Anderson, CA 
Anderson River Park Share
Uploaded By: Josh Fisk Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun In Anderson

1    3/24/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: zofo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had many challenges. Open holes to air it out, trees for precision, and hidden holes that required great approach shots to set you up. This course is very challenging with long drives and ace runs. The locals were very helpful. Got us on track after hole 3...gots to cross the road. They gave us tips on each hole being that it was our first time playing here. Hole number 9 was very interesting as it is a complete "U"! Hole totally blind and mandos making for a fun run. You get into the trees from there on some pull out your tricks. All in all a very fun course and great locals.
Cons: The park is very big so drive to the most southern end. This is were the course starts. park in the gravel. We got confused and parked where we were supposed to shoot hole 1. I didnt think it was easy to navigate lucky we had locals in front of us to follow. You do play a few holes near a road that had a few speedsters. Some trash on holes but it is a public park so kinda expected.
Other Thoughts: This was the second course we played on a 4 course day. It was way more challenging than Enterprise in Redding. It is very close to Enterprise and Dog Island in Red Bluff. This makes for a good 3 course day trip. As I stated very cool locals that were glad to help us out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Anderson River Park

1    2/2/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3'x7' cement tees. Nice signs on most holes. Rough is unforgiving. Some baskets are very well protected. Nice baskets with hole number on them. Hole 5: interesting green with marked OB all around, forcing you to land right near the basket or lay up on the right. Hole 7: long par 4 with a road running along the left of the fairway and a telephone pole on the right, both marked OB beyond, creating a bottle-necking fairway as you approach the basket. Some netting and fences around certain tees to protect players from flying discs. Multiple pins on several holes. Some wooden poles put on on a few holes acting as obstacles and guarding baskets; kinda cool and forces shot shaping. Good variety of hole types, long and short, and not favoring any one throwing style. Pretty technical on many holes. Some holes are pretty open and some are moderately wooded. Pretty easy to navigate. Garbage cans and benches throughout the course. Porta-potty at hole 1.
Cons: Many signs are missing. Many holes are wide open. Most baskets aren't protected well at all. Some holes play very close to one another. Hole 9: odd u-shaped hole, forcing you to go to the right around a mando about 50' in front of the tee, while the basket is about 100' back to the left from the tee pad. Very odd hole, and dangerous if anyone is on hole 7 for both parties. Inaccurate distances on a couple signs. Could use a few 'next tee' signs in a couple spots. Course could use maintenance; a lot of blackberry bushes and dead brush piles around. Looks ugly in spots. Next to a sewage treatment plant, so you get some great smells on holes 1-7. A lot of holes offer little challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, and with a little work it could be better. Some additional pin positions would be nice on some holes. A little cleaning up around holes 10-18 would make the course look a lot better. The overall "feel" of the course for me was not good. There was a lot of trash around, the course was not well maintained, and there appeared to be some evidence of vandalism in some areas of the course. Also, as I was walking up to hole 4's tee, some rednecks parked their pickup truck right in the middle of the fairway, then got out and stood next to their truck. I yelled "coming down" and threw over their heads, but they were not happy and mean mugged me the whole time I was anywhere near them. It seemed as if I was a burden to them. I don't like feeling that way when playing disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First timer review!

1    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: yarnt2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
*Great layout
*Hole 18 ends near hole 1
*Good Atmosphere
*Pretty scenery
*Challenging
*Nets making sure people dont get hit
Cons:
*Some holes are in the way
*Signs are highly inaccurate
*Multiple holes are confusing, especially when some of them are using hole A and some B, Inconsistant
Other Thoughts: First time there. but it was a great experience... makes me wish I could throw further :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course just off I-5

5+    2/25/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little course that helps break up a long drive on I-5. Located next to the Sacramento River this course is carved out of what would be untamed riparian habitat. The course has nice cement tee pads with beautiful orange powder coated Mach III baskets. There is a course map in the parking lot and tee signs at most holes. This course is not made for distance and should not be regarded as such. This course is a perfect intermediate course that challenges the use of right and left throws. The locals are friendly and most are willing to let you join up to play with them. Since the course length is not too long this course can be played in an hour if the park is not crowded. Alternate pin locations at most holes are well thought out and there are tone poles in longer locations for a different play the second time around. This is a fun tournament course with OB added to make the course more challenging especially in the more open front holes.
Cons: There are an abundance of black berries and wild grape vines that can be a pain to get a disc out of. This course has also flooded during years of high rainfall. There is minimal poison oak and should be easy to avoid. Wear mosquito repellent during the spring time. During the rainy season the course gets pretty muddy so bring a towel to clean off your discs. Summer time can get very hot in the north valley, but the abundance of trees will give you plenty of shade. The front nine does play along the park road so caution should be used when cars are driving through. Bring water because there are no drinking fountains at the course.
Other Thoughts: Living in Chico this is a bit of a drive for me but throwing in a round at Red Buff's course makes for a good little trip. If you are traveling down the five and want to play two good courses this one and Black Butte Reservoir in Orland would make an excellent compliment to each other. There is a lot of wildlife at this course due to it's proximity to the Sac River so soak it in and enjoy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Riparian Sweetness

5+    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well marked and maintained - good tees and baskets
Lots of variety of holes - right and left curves, low ceilings, major overhand shots. This course has me using every type of tee shot I have and most of my discs go in the bag.
The holes are not incredibly long for the most part, but I consider this a moderate course length due to the challenges presented.
Cons: A couple of wide-open long holes that don't thrill me
Watch for cars on a couple of holes
Blackberries if you shank one
Other Thoughts: The river environment is beautiful with gorgeous valley oaks, many species of birds singing, and a lushness that is rare in this area. try it on a summer morning!
This is a sweet course! Not terribly busy most of the time, beautiful setting, and challenging holes in terms of disc control.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, relaxing, well-designed

1    11/22/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anderson River Park is a stellar 'short' par three course which is both extremely fun to play and pretty challenging at some points. This course is perfect for someone who wants to work on increasing their consistency off the tee in a variety of situations. The park is wooded enough to have clearly defined fairways which players must navigate but at the same time doesn't have rough that is too thick when a drive is shanked off-target. Its also got PLENTY of turns both right and left and a variety of angles from a complete U-turn to more subtle soft arcs. This makes for a perfect amateur/up-and-coming advanced player's course. The shorter distances to most holes don't really suit higher caliber players because there aren't any risks to 'going for it' - it will be a collection of birdies and pars on the scorecard for the most part. This isn't to say the course is without challenge, far from it, just not enough to keep top pros returning again and again.

Baskets: I usually don't comment on the amenities too much but the powder-coated orange DGA baskets just look sweet. They really stand out in the woods and green grass and you'll rarely be saying, "I think thats pin". The rest of the course matches and looks to be really new with nice teepads and mostly good signage.

Wildlife: We played this park in the evening after hitting up many other courses along I-5 south on the way to Santa Cruz. We saw several deer out playing as the sun was setting along with a few small woodland mice and tons of birds. I'd imagine this experience was a bit particular to the timing of our visit, but if the natural side is your thing, you'll want to hit up Anderson River near dusk or dawn - hopefully you'll spot some wildlife as well.
Cons: As I've said above, I think the main drawback here is the shortish nature of the course - with a set of long teepads for pro's (and a few par fours or fives mixed in) my rating for this course would likely increase dramatically. There just doesn't appear to be that much land for streching things out though as the course designer has done a fantastic job of maximizing the use of space. The course is SOLID as is for the skill range between 850-950.

Muddy: Several areas were muddy as we played through, even though the recent trend in weather was hot and dry for the past few days. My guess is that proximity to the river and the low terrain make mud a pretty consistent factor at the course.
Other Thoughts: This course has appeal on a number of different factors: it is relaxing, very fun, challenging (although short), well designed, beautiful, and on and on. I'd highly recommend this course to pretty much all players, although very experienced players are probably going to be ok with just one or two rounds before moving on.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

5+    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of old growth tress, nice riperian area the course goes through. Lots of wildlife. All Holes have baskets, most have toms further back if want longer target. Nice tee pads. Great variety of throws.Next to the Sac.river and a great big park. Challangeing yet not so much so that you cant par most holes. Lots of variety to the course.
Cons: Too many empty beer cans laying around and full trash cans. Can be crowded on sunny days.
Other Thoughts: Most people who play here invite you to join them for a game. This is one of my favorite courses. Stroller friendly course. Heads up park patrol will ticket loss dogs if they see them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short Fun

1    1/23/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good concrete teepads
- Nice baskets on every hole with the tops and botoms powder coated bright orange which makes them easy to see from a distance
- Friendly locals
- Good Signs, but they could use a dial to tell pin position
- Alternate holes can be played to tonepoles located throughout the course
- Good for beginers
- One par 4
- Not too far from I-5
- Many ace-able holes around the course (I chained out on 18)
- Unique "U-Turn" hole, in which you have to go past a mando then practicly turn completley around
- Neat use of OB around hole 15's green
- Well done raised green on hole 16
Cons: - Most holes are prety short
- Crowded mostly with large groups
- No real elevation change, but the little bit that is there is used well
- A couple holes, just throw through an open field
- Homeless people on the course stand in places where they are likely to get hit
- Holes 3-6 are across the road from hole 2 so you can very easyly end up skiping quite a few holes if you don't know to cross the road there
- Blackberrys get prety bad in some spots
- Watch for cars driving on the road during holes neer it
Other Thoughts: As the only course in Anderson, and a better course than both the ones I have played in Redding (about 10 miles away), It's not hard to see why this course is so crowded. The course can play realy fast if you can get groups to let you pass them. I played it in about an hour by myself, but I did have to follow a few groups around.

I got a little lost and ended up playing hole 8 right after hole 2, then noticed that the tee sign for the hole I steped up to had a 9 on it. The group that was going to let me pass them there told me where I had made my mistake, not crossing the road after throwing hole 2. If you were walking it naturaly you would want to walk up to hole 8's teepad, not make a walk across the road to play some holes that are wide open and around 300', but I do understand why, so that they could get a full 18 holes here.

Hole 9 was a fun idea, there was a mando on the left side of a narrowing gap, then the hole opened up, but the basket was to the left and back almost furthur than the tee making you throw a giant "U-turn".

There was not realy any big uphill or downhill holes out here, but they did put one basket up on a raised green, and another in a sunken green surounded by OB on all sides.

If I were going to rate this course against the other Redding area courses it would be a 4 maby more, but rating it against all the courses I've played I'm going to have to put it at a strong 3. Don't take this wrong people a 3 is still a high rating, I'm just trying to keep it honest.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Leave your blue suede shoes at home!!!

5+    10/25/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Star_Destroyer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/6/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most challenging and technical courses around and a great tournament course! With that said, it also offers many holes for beginners to have a shot at making par at least on most of the holes.

Anderson River Park's disc golf course is nestled right next to the Sacramento River and has a pretty flat terrain through open fields as well as heavily wooded areas. It is stroller friendly as well for those wanting to make it a family event.

The cages are new, bright orange, and are rotated to alternate locations often so make sure you check to see where you are trying to end up before you dial in your throw. There's nothing like placing the perfect drive or approach shot where you THINK the cage is only to find out you are now in a horrible position to even try for par, LOL. Yes, I have done this a few times.

I have played this course over 50 times and I have never had an altercation with any of the other disc golfers.

Each hole is completely different, providing the player to use a myriad of discs, throwing styles, and methods of drives and approach shots.

This course offers holes ranging from around 200 ft to a hole over 600 ft, which allows those players trying for the long drive the chance to let it rip.

The starting pads are concrete, rather new, and well maintained with gravel off the fronts for those who tend to "follow through" with their bodies when they drive.

The 18 holes cover a good distance with nice trees, scenery, many deer, and an occasional mountain lion. Yes, I am serious so keep your eyes open. I was playing the course on the day the last mt. lion was spotted there. I figure, it will give you a chance to throw several self defense drives in rapid fire mode if you get charged by one.

The disc culture at Anderson is pretty low key. I have found a lot of discs and have always called or found the owners, so make sure you ink your discs. I have had other players find my discs and they always return them. Disc blood runs deep there, I guess. Most people actually yell FORE and don't get upset if there is a close call. People let smaller groups play through.

As far as other amenities, there are public BBQ's and pavilions adjacent to the course if you wanted to make a disc and BBQ day out of it. There are also bathrooms in the park not too far from the course.
Cons: Beware of cars as the road passes near the course several times on the front 9 holes.

Also, beware of horses on the course, as there is a trail that goes directly through the back 9.

BLACKBERRIES, BLACKBERRIES, and MORE BLACKBERRIES!!!! Even for the experienced player, it is easy to lose a bird in the blackberries. Or, should I say, you may determine that you would rather replace the disc rather than bleed to find it.

Some of the hole markers have a tendency to run away. I am unsure where they go, but some tend to be missing no matter how many times they are replaced.

The course is closed often on weekends for leagues and tournaments so make sure you check before you drive down to play.

If the wind is just wrong you can smell the sewage treatment plant that is located on the outskirts of holes 3-7.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played at Anderson River Park, you really owe it to yourself to check it out. It would be worth traveling to play a day there as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do it again

5+    3/20/2011   2/21/2010
Review By: evac1599
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2012
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Anderson River Park is a great course for people who want a little more challenge. At the same time it offers some shorter holes that make it fun for the novice disc golfer. I like what the local club has done with the new O.B. This course is always evolving, along with the sport.
Cons: Well there are some signs out there that have been destroyed and grafitied on. Hole four doesn't have a sign anymore, and some rookies keep writting PAR 4 over the PAR 3 on hole 7's 639 footer.
Other Thoughts: Over all it's a great course, and I hope to see you guys out there. I like the recent maitinance after the flood!!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.