Alma, AR 
Alma Flying Disc Course Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #11
3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    10/20/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: WillG
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played this course many of times being from the Alma area. I played while it was still being built back when hole was an upshot from the lower level parking lot in the park. It has since been a challenging course. They did some more clearing on the hillside which is nice. Like other have said, it has ever shot you could ask for. Some of the holes are short, but they make up for it with trees. It is also a beautiful course visually with the landscape.
Cons: Like most, in the woods the Ivy can be bad and of course the wildlife, snakes among other things (which I have only seen 1 snake here and several at ben Geren..) The rubber tee pads are a pain and can be a hazard due to tripping on them. Of course the tee signs could be better with a picture to show the hole layout.
Other Thoughts: If they would put down some better tee pads, keep it mowed, this course would get 5 stars from me. I will continue playing it regardless. I wouldn't say this is a beginner friendly course at all, but this course will make you a better disc golfer the more you play it.. Oh and good luck lefties on the hillside!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 balanced course

5+    10/23/2010   10/23/2010
Review By: kevinj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow,where to start.......this course is the most balanced course i`ve ever played
hilly
flat
cliff side
cliff shot
open
wooded
short
long
short water shot
long water shot

this course brings out every part of a persons game plz play if possible
Cons: ivy snakes and unkept
Other Thoughts: multiple lines on every hole
signature cliff shot

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First Take On Alma

1    6/20/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a wild course tons of fun. The front nine are wide open. You even get to drive off a cliff. The hole course is very well layed out for the use of there space. The back nine is tight Quaters lots of trees. The baskets are well guarded. Nice mix of long holes on the front nine and short holes on the back nine. Over all it is a hard course to shoot very technical course. Personally I loved it all.
Cons: The only cons on this course that I found is that the tee pads on the front nine are short so it is kinda awkward, and the back nine is got some lose rock on the tee pads so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course I loved the whole thing i wish i could play there more often. If you need more information get on NWADGC.com

BE A POSITIVE REVIEWER :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cliffs and Trees

5+    4/22/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: EvansD
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/28/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This may be the best course ever. The first 9 baskets are all about the elevation - 40' sheer-rock cliffs. A lot of satisfaction when you can throw straight off the cliffs and watch the disc arc back toward the basket. The back 9 are all short but sweet - trees everywhere. Great course!
Cons: Poison Ivy! The left edge of hole 1, and the entire back 9 do contain poison ivy. If you are careful about foot placement, you should be fine. But inevitably you will have to pick your disc out of the ivy. Bring hand sanitizer (go non-polar solvents!)
Other Thoughts: Epic hills. Epic Trees. Totally my favorite course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Large and in charge, then quick and hard

1    1/11/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: C-rad22
Played: 84  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First 9 are very wide open and pretty damn long. If you can bomb it, they will come (birdies that is). But some are over 450+ ft.I loved throwing off the cliffs and watching the "s" flight of the disc.

Many good trees on back 9 to hang bag on while shooting. Also, nobody is ever here, as I didn't run into a single person anytime I've played. Good cardio workout!
Cons: The hills are pretty daunting, and can get a bit tiring walking up, but worth it once your on top. Watch hole #1. It is not as far as it looks, as I threw it past about 100 ft off the other side of the cliff and had to walk a long damn way to get the disc. The back nine were
pretty bad ass once you can locate tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Just passing through, and I thought it was a pretty good course. I would come back if I was in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course, Lots of Trash

1    11/23/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 180  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 22.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes, Some cool holes where you are required to through a hyzer out over a cliff edge and have it come back to safety. OK design. If I lived here I'd play this course.
Cons: Front holes are all very similar. I am also not a big fan of holes that have no obstacles and just have a basket sitting in an open field. This is typical of many of the front 9 holes. Also the back is full of blair which style holes. LOTS OF TRASH ALL OVER THE PLACE.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through this one may be worth a look.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  laredojeep2006

1    11/20/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: laredojeep2006
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course shooting along the cliffs,off the cliffs,wooded area is very challenging.The lake is very beautiful.
Cons: Some of the holes was hard to find. Had to walk around a minute or two to find the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was a very nice course. I will play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Mayo
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety, Elevation, Scenery, Lots of OB
Cons: Poor Teepads, Some of the wooded shots are a little short and ridiculous, Occasionally not properly maintained
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course. Would do well with decent teepads and more course maintenance.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I designed this course,I knew the scenery and variations of landscape would make for every shot you had and then some.
Cons: My approach to Mayor Ballentine was this.If you install it you need to maintain it.Call the Mayors office if you see it not mowed or maintained.
Other Thoughts: Alma is a great facility,The pools are open in the summer and it's a great place to relax for a day or weekend.New rest rooms are now in the main parking lot area.I'll work on the Mayor for better T Pads.It's overdue.Better signs will be addressed as well.Tom Pitchford Jr.tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for any new course designs and if you have anything you'd like to fill me in on.Thanks.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Alma, AR

2-4    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 20.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course with a lot of different type of shots. The front 9 are open and longer and the back 9 are short but very wooded. The lake and area are great.
Cons: The front 9 tees are of rubber with a lot of grass over growing them. The back 9 are dirt/rock.
Other Thoughts: a good course, The front 9 and back 9 can be played as two different courses if you don't have time for the hole course. Both 1 adn 10 start at the parking lot and both 9 and 18 end at the parkign lot.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.