Hialeah, FL
Amelia Earhart Park Share
Uploaded By: punkfan55  



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Amelia Earhart Park

5+    10/19/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: Peter S
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of shots from open to wooded, rest rooms, some rubber tees. Never a wait to throw behind another group as under used D/G course. Returns to car after hole 7 to refresh water, you will need it.
Cons: Very busy park on weekends and other park users sit or park cars on fairway. Come early. $6.00 per car, no single person discount fee. Garbage picking buzzards/birds & the trash blows all over the park.
Other Thoughts: The wind is almost always a factor. Hurricane Andrew blew away the old layout and care taker, Kevin has done the best he can with limited funds to fix. Still a very fun layout. Featured holes are #16 over the water & elevated baskets on 1a & 18. New signs. New longer basket position for 1-5 adds challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/22/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: ngramly
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good mix of distance holes and technical holes. The majority are influenced by water and/or the road that runs through the park which is OB. A good all around course.
Cons: The tee pads are poorly marked and it is difficult to navigate if you're not familiar with the course (even with a map). Most fairways are more rocks and coral than they are grass so bring your durable plastic.
Other Thoughts: It's the only course in the area (next course to the north is a 25 mile drive away and to the south is about the same) so I find myself playing here when I'm nearby.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course... Needs work

5+    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: MrDiscinox
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Gets a 3 rating for having elevation in South Florida... Truly unique. Otherwise a solid 2 course.
- Fun and challenging.
- Design makes use of interesting terrain, water, elevation, woody and clear areas
- Never more than 3 or 4 groups at one time and usually the course is yours (great for practice!)
Cons: - Expensive. $6 to get in the park. See note below.
- Very poorly marked. Worn paths mark the trail. Some signs. Some baskets have numbers.
- Varied teeing medium... Dirt, rubber, road, etc
- Locals have no idea what you are doing. Yield to all bicyclists, children, parties, etc. I've had to skip holes because people have had a BBQ setup at the basket.
Other Thoughts: Take 4th Ave to the alternate driveway and park in the grass. You can either play from one of the holes nearby (you'll be around #11) or take a short walk to #1. There is a huge driving range here closest to the road.

I don't recommend skipping out on the fee to play! They take pretty good care of the course as far as wood chips and mowing are concerned. Low traffic means low litter as well.

Its a fun course! Well worth it if you live in South Florida. And I come from the Great Disc Golf State, Michigan!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation.... in SoFla??? Sweet

1    10/27/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design 3/5 Some really fun holes that utilize thick trees, water, a predominate wind, and elevation (in south Fl, really weird….) I'd say more holes are open than not, but none are completely devoid of trees. The land available was used in interesting ways to make challenging, enjoyable holes. There are some definite danger issues with other park users, so be aware.

Variety 4 There are lefts and rights, both open and tight. There are many water holes, everything from throwing to a pin right on the edge of a lake, to throwing over the lake, or right along side it. There are holes with water along the left and holes with water along the right. The open holes are made more interesting by both water and the almost guaranteed 15-20 mph winds.

Challenge 3.5 This course is easy to play at par, but difficult to get many birdies without taking some risk. The wooded holes are tight, but all have a defined (albeit sometimes small) fairway. The open holes usually have some added dimension of challenge, such as water or elevation. There weren't any grueling holes

Flow 3 It seems like the challenge steadily increases on this course, which is cool. The lefts and rights are distributed nicely, so is the water placement. None of the holes seem repetitive, and the distance varies enough to keep it interesting. There aren't any ridiculous walkouts, and the next tees seem to be pretty intuitive

Tees 2 There is a mix between rubber mats, asphalt, and grass tees. Some are long and skinny, some are very short. This inconsistency seems to detract a little, but overall, they're better than straight up dirt tees.

Baskets 3.5 I think they're mach III, I'm not completely sure, but they're in decent shape. They have hole number plates for identification, and some have next tee directionals.

Scenery 3.5 The wooded holes give a nice secluded walk through the trees, the water holes offer great views of the lakes (which are surprisingly clear and have a light blue color that almost gives it a lagoon feel), and the little elevation adds a sweet touch not found often in flat south Florida.

Elevation, water, terrain, etc 3.5 Water on at least 10 holes, elevation on 5 or 6, and a combo of both on a couple all make for some fun, unique golf holes for south FL. Now don't get me wrong, there were no "top of the world" elevation changes, everything being under 20' of change, but given how flat the area is, any elevation is novel.

Signature holes 3 While there weren't any life-altering holes, there were several gems. Holes # 10 and 11 were both pretty neat, slight downhill, water holes, and #18 has a sweet elevated pin position, very unique to South Fl.

Risk/Reward 4 Nearly every hole has some degree of risk/reward, with the risk often involving water. Several times during my round I found myself questioning if I could make the required shot, and the penalty if I couldn't, which to me, makes a round exciting.

Amenities, signs, garbage cans, etc (out of 2.5) .5 The only tee signs were hole numbers painted on the tee. There were no garbage cans (except maybe at the beginning/end of the course) and no bathrooms, at least in the vicinity of the course.

Ease of play (out of 2.5) .5 The only navigational aids were pieces of wood hanging off the basket pointing in the general direction of the next tee and on some holes there were stones in the ground with arrows painted in the general direction of the next tee.
Cons: Horrible navigation. If you don't have a guide, print the map provided in the links section for this course.

Some low-lying areas are prone to flooding in even modest rain, which can be a problem given how much it rains, especially in the summer months.

There are many other park users that seem to be oblivious to the dangers of discs at high speeds. From the joggers running the asphalt path that serves as the tee for many holes, to the fisherman that decide the big one is right next to the basket. There were even vehicles park right in landing zones on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised at how unique and fun this course was. While it can be a pain to navigate, and it is a little "rough around the edges", overall I thought the design and challenge made this course well worth a visit.

I really don't think most of the other reviews give this course its due credit, but I had a guide when I played. I could see how not having one, or a map, would be a major downer here. This is not a polished, "professional" course, but what is there is a unique, challenging course with a diverse design requiring a wide range of shots.

Score= 34/ 55= .62 = 3/5

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.