Boonville, CA
Anderson Valley Brewing Company Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #17 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 300ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice course, pleasant round

2-4    9/15/2012   1/19/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: rubber teepads, pretty well marked. Navigating this course isn't too bad, especially when carrying their map
accessible and challenging. There's enough layout variety and obstacles to stay engaged
lovely scenery
wonderful brewery. bring your own food. dogs are welcome
low probability of losing discs
Cons: easier/shorter holes
not many risk/reward decisions
some short teepads
minimal elevation change
rough to play on hot days. There are stretches of exposed terrain where you will roast in the sun
Other Thoughts: Watch out, playing with delicious, cold six packs often leads to some sloppy, buzzed play towards the end. Worth a trip if you're a disc golfer and beer lover though it's not a destination course.

Overall, they did a good job with the land they have

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Epiphanic

1    6/7/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.9 Years
Other Thoughts: Very good course, but even more remarkably, it's a great concept! Put a disc golf course on the ranch surrounding your brewery, which just so happens to be in a gorgeous part of the Anderson Valley. I was just going through here for a day on my way to "wine country", so I only had a couple hours to enjoy the brewery, beer, and course. But it made an impression!

Everyone should experience this place sometime during his life. Get a sixer of delicious Anderson Valley beer (I had Summer Solstice) and head out on this well-guided and intuitively organized course that begins right outside the tasting room door. On the course, you have a pen of goats (animals I find really entertaining), a tree-covered babbling brook, and views of hillside vineyards all along one side of course. Simply breathtaking.

I really wish I had a place like this closer to where I live (midwest). Excuse me if it sounds like hyperbole, but the day I played this course was one of the best days of my whole life.

After all these years...

1    2/10/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Uuum, the readily available taproom.
Rubber tee pads.
A plastic trashcan/barrel as a marker at almost every tee.
Some elevation change.
Water hazards.
Both left and right turning shots required.
Short grass, looked mowed but hard to tell.
Rolling near costal hills and vineyards make for a lovely scenic day you would expect to find in this part of the state.
Discs for sale.
Almost no chance of losing a disc when
I played.
Cons: Some tee pads were cracked and falling apart.
No signage, you are left looking for the next barrel, not too bad, but they werent all present. Still easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: I'm trying hard to rate just the course, ignoring the brewery aspect, but...
We came here on a day trip from the bay area because I really wanted to play the course. Having previously only been up for the Boonville beer fest when the course was closed. I wouldn't call it a destination course like Stafford, or De La, but it was fun.
The pond was less than a quarter of what it could be. That helped me but could be an issue. The navigation wasn't bad. Course maps available at the tap room. This kind of terrain usually has poison oak (none seen) and ticks (likewise) with the huge old oaks that keep your shots low and straight with the tree canopy.
The course map on this site is not accurate but my internet skillz fall short of fixing this issue. The map from the taproom was closer but still not perfect.
My buddy caught the wind on hole 18 and almost sailed into what looked like (and smelled like) a waste treatment pond with a large brown gush of a fountain in the middle. Dont go in there!
All in all, it was a good road trip. Don't expect perfection, but a couple of fresh pints make it all good!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short Fun 18 at a Brewery

2-4    1/25/2013   11/11/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several technical shots and well protected baskets. Garbage cans next to every hole with the hole number and some with distance to pin. They serve as basic signs as well as trash cans. Lots of boots on the course next to tee pads (unique; kinda cool). Hole 1: shoots over a pond with marked OB around it's edges. Need to throw 300' to clear it, or lay up on the right, but doing so will block your next shot as the basket is well protected by a large, bushy tree. Hole 2: longer shot over the same pond. These holes allow experienced disc golfers to test their abilities while also offering safer routes around the pond for the less experienced or less brave. Hole 3: 300' shot around mature trees forcing you to throw a hook with OB on the right side of fairway (animal pen). Hole 7: longer left hook shot to a well protected basket next to a large tree with branches reaching all the way down to the ground. Hole 8: slightly downhill open shot to a well protected basket in a group of large mature trees with a creek running behind the basket (not really a hazard due to a thick row of younger trees along it's bank, but the sound and sight is tranquil and soothing). Hole 13: plays through a grove of mature trees with a downward sloping hill on the left and no real clear lane to the basket. Hole 14: blind shot through dense trees; very tight lanes to the basket. Hole 18: 280' shot with trees, sheds, stacks of beer kegs 8' high, and other natural and man made obstacles to shoot around. Good layout. Great use of available land. Short grass. Clean and well maintained throughout the course; hard to lose a disk unless you go in the pond. All holes birdie-able with a good drive. Very easy to navigate; just a short walk between holes 4&5. A course that nearly anyone of any skill level could play, but challenging enough that it is enjoyable for everyone regardless of your skill level. Also, if you like beer, AVBC produces some very tasty craft brews and if you buy some, your round is free. The tasting room is nice and they sell discs with their own stamp (buy one and your round is free too).
Cons: Rubber tee pads, some of which are pretty short and can be slick when wet. Some tees are also uneven with the ground around them and too small to do a full run-up. No signs, although you can see the basket from nearly every tee, and the trash cans next to every tee have hole numbers, but knowing distances would be nice. Fairly flat course with only slight elevation changes on most holes. Some holes are pretty wide open. Most holes are fairly short. Pay to play, but again, if you buy some beer or a disc your round is free.
Other Thoughts: They host music festivals and other events, although the disc golf course is usually closed during these events. There is a campground just down the road at the Mendocino Co. fairgrounds with campsites with hookups for $20/night (just not during the county fair). If you like to drink beer while you play, this may be the best public course in California for doing just that. And the brewery produces such good beer that even if you don't want to drink while you play, pick some up to take home for later and get your round for free. If you don't drink, give it to a friend who does as a gift. They'll love it. You are only allowed to drink AVBC beer on the course though. Their alcohol license does not allow consumption of outside alcoholic beverages on the property. Also I learned my last time playing that the rubber tee pads were salvaged from an old barn on the property. Hearing that made me like them more :-)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great beer. Great disc

5+    9/8/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: wyldeman99
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The atmosphere here has to be among one of the biggest pros of the course. Drinking is encouraged and only frowned upon if you bring your own cheap beer instead of buying theirs. The people in the tasting room are helpful and there's lots of d.g. stuff in the shop like boonville stamped discs and minis. There is also a map of the course available.

Cons: Navigation of the course can get awkward but that's what the map is for that they gave you when you bought all the beer. Short tee pads that are in mediocre condition at best is all you really get for your opening throw.
Other Thoughts: You can't forget about the Boontfling DG tourney that the AVBC host every year towards the end of summer. It's a beer tier event and you get to camp at the brewery. awesome. Everyone that likes DG and beer needs to go to this.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful locals!!

1    8/9/2011   5/14/2012
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 182  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been drinking Anderson Valley Hop Ottin since 1997 and have always wanted to play here. Well, after meeting Andrew Lemann in Ft Collins a month earlier, he asked us to call him if we were in town. So we did, and I am so glad that we did.

The course was a decent course. Nothing spectacular, but overall it was a nice to course to play. Can't go wrong having a course on the brewery property. Also, the vineyards surrounding the brewery were beautiful.

We played a nice casual round with Andy and his buddy Chris?? It was awesome. Spent the evening drinking some beers while we were treated to some wild boar tacos with some super hot habenero sauce. They were delicious. Free food, beer and disc golf!!! What could be better.

The course is great for people of all skill levels. Nothing too tough. Just a nice place to play and enjoy yourself at your own pace.
Cons: I don't remember any cons while I was there.
Other Thoughts: I have to send me thanks to Andy and his buddy who showed us around the course, as well as let us stay at his house up in the Mendocino Hills. Man was that beautiful!! Got to use a Z-machine for the first time.

I want to come back here so badly, and spend a few days around the area. It was beautiful and we were treated so kindly.

Andrew, of you read this. THANKS SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING. THIS WAS A HIGHLIGHT ON OUR 6 week vacation. We will never forget it. You guys were the best. Wonderful dinner, hospitality and thanks for the going away present!!

If you are nearby, come and play a round. Drink a beer, buy a disc, and hang out with some cool people. I hope that you all have as great of an experience as I did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 AVBC, nice for a lazy day of golf

5+    6/5/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: Jesse B 707
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Brewery on site, interesting course topography, new rubber teepads installed on all 18 holes, recent layout change added some cool holes (17 and 18), great course to come out to and play at your own pace and have a beer or 2 if that's your thing, rarely any traffic
Cons: Most if not all of the new tee pads are too short for most any player to gt a good run up on =( a couple of oddly designed holes (not bad by any means though).
Other Thoughts: I hate to complain right after they have done some great work up there but those short tees REALLY need to be lengthened, last time i was there i had several accidental steps off the end of the tee that could have resulted in a nasty fall or sprained ankle, with longer tees my rating would be higher for this course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Drunk Discin'

1    2/19/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 105  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open floor plan, lacquered wood bar, lots of AVBC beers on tap, honest pours…Wait, was I supposed to review the course or the bar?
All kidding aside, this is a course at a brewery far away from major population centers. Anyone going to AVBC is going as much for the beer as for the disc golf. The proprietors let you drink while you play, as long as its AVBC beer. I enjoyed the course, by nature it this is a very casual round best played with beer in hand. Apparently there are three rotating layouts, I only played one. Due to the rotating nature there are no signs indicating where the next tee is. It wasn't always obvious where to go, but the course is open enough that you can see all possible tees. The tees are dirt and are marked with plastic cowboy boots that are painted with hole numbers. The DGA baskets were in good shape. The course has pretty good variety in hole length and shape (at least in the layout that I played). The course started in the front yard of the brewery, with the first few holes playing on the well maintained lawn. The course continues on to the back pasture with longer, more open holes. There is some water in play if you are very wild with drives (stream at the back of the property and manmade ponds to hold water for brewing). While the course is mostly open, there are enough trees to force you to shape lines on most holes. There is hardly any rough, but I nearly lost a disc in long grass anyway.
Cons: Dirt tees are not preferable, but with the rotating layouts there aren't many other options. The course is pay to play but you get a credit to spend on beer or AVBC logo discs that equals the $5 fee.
Other Thoughts: I drove up from the Bay Area where I was staying with friends. The drive takes much longer than you would think based on mileage. After Hwy 101, the road twists and turns its way through the costal mountains. We played this course in the afternoon after playing Stafford Lake in the morning and were not able to spend as much time at AVBC as I would have liked.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The DG Extravaganza!

5+    8/6/2009   5/6/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On a brewery!
Insane beer!
Fun open course with a few technical holes!
Great country setting in what feels like the middle of nowhere!
Cons: Pay to Play (But Redeemable)
Haven't seen other pin placements
Other Thoughts: Overall just a great time weather hanging in the beer garden or at the bar, you can't beat it!
This is one of those courses where you'll always have that "I had a great time!" feeling at the end of the round/trip. You'll definitely want to come back and bring your friends!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Brewery with fun course

1    3/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course, especially if you each have plenty of beer for your round.
Beautiful surroundings, secluded and very laid back. Green grass and hills, creek almost comes into play
Good mix of shots
Brewery employees are very friendly
Cons: not the most challenging course, but not easy either.
Some shots are very open, most holes under 350'
Other Thoughts: Beautiful Northern California Course plays on the land around and behind the brewery. Great disc golf destination! I went with a buddy, had a few pints from the tap at the bar before we played, and then we drank the entire 24 pack we bought while playing! We played another round to sober up, and had a great time! I will definitely come back

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.