Boonville, CA 
Anderson Valley Brewing Company Share
Uploaded By: humchris85  



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wonderful locals!!

1    8/9/2011   5/14/2012
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been drinking Anderson Valley Hop Ottin since 1997 and have always wanted to play here. Well, after meeting Andrew Lemann in Ft Collins a month earlier, he asked us to call him if we were in town. So we did, and I am so glad that we did.

The course was a decent course. Nothing spectacular, but overall it was a nice to course to play. Can't go wrong having a course on the brewery property. Also, the vineyards surrounding the brewery were beautiful.

We played a nice casual round with Andy and his buddy Chris?? It was awesome. Spent the evening drinking some beers while we were treated to some wild boar tacos with some super hot habenero sauce. They were delicious. Free food, beer and disc golf!!! What could be better.

The course is great for people of all skill levels. Nothing too tough. Just a nice place to play and enjoy yourself at your own pace.
Cons: I don't remember any cons while I was there.
Other Thoughts: I have to send me thanks to Andy and his buddy who showed us around the course, as well as let us stay at his house up in the Mendocino Hills. Man was that beautiful!! Got to use a Z-machine for the first time.

I want to come back here so badly, and spend a few days around the area. It was beautiful and we were treated so kindly.

Andrew, of you read this. THANKS SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING. THIS WAS A HIGHLIGHT ON OUR 6 week vacation. We will never forget it. You guys were the best. Wonderful dinner, hospitality and thanks for the going away present!!

If you are nearby, come and play a round. Drink a beer, buy a disc, and hang out with some cool people. I hope that you all have as great of an experience as I did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The DG Extravaganza!

5+    8/6/2009   5/6/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 84  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On a brewery!
Insane beer!
Fun open course with a few technical holes!
Great country setting in what feels like the middle of nowhere!
Cons: Pay to Play (But Redeemable)
Haven't seen other pin placements
Other Thoughts: Overall just a great time weather hanging in the beer garden or at the bar, you can't beat it!
This is one of those courses where you'll always have that "I had a great time!" feeling at the end of the round/trip. You'll definitely want to come back and bring your friends!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Brewery with fun course

1    3/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course, especially if you each have plenty of beer for your round.
Beautiful surroundings, secluded and very laid back. Green grass and hills, creek almost comes into play
Good mix of shots
Brewery employees are very friendly
Cons: not the most challenging course, but not easy either.
Some shots are very open, most holes under 350'
Other Thoughts: Beautiful Northern California Course plays on the land around and behind the brewery. Great disc golf destination! I went with a buddy, had a few pints from the tap at the bar before we played, and then we drank the entire 24 pack we bought while playing! We played another round to sober up, and had a great time! I will definitely come back

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Superb Vibe at One of CA's Best Breweries

2-4    8/28/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I like best about this course is the incredibly laid back vibe one finds throughout Anderson Valley. I recall sitting at the tee pad of hole 2 (the closest tee to the road) and seeing a California Highway Patrol drive by while eyeing our beers and our relaxed demeanors, and knowing that we were completely untouchable put a wonderfully warm spot in my heart that carried throughout the round.

We walked past some wonderful vines hosting beautiful hops for their beers. Knowing that all the equipment and buildings were geared toward fine offerings such as Brother David's belgians is very cool.

The nitty-gritty details of the course are similar to the laid-back attitude of Anderson Valley. The tees are dirt, and decorated sometimes with old cowboy boots and such. But they are well marked, the baskets are nice, and the fairways are well-kempt.

There is a river in the back of the property where I saw several river otters flipping their way up a ravine until they hit the water...very cool.

Most of the holes are fairly open, but they are arranged as well as one might expect on the property and some have used the trees there to the maximum potential. My wife almost aced #18 after skipping her disc from the hood of a tractor.
Cons: Pay-to-play. But, there is no pay-to-play, really, since the cost is waived if you buy more than $5/person in beer for your round, which you will definitely do unless you don't drink beer. Even then, you might be able to buy some of their home made root beer or something similar.
Other Thoughts: If you stop here and you don't try the beer sampler in the tasting room, you are a complete fool. Anderson Valley brews a unique variety of beer with distinctive flavors. They are not trying to be like everyone else in California with the standard offerings.

If you are in the region for a longer time, drive to the coast through the beautiful redwood forest and play the Mendocino HS course there, or even better go up to Fort Bragg for dinner at North Coast Brewery, another of CA's best breweries.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.