Disc Golf Store
Hialeah, FL 
Amelia Earhart Park Share
Uploaded By: Zach-R. Hole #1 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Amelia Earhart Park

5+    10/19/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of shots from open to wooded, rest rooms, some rubber tees. Never a wait to throw behind another group as under used D/G course. Returns to car after hole 7 to refresh water, you will need it.
Cons: Very busy park on weekends and other park users sit or park cars on fairway. Come early. $6.00 per car, no single person discount fee. Garbage picking buzzards/birds & the trash blows all over the park.
Other Thoughts: The wind is almost always a factor. Hurricane Andrew blew away the old layout and care taker, Kevin has done the best he can with limited funds to fix. Still a very fun layout. Featured holes are #16 over the water & elevated baskets on 1a & 18. New signs. New longer basket position for 1-5 adds challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 For such Great potential, worst course ever.

1    8/15/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: Paladin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 37.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Terrain, Lots of Trees, Water, varying elevation, Hole on a tall mound, and Hole on a tree stump. Nice shade.
Cons: The layout is chaos, looks like some one took a handful of pebble and dropped them on a map and the randomly decide which would be tees and whole. I'm a traveler and picked this one nearby, but I was playing alone so no spotters, etc. Navigation is nearly impossible, there were a few Holes or tees I never did find. There were some new signs, but there were also old signs for the same holes that were never removed, one was actually covered by a bush. In many cases the walk from the hole to the next tee is just as long as tee to hole. I could not play this course in order I just played the next one I ran across, sometimes just picking my own spot for tee when I found the hole but no tee box. So no score here since i couldn't finish, and I spent more time searching than playing.
Other Thoughts: So sad the potential for this course is the best I've ever seen, but the layout is terrible.
All tee boxes need to be replaced.
Many signs need to be replaced.
A starting point (Hole 1) needs a Gathering area and clear signage.
Clear Trail markers need to be set down guiding players from tee to hole, hole to tee.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/22/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: ngramly
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good mix of distance holes and technical holes. The majority are influenced by water and/or the road that runs through the park which is OB. A good all around course.
Cons: The tee pads are poorly marked and it is difficult to navigate if you're not familiar with the course (even with a map). Most fairways are more rocks and coral than they are grass so bring your durable plastic.
Other Thoughts: It's the only course in the area (next course to the north is a 25 mile drive away and to the south is about the same) so I find myself playing here when I'm nearby.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water Burial

1    9/10/2008   8/10/2012
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good distance on a few holes. I enjoyed some of the holes with more technical needs too. Water comes in to play on a bunch (RIP Cheetah...oldest disc in my bag...) The mound-top basket and the stump basket are sweet.
Cons: Hard to tell where you are going. Tee pads are terrible. Course is not in great shape all around.
Other Thoughts: I was in Miami for work and was able to take some time to play. It was exactly what I was hoping for. Any decent player should never do worse than par here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course... Needs work

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: MrDiscinox
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Gets a 3 rating for having elevation in South Florida... Truly unique. Otherwise a solid 2 course.
- Fun and challenging.
- Design makes use of interesting terrain, water, elevation, woody and clear areas
- Never more than 3 or 4 groups at one time and usually the course is yours (great for practice!)
Cons: - Expensive. $6 to get in the park. See note below.
- Very poorly marked. Worn paths mark the trail. Some signs. Some baskets have numbers.
- Varied teeing medium... Dirt, rubber, road, etc
- Locals have no idea what you are doing. Yield to all bicyclists, children, parties, etc. I've had to skip holes because people have had a BBQ setup at the basket.
Other Thoughts: Take 4th Ave to the alternate driveway and park in the grass. You can either play from one of the holes nearby (you'll be around #11) or take a short walk to #1. There is a huge driving range here closest to the road.

I don't recommend skipping out on the fee to play! They take pretty good care of the course as far as wood chips and mowing are concerned. Low traffic means low litter as well.

Its a fun course! Well worth it if you live in South Florida. And I come from the Great Disc Golf State, Michigan!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation.... in SoFla??? Sweet

1    10/27/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design 3/5 Some really fun holes that utilize thick trees, water, a predominate wind, and elevation (in south Fl, really weird….) I'd say more holes are open than not, but none are completely devoid of trees. The land available was used in interesting ways to make challenging, enjoyable holes. There are some definite danger issues with other park users, so be aware.

Variety 4 There are lefts and rights, both open and tight. There are many water holes, everything from throwing to a pin right on the edge of a lake, to throwing over the lake, or right along side it. There are holes with water along the left and holes with water along the right. The open holes are made more interesting by both water and the almost guaranteed 15-20 mph winds.

Challenge 3.5 This course is easy to play at par, but difficult to get many birdies without taking some risk. The wooded holes are tight, but all have a defined (albeit sometimes small) fairway. The open holes usually have some added dimension of challenge, such as water or elevation. There weren't any grueling holes

Flow 3 It seems like the challenge steadily increases on this course, which is cool. The lefts and rights are distributed nicely, so is the water placement. None of the holes seem repetitive, and the distance varies enough to keep it interesting. There aren't any ridiculous walkouts, and the next tees seem to be pretty intuitive

Tees 2 There is a mix between rubber mats, asphalt, and grass tees. Some are long and skinny, some are very short. This inconsistency seems to detract a little, but overall, they're better than straight up dirt tees.

Baskets 3.5 I think they're mach III, I'm not completely sure, but they're in decent shape. They have hole number plates for identification, and some have next tee directionals.

Scenery 3.5 The wooded holes give a nice secluded walk through the trees, the water holes offer great views of the lakes (which are surprisingly clear and have a light blue color that almost gives it a lagoon feel), and the little elevation adds a sweet touch not found often in flat south Florida.

Elevation, water, terrain, etc 3.5 Water on at least 10 holes, elevation on 5 or 6, and a combo of both on a couple all make for some fun, unique golf holes for south FL. Now don't get me wrong, there were no "top of the world" elevation changes, everything being under 20' of change, but given how flat the area is, any elevation is novel.

Signature holes 3 While there weren't any life-altering holes, there were several gems. Holes # 10 and 11 were both pretty neat, slight downhill, water holes, and #18 has a sweet elevated pin position, very unique to South Fl.

Risk/Reward 4 Nearly every hole has some degree of risk/reward, with the risk often involving water. Several times during my round I found myself questioning if I could make the required shot, and the penalty if I couldn't, which to me, makes a round exciting.

Amenities, signs, garbage cans, etc (out of 2.5) .5 The only tee signs were hole numbers painted on the tee. There were no garbage cans (except maybe at the beginning/end of the course) and no bathrooms, at least in the vicinity of the course.

Ease of play (out of 2.5) .5 The only navigational aids were pieces of wood hanging off the basket pointing in the general direction of the next tee and on some holes there were stones in the ground with arrows painted in the general direction of the next tee.
Cons: Horrible navigation. If you don't have a guide, print the map provided in the links section for this course.

Some low-lying areas are prone to flooding in even modest rain, which can be a problem given how much it rains, especially in the summer months.

There are many other park users that seem to be oblivious to the dangers of discs at high speeds. From the joggers running the asphalt path that serves as the tee for many holes, to the fisherman that decide the big one is right next to the basket. There were even vehicles park right in landing zones on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised at how unique and fun this course was. While it can be a pain to navigate, and it is a little "rough around the edges", overall I thought the design and challenge made this course well worth a visit.

I really don't think most of the other reviews give this course its due credit, but I had a guide when I played. I could see how not having one, or a map, would be a major downer here. This is not a polished, "professional" course, but what is there is a unique, challenging course with a diverse design requiring a wide range of shots.

Score= 34/ 55= .62 = 3/5

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Another Anal Disc Golfer

5+    5/29/2009   1/29/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is quite a variety to shots required, scoring requires a bit of skill, and the designer has not been afraid to offer some very unique holes.

There are some very pretty looks, the breeze is frequently blowing and it can generally be an enjoyable place to play disc golf once you've been oriented to the layout if you don't mind sending up spotters at certain points.
Cons: Contrary to what the previous two reviewers have said, the signage is poor. Without a guide you will spend a lot of time looking for holes and walking up to find baskets before throwing.

Much of the course looks like a seven year old kid that's never had a haircut and rarely bathes.

The tee pads are inferior.

This is a reasonably good piece of land for a disc golf course, but it's potential is far from being reached.
Other Thoughts: If you were shipwrecked on a deserted island that had this disc golf course, you'd certainly be over-the-moon for its existence.

I've hesitated to review this course due to the fact that each of the five times I've played it, it had been re-designed. In light, however, of the previous two reviews, I felt obligated to speak up for the good of the traveling disc golfer.

If you're in South Florida certainly play Tradewinds (I can't speak for Easterlin) and Indian Hammocks. Unless you're hell-bent on being the first to play 2000 courses, skip this fiasco and go to South Beach and watch beautiful people all day long.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  AMELIA !!!

5+    1/27/2010   1/27/2010
Review By: kermitdfrogisi
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has everything from tight holes in the woods on the front, to open windy holes on the outside, to water holes, lots of birdies possible, yet plenty of pitfalls. Play it as much as you like, but you will not master this course easily. The lakes are crystal clear and beautiful, and this is absolutely my favorite course in South Florida.
Cons: Some people complain that they lose discs in the water, others that there is trash in the park, and I have heard that some cannot find the next pad. There are signs if you look, and you can lose a disc or two, but it is well worth the trip, and a blast to play.
Other Thoughts: If you love the game then there is nothing to not love about this course. It is my home course, but I feel it is awesome.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun & Challenging

5+    6/15/2014   1/8/2010
Review By: mutantseacow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevations, water, wind factors

Myths: Cars blocking fairway - Logs and rock prevent access to all the course except #16

Park Crowded - Mainly up front in winter months, Park is empty in hot months you could play nude.
Cons: a little scrubby
Other Thoughts: This course is far better than described, of the 5 courses in South Florida this one has the most to offer in a variety of ways. Seems it has been rated by people just passing through town. This course is not flat by Florida standards, 9 holes have elevational issues that come into play, some baskets are on small hills bordering water, the lake is crystal clear and disc are EASILY reclaimed unless 40 feet out which means you might have to swim for it, which is refreshing but might be little chilly during our 4 weeks of winter down here. Pads are mixed with rubber fly mart tees and concrete walkways used as well, only 2 pads are natural. The holes are fun and the course is just below average in length, with 2 holes 400+ feet. Hole 18 is atop a 12 foot hill (VERY COOL) and some others 4 feet up on a rock & a stump. I know this course has changed over the years due to hurricanes (2 direct hits in 05) or just in an effort for improvement. T-signs are in, provided by the county. Wind and the direction it is from is a major factor here as you are playing around 2 connecting lakes. Nothing to stop the wind it becomes very steady, best wind course around. Don't believe the poo pooing of this place it is a local favorite. Seems like alot of these photos are out of date and are misleading

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost potential

1    8/14/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: JohnnyLounge21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're hanging out in South Beach and have the itch for Disc Golf, it's not too far a ride away. The course has several nice holes and some great water challenges. There's even one basket that's placed atop a mound that is very interesting and challenging. There is so much potential. . .
Cons: . . . but it's not that nice at all. It's hard to tell where you're going or even where to start, me and my girl just didn't have a clue. Felt like we were wondering around. It's a lousy feeling when all you wanna do is have a nice afternoon disc golfing. Just heartbreaking how nice this course could be. Approaching the park you'd ask someone where the course was and nobody seemed to know. Not even a park ranger we asked. So much potential. . .
Other Thoughts: Water holes are a really nice surprise. Some holes play in a run and you can actually get into a rhythm. If I had a guide, it would be a treat to play this course. But nothing could take away the fact that the grounds in general are pretty unkempt.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center