Anderson, CA
Anderson River Park Share
Uploaded By: Josh Fisk Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun In Anderson

1    3/24/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: zofo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had many challenges. Open holes to air it out, trees for precision, and hidden holes that required great approach shots to set you up. This course is very challenging with long drives and ace runs. The locals were very helpful. Got us on track after hole 3...gots to cross the road. They gave us tips on each hole being that it was our first time playing here. Hole number 9 was very interesting as it is a complete "U"! Hole totally blind and mandos making for a fun run. You get into the trees from there on some pull out your tricks. All in all a very fun course and great locals.
Cons: The park is very big so drive to the most southern end. This is were the course starts. park in the gravel. We got confused and parked where we were supposed to shoot hole 1. I didnt think it was easy to navigate lucky we had locals in front of us to follow. You do play a few holes near a road that had a few speedsters. Some trash on holes but it is a public park so kinda expected.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course we played on a 4 course day. It was way more challenging than Enterprise in Redding. It is very close to Enterprise and Dog Island in Red Bluff. This makes for a good 3 course day trip. As I stated very cool locals that were glad to help us out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course just off I-5

5+    2/25/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 106  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little course that helps break up a long drive on I-5. Located next to the Sacramento River this course is carved out of what would be untamed riparian habitat. The course has nice cement tee pads with beautiful orange powder coated Mach III baskets. There is a course map in the parking lot and tee signs at most holes. This course is not made for distance and should not be regarded as such. This course is a perfect intermediate course that challenges the use of right and left throws. The locals are friendly and most are willing to let you join up to play with them. Since the course length is not too long this course can be played in an hour if the park is not crowded. Alternate pin locations at most holes are well thought out and there are tone poles in longer locations for a different play the second time around. This is a fun tournament course with OB added to make the course more challenging especially in the more open front holes.
Cons: There are an abundance of black berries and wild grape vines that can be a pain to get a disc out of. This course has also flooded during years of high rainfall. There is minimal poison oak and should be easy to avoid. Wear mosquito repellent during the spring time. During the rainy season the course gets pretty muddy so bring a towel to clean off your discs. Summer time can get very hot in the north valley, but the abundance of trees will give you plenty of shade. The front nine does play along the park road so caution should be used when cars are driving through. Bring water because there are no drinking fountains at the course.
Other Thoughts: Living in Chico this is a bit of a drive for me but throwing in a round at Red Buff's course makes for a good little trip. If you are traveling down the five and want to play two good courses this one and Black Butte Reservoir in Orland would make an excellent compliment to each other. There is a lot of wildlife at this course due to it's proximity to the Sac River so soak it in and enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Riparian Sweetness

5+    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 37.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well marked and maintained - good tees and baskets
Lots of variety of holes - right and left curves, low ceilings, major overhand shots. This course has me using every type of tee shot I have and most of my discs go in the bag.
The holes are not incredibly long for the most part, but I consider this a moderate course length due to the challenges presented.
Cons: A couple of wide-open long holes that don't thrill me
Watch for cars on a couple of holes
Blackberries if you shank one
Other Thoughts: The river environment is beautiful with gorgeous valley oaks, many species of birds singing, and a lushness that is rare in this area. try it on a summer morning!
This is a sweet course! Not terribly busy most of the time, beautiful setting, and challenging holes in terms of disc control.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, relaxing, well-designed

1    11/22/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anderson River Park is a stellar 'short' par three course which is both extremely fun to play and pretty challenging at some points. This course is perfect for someone who wants to work on increasing their consistency off the tee in a variety of situations. The park is wooded enough to have clearly defined fairways which players must navigate but at the same time doesn't have rough that is too thick when a drive is shanked off-target. Its also got PLENTY of turns both right and left and a variety of angles from a complete U-turn to more subtle soft arcs. This makes for a perfect amateur/up-and-coming advanced player's course. The shorter distances to most holes don't really suit higher caliber players because there aren't any risks to 'going for it' - it will be a collection of birdies and pars on the scorecard for the most part. This isn't to say the course is without challenge, far from it, just not enough to keep top pros returning again and again.

Baskets: I usually don't comment on the amenities too much but the powder-coated orange DGA baskets just look sweet. They really stand out in the woods and green grass and you'll rarely be saying, "I think thats pin". The rest of the course matches and looks to be really new with nice teepads and mostly good signage.

Wildlife: We played this park in the evening after hitting up many other courses along I-5 south on the way to Santa Cruz. We saw several deer out playing as the sun was setting along with a few small woodland mice and tons of birds. I'd imagine this experience was a bit particular to the timing of our visit, but if the natural side is your thing, you'll want to hit up Anderson River near dusk or dawn - hopefully you'll spot some wildlife as well.
Cons: As I've said above, I think the main drawback here is the shortish nature of the course - with a set of long teepads for pro's (and a few par fours or fives mixed in) my rating for this course would likely increase dramatically. There just doesn't appear to be that much land for streching things out though as the course designer has done a fantastic job of maximizing the use of space. The course is SOLID as is for the skill range between 850-950.

Muddy: Several areas were muddy as we played through, even though the recent trend in weather was hot and dry for the past few days. My guess is that proximity to the river and the low terrain make mud a pretty consistent factor at the course.
Other Thoughts: This course has appeal on a number of different factors: it is relaxing, very fun, challenging (although short), well designed, beautiful, and on and on. I'd highly recommend this course to pretty much all players, although very experienced players are probably going to be ok with just one or two rounds before moving on.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

5+    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of old growth tress, nice riperian area the course goes through. Lots of wildlife. All Holes have baskets, most have toms further back if want longer target. Nice tee pads. Great variety of throws.Next to the Sac.river and a great big park. Challangeing yet not so much so that you cant par most holes. Lots of variety to the course.
Cons: Too many empty beer cans laying around and full trash cans. Can be crowded on sunny days.
Other Thoughts: Most people who play here invite you to join them for a game. This is one of my favorite courses. Stroller friendly course. Heads up park patrol will ticket loss dogs if they see them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/5/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course layout definitely featured a lot of shot variety forcing you to use all of your short game.
Good tee signs and very cool baskets.
Course is very easy to navigate and has a nice announcement board by the fist hole.
Hole 7 is a great longer hole with O.B. mixing up what is a largely short course.
O.B. obstacles offer challenge to a number of shorter holes.
The course definitely caters to all levels, offering a good challenge to shoot par for newer players while not offering up too many easy birdies for more advanced amateurs or pros.
Cons: This course would definitely benefit from a little more distance, a number of holes around 200' offer little challenge from an easy birdie.
Course feels a bit scraggly with the abundance of blackberries and dead trees, course could use a little clean up.
Though the concrete pads were good, some were a bit small or off balance.
Other Thoughts: Anderson River is certainly a fun and enjoyable course, playing it for the first time I felt like it would make a great home course, or learning course for newer players. Being close to I-5, and being a relatively quick round I'd definitely recommend it as a stop if your driving through the area. Most of the problems I could find with the course were very small, involving some of the minor cosmetic issues. Some of the holes felt like they were too tight to have a real shot at birdie but were just too short to really run the risk of a bogey. A few of holes as Adam mentioned have no real obstacles at all. A little touch up work could certainly push the course to a 4 for me.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Carharts and a Machete

5+    11/20/2007   7/20/2009
Review By: Huk Finn
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful greenery, wide variety of shots. Technical "make you think" shots. The back 9 is a nice jungle...
Wasn't crowded the times I played it.
Cons: Watch for cars bending corner tee off of No.1. Smacking the windshield of an F-450 driver under the influence of Pabst Blue Ribbon could get ugly.
Other Thoughts: I wore Carharts and longsleeves, the blackberrie bushes are very thorny.
Some well dug out routes through the massive bushes have shown up over the years.

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.