Alma, AR 
Alma Flying Disc Course Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #14
3 / 150ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Really Fun

1    7/26/2011   12/28/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was awesome! The Discatcher baskets were in great condition. Lots (and i mean lots!) of elevation change added for a real challenge in the front 9. Tons of trees and tight technical shots in the back 9 made the course basically two 9 hole courses with different challenges. Easy to navigate. Really a beautiful lake to look at on the back 9. Nice signs. Easy to find course right off the interstate. Hole 5 was one of my favorites: throw right off the cliff down some 100 feet below. Awesome!!
Cons: The big huge bluff that the first five holes play on could be somewhat dangerous. The tee pads were rubber and small and really didnt help me with my tee shot at all. Lots of trash on the back nine as it is not very well kept. Saw the biggest damn snake ever! It scared the crap out of me so be on watch. The heat in the summertime can be unbearable.
Other Thoughts: This course really adds a challenge and brings every single shot you might have out into play. If you are driving by, you should play this course. Its really fun and it is really amazing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Most Balanced Front & Back 9 I've ever Played!

1    7/31/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would never have guessed that one of the best courses on my 14-state road trip across the country would have landed me in Alma, AR, but it sure did! What an incredible piece of disc golf land in the heart of Ozark Country.

- Front nine plays on a giant hillside that is actually a giant depression. It's kind of hard to describe it, but think of a big plateau that is on top of another plateau that's shaped like a horseshoe. The hill is rather steep, and errant throws on holes 2,3, and 4 will be punished by going off the giant hillside and rolling, rolling, rolling away. The rest of the front nine consists of throws that test your power, as they're mostly wide open throws of considerable distance to the baskets (some exceeding 400 and 500 feet).

- The front nine ends by the entrance, so if you're pressed for time or more inclined to open, big-arm throws, you can stop here.

- The back nine is a COMPLETELY different experience. For as open and long as the holes are on the front nine, the back nine is a technical thrower's dream, as the holes play in incredibly thick and wooded holes--many of which with a big beautiful lake in play. The hole lengths here are quite short, but laser accuracy is needed to par these holes.

- As I said, holes 9-13 and 16 have water in play, and #12 in particular really serves as a water hazard as the tee is adjacent to the water's edge and you have to throw an accurate throw to the basket (also by the water's edge). Put too much hyzer on it and it's in the drink!

- Hole #16 uses a mando and the lake is also in play.

So to recap, the pros are:
1.) Extreme elevation change (especially between front and back nine)
2.) Long bomb throws vs. super duper technical wooded holes
3.) Water hazards
4.) Large array of anny/hyzer doglegs
5.) 18 holes, many of which top 350 feet on the front nine

What more could you ask for?
Cons: - Coordinates on this site put you by hole #5 instead of hole #1 and you have to climb the steep hill to get to the coordinates. Keep this in mind if you're making the trek to play here.

- Bring hiking shoes because you're gonna need them on holes 3 to 7 due to the steep terrain and 9-18 due to the fact that the fairways are lined with tons of rocks.

- Back 9 holes are way too short despite the fact that they are difficult. It would be nice to see at least half of the back nine holes exceed 250 feet or more.
Other Thoughts: This certainly isn't the best course I've ever played, but it's one of the most balanced in terms of shots, terrain, elevation, and hazards available. The dichotomy between the front and back nine will please any disc golfer, and the challenge of the course will keep you coming back.

There's a sweet waterpark literally right next to the course. I played this course in the early evening and temperatures were still easily in the upper 90s with some of the most unbearable humidity I've ever experienced. If this is typical of an Arkansas summer, I suggest taking a splash at the waterpark after a round like I did :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/20/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: WillG
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played this course many of times being from the Alma area. I played while it was still being built back when hole was an upshot from the lower level parking lot in the park. It has since been a challenging course. They did some more clearing on the hillside which is nice. Like other have said, it has ever shot you could ask for. Some of the holes are short, but they make up for it with trees. It is also a beautiful course visually with the landscape.
Cons: Like most, in the woods the Ivy can be bad and of course the wildlife, snakes among other things (which I have only seen 1 snake here and several at ben Geren..) The rubber tee pads are a pain and can be a hazard due to tripping on them. Of course the tee signs could be better with a picture to show the hole layout.
Other Thoughts: If they would put down some better tee pads, keep it mowed, this course would get 5 stars from me. I will continue playing it regardless. I wouldn't say this is a beginner friendly course at all, but this course will make you a better disc golfer the more you play it.. Oh and good luck lefties on the hillside!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 balanced course

5+    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: kevinj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow,where to start.......this course is the most balanced course i`ve ever played
hilly
flat
cliff side
cliff shot
open
wooded
short
long
short water shot
long water shot

this course brings out every part of a persons game plz play if possible
Cons: ivy snakes and unkept
Other Thoughts: multiple lines on every hole
signature cliff shot

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cliffs and Trees

5+    4/22/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: EvansD
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This may be the best course ever. The first 9 baskets are all about the elevation - 40' sheer-rock cliffs. A lot of satisfaction when you can throw straight off the cliffs and watch the disc arc back toward the basket. The back 9 are all short but sweet - trees everywhere. Great course!
Cons: Poison Ivy! The left edge of hole 1, and the entire back 9 do contain poison ivy. If you are careful about foot placement, you should be fine. But inevitably you will have to pick your disc out of the ivy. Bring hand sanitizer (go non-polar solvents!)
Other Thoughts: Epic hills. Epic Trees. Totally my favorite course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Large and in charge, then quick and hard

1    1/11/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: C-rad22
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First 9 are very wide open and pretty damn long. If you can bomb it, they will come (birdies that is). But some are over 450+ ft.I loved throwing off the cliffs and watching the "s" flight of the disc.

Many good trees on back 9 to hang bag on while shooting. Also, nobody is ever here, as I didn't run into a single person anytime I've played. Good cardio workout!
Cons: The hills are pretty daunting, and can get a bit tiring walking up, but worth it once your on top. Watch hole #1. It is not as far as it looks, as I threw it past about 100 ft off the other side of the cliff and had to walk a long damn way to get the disc. The back nine were
pretty bad ass once you can locate tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Just passing through, and I thought it was a pretty good course. I would come back if I was in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  laredojeep2006

1    11/20/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: laredojeep2006
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course shooting along the cliffs,off the cliffs,wooded area is very challenging.The lake is very beautiful.
Cons: Some of the holes was hard to find. Had to walk around a minute or two to find the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was a very nice course. I will play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I designed this course,I knew the scenery and variations of landscape would make for every shot you had and then some.
Cons: My approach to Mayor Ballentine was this.If you install it you need to maintain it.Call the Mayors office if you see it not mowed or maintained.
Other Thoughts: Alma is a great facility,The pools are open in the summer and it's a great place to relax for a day or weekend.New rest rooms are now in the main parking lot area.I'll work on the Mayor for better T Pads.It's overdue.Better signs will be addressed as well.Tom Pitchford Jr.tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for any new course designs and if you have anything you'd like to fill me in on.Thanks.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.