Alma, AR 
Alma Flying Disc Course Share
Uploaded By: ixcptmorganxi Hole #10
3 / 175ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Large and in charge, then quick and hard

1    1/11/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: C-rad22
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First 9 are very wide open and pretty damn long. If you can bomb it, they will come (birdies that is). But some are over 450+ ft.I loved throwing off the cliffs and watching the "s" flight of the disc.

Many good trees on back 9 to hang bag on while shooting. Also, nobody is ever here, as I didn't run into a single person anytime I've played. Good cardio workout!
Cons: The hills are pretty daunting, and can get a bit tiring walking up, but worth it once your on top. Watch hole #1. It is not as far as it looks, as I threw it past about 100 ft off the other side of the cliff and had to walk a long damn way to get the disc. The back nine were
pretty bad ass once you can locate tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Just passing through, and I thought it was a pretty good course. I would come back if I was in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course, Lots of Trash

1    11/23/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes, Some cool holes where you are required to through a hyzer out over a cliff edge and have it come back to safety. OK design. If I lived here I'd play this course.
Cons: Front holes are all very similar. I am also not a big fan of holes that have no obstacles and just have a basket sitting in an open field. This is typical of many of the front 9 holes. Also the back is full of blair which style holes. LOTS OF TRASH ALL OVER THE PLACE.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through this one may be worth a look.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  laredojeep2006

1    11/20/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: laredojeep2006
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course shooting along the cliffs,off the cliffs,wooded area is very challenging.The lake is very beautiful.
Cons: Some of the holes was hard to find. Had to walk around a minute or two to find the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was a very nice course. I will play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Mayo
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2009
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety, Elevation, Scenery, Lots of OB
Cons: Poor Teepads, Some of the wooded shots are a little short and ridiculous, Occasionally not properly maintained
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course. Would do well with decent teepads and more course maintenance.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I designed this course,I knew the scenery and variations of landscape would make for every shot you had and then some.
Cons: My approach to Mayor Ballentine was this.If you install it you need to maintain it.Call the Mayors office if you see it not mowed or maintained.
Other Thoughts: Alma is a great facility,The pools are open in the summer and it's a great place to relax for a day or weekend.New rest rooms are now in the main parking lot area.I'll work on the Mayor for better T Pads.It's overdue.Better signs will be addressed as well.Tom Pitchford Jr.tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com for any new course designs and if you have anything you'd like to fill me in on.Thanks.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Alma, AR

2-4    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course with a lot of different type of shots. The front 9 are open and longer and the back 9 are short but very wooded. The lake and area are great.
Cons: The front 9 tees are of rubber with a lot of grass over growing them. The back 9 are dirt/rock.
Other Thoughts: a good course, The front 9 and back 9 can be played as two different courses if you don't have time for the hole course. Both 1 adn 10 start at the parking lot and both 9 and 18 end at the parkign lot.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Different World

8/8/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: ixcptmorganxi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The landscape is gorgeous. The variety of shots coupled with some very unique ones make this course challenging and exciting. One of the most unique courses I have seen, a must play.
Cons: Better signs with an aerial shot of the hole would improve the course a lot. Had to walk a bit to find some of the baskets before I could tee off.
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes aren't the best in the world but they fit in well with the course. Really good course to get in touch with nature. Be very careful with your shots and you shouldn't lose a disc. No real complaints, a spectacular course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun course

12/22/2004   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mixed bag of stuff - you never know what to expect on the next hole!
Wild fun
Easy in and out to I-40
Cons: Easy to lose a disc around some of the dam/water service facilities
Other Thoughts: I played this on a cold December morning. Lost one or two discs here. That said, it was a fun near 18, even if my lower bits and pieces were frozen after we were done. It was more interesting that we had to play around some of the holiday lights (one or two holes were shut down because there were large light fixtures in the tee boxes!) so that made for some added fun. I need to play this one more, especially on fair days when I head up to Fort Smith or Fayetteville for their courses (fantastic warm-up course)!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Back 9 are "Blair WItch Holes"

5/17/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Elevation
Nice obstacles
Very good use of terrain
Awesome scenery
Requires technical accuracy/strategy in the woods
Cons: When I played it wasn't well signed and not super intuitive on some holes
Got a little confusing in the woods and had to walk around and to find baskets on a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course...some of the holes in the woods are the kind you have a love/hate relationship with...very fun...watch out for an unexpected hyzer off the cliff if the wind is bad-it's a WILD drop!
Very uniques course on some of the holes because of the cool terrain--worth the drive to get to...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and beautfiul

1    4/15/2007   5/15/2008
Review By: ZCRogers
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course shooting along cliff, off of cliff, off of dam, along lake, and also some wooded shots. Ace runs all over back 9. (Got my first here.) Nice pavillion and parking and close to the interstate while still feeling private and secluded.
Cons: When I've gone during the summer before, there seems to be long periods where it doesn't get mowed. A few holes hold water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's alot of fun and for myself, worth a 45 minute drive south. Pros and advanced should shoot down in decent conditions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.