Amelia, OH 
Amelia DGC Share
Uploaded By: jammydee Hole #8 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Neighborhood Course

1    4/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: Nader77
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: you can literally play this course five times-the back holes are decent. It has a few different distractions.
Cons: Some of the signs aren't up for direction………….
Other Thoughts: Make sure to look for another course close by to play as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Usually available for a quick 9

5+    3/16/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice quick 9 hole course in a neighborhood park that has half open field shots and half alongside tree lines or through some light woods.
I've only played since September, but have never had traffic here.
Good design for beginners to rec players to go at a par three. Only two of the holes will be real challenges: #3 is a big enough uphill to stretch your arm a bit, and #6 forces a decision if you can't easily throw 300': risk having to trek down into the wetland bowl area between the tee and the basket…, or lay up right…?
Cons: The lack of good signage and the missing #7 tee make for some confusion playing the course as designed. I've occasionally gone 'safari' here, shooting basket to basket, and getting creative.
The mud tee ruts (can't call them tee pads, really) make for hazardous footing on your drives, so it's good there aren't any really long holes.
Other Thoughts: The park has limited amenities (no trash baskets or benches on the course, but you're 5 minutes from a dozen fast food joints (and their restrooms) on Ohio Pike.
Edit: with a little more experience now, I had to realistically lower my rating for Amelia from 2 to 1.5 ('passable').

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    10/21/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: Preacher
Played: 147  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to follow. It flows pretty good. The course appears to be use sparingly. This allows you to play whenever you want. You can play this course quickly. There is a mix of holes and elevation comes into play on six holes. Some of the elevation is slight but still there.
Cons: There is no tee for #7, which is extremely confusing. The map has a tee listed for #7 but it is wrong as I searched for twenty minutes for the non-existent tee.On hole #6 there is a play area to the right, which could come into play. On #7 the picnic area could come into play along with people on the walking path. There are backyards along holes #1 and #2 that might possibly come into play on a really bad shot. For holes 1-5 and 8 and 9 there should be no issues with people getting in the way. The tees are natural but not much of an issue unless it was muddy.
Other Thoughts: It is extremely hard to play here when it is windy. Most of the holes are wide open. You could play some good "Safari" disc golf here if you wanted to do so. I think the course was done reasonably well for the small area that they had to work with. I f you are close by give it a try but do not go out of your way to play here. The course was in good condition. There might be issues with people on a nice warm spring or summer day compared to the cool fall day that I played. There is a Porta-potty in the parking lot but I am unsure if there was water anywhere. I made my own tee for #7, which roughly corresponds to the 180 feet and par 3 for hole #7. The tee for #7 that I played is at the edge of the fenced in area (before you go past it and about ten feet to the left), on your right, as you walk down from #6 back toward the walking path. There is a stone in the ground that I wrote hole #7 on. I will edit the map to reflect this and the update the map along with pictures that I took.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/25/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1142  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: # 6 (or so I was told it was hole # 6) was a neat hole, in which you shot over a flood basin and the basket was on a side of a hill.
Cons: NO TEE SIGNS. wait a second, they do have telephone poles that are about 3 feet out of the ground. But even that they don't have any markings on em, telling this visitor the layout of the hole or what hole I'm playing.
Other Thoughts: Please drive cautiously in this busy little neighborhood. Can buy "Skyline Chilli" in the area, yum yum.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.