous.
-Evidence indicates that on 3 holes(6,7,8) the fairway gets very soppy when wet
Other Thoughts: Today was my first day to place this course. In spite of the lack of maps at the entrance or anywhere, the course is easy (almost mind-numbingly) to follow through most but the last few holes. It would be nice to have a notice of where to start on site. There are no maps anywhere onsite. The only signage issues were that 7's tee sign was gone and 13's was leaned up against a tree.
There are few places to sit and no trash cans except near the parking area. Along the lake there was trash, (fishing type trash) but mostly clean course otherwise. The front nine were mowed when I went, but terrain on the back nine would only allow for weed eating. On 10-18 tall weeds/grass would welcome dumb throws (of which I did three) that land where there could be a fairway , but only once did I land in evil looking vines. Otherwise just grass. Around the concrete tees (10's tee is a parking space) and the baskets were always clear. The course implies that you take trails from tee to basket in many cases. The trails are well kept.
Though a novice of novices, I parred over half the course, which goes to say as a whole, the holes were too short.
The current map(6/14/16) on this site needs to be updated, as it looks likes there has been renumbering on holes 10-18. I enjoyed playing this course and since it wasn't much of a detour, would probably play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be an amazing course, if it was playable

1    6/3/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: callsignraven
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great looking course. Amazing use of elevation. Beautiful views. Make sure you bring bug spray and wear pants/long socks
Cons: Completely overgrown with some fairways having grass coming up to your knees. Several of the holes are completely covered in poison ivy and poison oak. The elevation makes for awesome disc golf, but it makes for a strenuous trek. Make sure you have the right shoes for the occasion.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I attempted to play this course today (6-3-16) and had to give up. Due to google leading us to the wrong entrance we started at hole 6. Here is the breakdown of the holes we were able to play until we got so fed up we left.

Hole 6: Interesting hole with elevation. I have not played on too many courses with elevation, so this was a nice change for me. The fairway on this hole came up to about mid shin

Hole 7: Cool shot from the top of a hill down to a lower basket. The grass on this hole came to above the knee and this fairway had water that came up to our ankles.

Hole 8: Cool blind shot over a hill. The fairway on this hole was fairly well mowed, but both the fairway and "the rough" was completely overgrown with poison oak

Hole 9: pretty straightforward hole. Also completely overgrown with poison oak

Hole 10: This is where we quit. Slightly elevated shot with several trees to aim around. All of the "fairway" here was mid-shin and just full of poison oak again.

I will try this course again closer to this winter as I have family in the area, but I will not try again until then. If you are traveling through the area I would suggest you try ben garen park in fort smith, or the greenwood course instead of this one.

If you are traveling through the area on I-40 via road trip waiting the extra hour to hit old post park in russellville arkansas might be better, or waiting the hour and a half to try beaverfork in conway might be a more exciting time.

If the course conditions clear up I think this course would be a great stop, but I just can't suggest it in its current condition


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Really Unique

1    11/26/2014   2/1/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Amazing Land. Pretty awesome course. It is nice to have holes where you have to throw as hard as possible then holes that are more technical.
Cons: The downside is if you go off the cliff with a throw. You pretty much have to just leave your disc until later when the holes come back at the bottom of the cliff. The teepads and signage aren't great, but I was playing with family who lived in the area, so I didn't get lost.
Other Thoughts: If given the proper upgrades, it could be an outstanding course, but still is really good as is. If you are just passing through, it should be high on the list to play.

Great course design

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: joshua323
Played: 123  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevations were awesome. Views were just as good. The background of the lake made it a beautiful walk.
Cons: Grass was extremely high, poison ivy and oak on almost every hole on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play it again after it has been mowed and sprayed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Really Fun

1    7/26/2011   12/28/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 65  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was awesome! The Discatcher baskets were in great condition. Lots (and i mean lots!) of elevation change added for a real challenge in the front 9. Tons of trees and tight technical shots in the back 9 made the course basically two 9 hole courses with different challenges. Easy to navigate. Really a beautiful lake to look at on the back 9. Nice signs. Easy to find course right off the interstate. Hole 5 was one of my favorites: throw right off the cliff down some 100 feet below. Awesome!!
Cons: The big huge bluff that the first five holes play on could be somewhat dangerous. The tee pads were rubber and small and really didnt help me with my tee shot at all. Lots of trash on the back nine as it is not very well kept. Saw the biggest damn snake ever! It scared the crap out of me so be on watch. The heat in the summertime can be unbearable.
Other Thoughts: This course really adds a challenge and brings every single shot you might have out into play. If you are driving by, you should play this course. Its really fun and it is really amazing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course Has Been Altered

1    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Big_Al
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dramatic elevation changes in the first 9.
Cons: Holes 12 thru 17 are non existent at this time as the park is undergoing a new multi use pathway. Tee pads are more of a trip hazard at this time.
Other Thoughts: I would love to see concrete pads, signage upgrade and benches replaced that have rotted out. This could return to a 4/5 star course if these improvements are made by the city.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/31/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Zfreeman43
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great scenery, nice layout and challenging
Cons: standing water around #7, trash everywhere on the back 9, not maintained, the rubber tee pads might as well have just been dirt they were not big enough for anything
Other Thoughts: Lake is a great mind relaxer and was calm when I went, if it was taken better care of it could be a great course

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I played!

1    10/31/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice scenery, good wide open front 9 with elevation and nice views of the Lake.
Cons: Needs better tee pads, and some maintenance. I would suggest 1-2 holes that are longer than 500 feet. Very short course, especially the back 9. Some spots with standing water.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed it, would go back. Hope they try to improve it a little bit.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most Balanced Front & Back 9 I've ever Played!

1    7/31/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would never have guessed that one of the best courses on my 14-state road trip across the country would have landed me in Alma, AR, but it sure did! What an incredible piece of disc golf land in the heart of Ozark Country.

- Front nine plays on a giant hillside that is actually a giant depression. It's kind of hard to describe it, but think of a big plateau that is on top of another plateau that's shaped like a horseshoe. The hill is rather steep, and errant throws on holes 2,3, and 4 will be punished by going off the giant hillside and rolling, rolling, rolling away. The rest of the front nine consists of throws that test your power, as they're mostly wide open throws of considerable distance to the baskets (some exceeding 400 and 500 feet).

- The front nine ends by the entrance, so if you're pressed for time or more inclined to open, big-arm throws, you can stop here.

- The back nine is a COMPLETELY different experience. For as open and long as the holes are on the front nine, the back nine is a technical thrower's dream, as the holes play in incredibly thick and wooded holes--many of which with a big beautiful lake in play. The hole lengths here are quite short, but laser accuracy is needed to par these holes.

- As I said, holes 9-13 and 16 have water in play, and #12 in particular really serves as a water hazard as the tee is adjacent to the water's edge and you have to throw an accurate throw to the basket (also by the water's edge). Put too much hyzer on it and it's in the drink!

- Hole #16 uses a mando and the lake is also in play.

So to recap, the pros are:
1.) Extreme elevation change (especially between front and back nine)
2.) Long bomb throws vs. super duper technical wooded holes
3.) Water hazards
4.) Large array of anny/hyzer doglegs
5.) 18 holes, many of which top 350 feet on the front nine

What more could you ask for?
Cons: - Coordinates on this site put you by hole #5 instead of hole #1 and you have to climb the steep hill to get to the coordinates. Keep this in mind if you're making the trek to play here.

- Bring hiking shoes because you're gonna need them on holes 3 to 7 due to the steep terrain and 9-18 due to the fact that the fairways are lined with tons of rocks.

- Back 9 holes are way too short despite the fact that they are difficult. It would be nice to see at least half of the back nine holes exceed 250 feet or more.
Other Thoughts: This certainly isn't the best course I've ever played, but it's one of the most balanced in terms of shots, terrain, elevation, and hazards available. The dichotomy between the front and back nine will please any disc golfer, and the challenge of the course will keep you coming back.

There's a sweet waterpark literally right next to the course. I played this course in the early evening and temperatures were still easily in the upper 90s with some of the most unbearable humidity I've ever experienced. If this is typical of an Arkansas summer, I suggest taking a splash at the waterpark after a round like I did :)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/21/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has every kind of hole you could think of except tricky water; very beautiful scenery; good work out: it feels like you've gone hiking at times rather than disc golfing; pretty easy to navigate; the fifth hole was my favorite: it's 325 or so and the tee is on top of a bluff and the hole is below.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty terrible: it definitely affected my drive except on the random holes where someone had thankfully taken the rubber pad away; some of the baskets don't have the hole number; the grounds could be better maintained.
Other Thoughts: This is a very hard course and I would not play it if you're in a bad mood cause you very well might have to go on a ten minute hike for some of your bad drives.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.