Anderson, CA 
Anderson River Park Share
Uploaded By: Josh Fisk Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 First timer review!

1    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: yarnt2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
*Great layout
*Hole 18 ends near hole 1
*Good Atmosphere
*Pretty scenery
*Challenging
*Nets making sure people dont get hit
Cons:
*Some holes are in the way
*Signs are highly inaccurate
*Multiple holes are confusing, especially when some of them are using hole A and some B, Inconsistant
Other Thoughts: First time there. but it was a great experience... makes me wish I could throw further :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Leave your blue suede shoes at home!!!

5+    10/25/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Star_Destroyer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/6/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most challenging and technical courses around and a great tournament course! With that said, it also offers many holes for beginners to have a shot at making par at least on most of the holes.

Anderson River Park's disc golf course is nestled right next to the Sacramento River and has a pretty flat terrain through open fields as well as heavily wooded areas. It is stroller friendly as well for those wanting to make it a family event.

The cages are new, bright orange, and are rotated to alternate locations often so make sure you check to see where you are trying to end up before you dial in your throw. There's nothing like placing the perfect drive or approach shot where you THINK the cage is only to find out you are now in a horrible position to even try for par, LOL. Yes, I have done this a few times.

I have played this course over 50 times and I have never had an altercation with any of the other disc golfers.

Each hole is completely different, providing the player to use a myriad of discs, throwing styles, and methods of drives and approach shots.

This course offers holes ranging from around 200 ft to a hole over 600 ft, which allows those players trying for the long drive the chance to let it rip.

The starting pads are concrete, rather new, and well maintained with gravel off the fronts for those who tend to "follow through" with their bodies when they drive.

The 18 holes cover a good distance with nice trees, scenery, many deer, and an occasional mountain lion. Yes, I am serious so keep your eyes open. I was playing the course on the day the last mt. lion was spotted there. I figure, it will give you a chance to throw several self defense drives in rapid fire mode if you get charged by one.

The disc culture at Anderson is pretty low key. I have found a lot of discs and have always called or found the owners, so make sure you ink your discs. I have had other players find my discs and they always return them. Disc blood runs deep there, I guess. Most people actually yell FORE and don't get upset if there is a close call. People let smaller groups play through.

As far as other amenities, there are public BBQ's and pavilions adjacent to the course if you wanted to make a disc and BBQ day out of it. There are also bathrooms in the park not too far from the course.
Cons: Beware of cars as the road passes near the course several times on the front 9 holes.

Also, beware of horses on the course, as there is a trail that goes directly through the back 9.

BLACKBERRIES, BLACKBERRIES, and MORE BLACKBERRIES!!!! Even for the experienced player, it is easy to lose a bird in the blackberries. Or, should I say, you may determine that you would rather replace the disc rather than bleed to find it.

Some of the hole markers have a tendency to run away. I am unsure where they go, but some tend to be missing no matter how many times they are replaced.

The course is closed often on weekends for leagues and tournaments so make sure you check before you drive down to play.

If the wind is just wrong you can smell the sewage treatment plant that is located on the outskirts of holes 3-7.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played at Anderson River Park, you really owe it to yourself to check it out. It would be worth traveling to play a day there as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do it again

5+    3/20/2011   2/21/2010
Review By: evac1599
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2012
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Anderson River Park is a great course for people who want a little more challenge. At the same time it offers some shorter holes that make it fun for the novice disc golfer. I like what the local club has done with the new O.B. This course is always evolving, along with the sport.
Cons: Well there are some signs out there that have been destroyed and grafitied on. Hole four doesn't have a sign anymore, and some rookies keep writting PAR 4 over the PAR 3 on hole 7's 639 footer.
Other Thoughts: Over all it's a great course, and I hope to see you guys out there. I like the recent maitinance after the flood!!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course just off I-5

1    3/13/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Bright orange baskets and nice concrete tees
- Informative tee signs; each hole has a "name"
- Great variety of shots and distances
- Many blind shots (this could also be a con!)
Cons:
- Blackberries are probably hell in the summer
- Some tee signs are in disrepair
- A few boring wide-open holes (but only a few)
- Big arms might think there's not quite enough distance
Other Thoughts:
The longest hole at Anderson is over 500', but most are in the 200' to 300' foot range; there are plenty of birdie opportunities if you can place your tee shots. Almost every hole is some sort of dogleg: either a long sweeping curve or just a short hook at the end. (One of the holes is actually a full left u-turn, via a mando.) A few holes in the front 9 are out in the open along a park road, but most are among trees and shrubs, including some unbelievably fat cottonwood trunks. In mid-March, the blackberries were pretty harmless, and I saw only a little poison oak, but I can imagine that some of the holes will get pretty jungly come summertime.

Like the other reviewers said, probably the best thing about this course is the variety. Almost every hole offers something a little bit different. Definitely worth the very short detour off I-5.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    11/12/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: faunafarm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Wonderful variety of holes with lots of challenges,
Very pretty course incorporated in very nice park along the Sacramento River. I love how you must negotiate around all the trees and shrubs! All new baskets and recently poured tee pads.
Cons: Some disc eating berry bushes. A few signs showing wear.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Anderspun

5+    10/16/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: DiscRokker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes and shots of varying difficulties beware the blackberry banking both sides of some fairways, concrete pads, and also recently improved with baskets
Cons: beginners will lose a bird or two
Other Thoughts: have fun

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.