Boonville, CA 
Anderson Valley Brewing Company Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great Brewery with fun course

1    3/6/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course, especially if you each have plenty of beer for your round.
Beautiful surroundings, secluded and very laid back. Green grass and hills, creek almost comes into play
Good mix of shots
Brewery employees are very friendly
Cons: not the most challenging course, but not easy either.
Some shots are very open, most holes under 350'
Other Thoughts: Beautiful Northern California Course plays on the land around and behind the brewery. Great disc golf destination! I went with a buddy, had a few pints from the tap at the bar before we played, and then we drank the entire 24 pack we bought while playing! We played another round to sober up, and had a great time! I will definitely come back

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Superb Vibe at One of CA's Best Breweries

2-4    8/28/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I like best about this course is the incredibly laid back vibe one finds throughout Anderson Valley. I recall sitting at the tee pad of hole 2 (the closest tee to the road) and seeing a California Highway Patrol drive by while eyeing our beers and our relaxed demeanors, and knowing that we were completely untouchable put a wonderfully warm spot in my heart that carried throughout the round.

We walked past some wonderful vines hosting beautiful hops for their beers. Knowing that all the equipment and buildings were geared toward fine offerings such as Brother David's belgians is very cool.

The nitty-gritty details of the course are similar to the laid-back attitude of Anderson Valley. The tees are dirt, and decorated sometimes with old cowboy boots and such. But they are well marked, the baskets are nice, and the fairways are well-kempt.

There is a river in the back of the property where I saw several river otters flipping their way up a ravine until they hit the water...very cool.

Most of the holes are fairly open, but they are arranged as well as one might expect on the property and some have used the trees there to the maximum potential. My wife almost aced #18 after skipping her disc from the hood of a tractor.
Cons: Pay-to-play. But, there is no pay-to-play, really, since the cost is waived if you buy more than $5/person in beer for your round, which you will definitely do unless you don't drink beer. Even then, you might be able to buy some of their home made root beer or something similar.
Other Thoughts: If you stop here and you don't try the beer sampler in the tasting room, you are a complete fool. Anderson Valley brews a unique variety of beer with distinctive flavors. They are not trying to be like everyone else in California with the standard offerings.

If you are in the region for a longer time, drive to the coast through the beautiful redwood forest and play the Mendocino HS course there, or even better go up to Fort Bragg for dinner at North Coast Brewery, another of CA's best breweries.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/9/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -anderson valley beer in hand between shots
-i liked the changes from hole to hole. starting in front we wondered if it was going to suck, then you wind around to the back, throw along the creek, hit some open fields, and finish out winding through some big oaks. the holes generally got more difficult as you go, but would be pretty easy on a non-windy day...
-there is some intangible about this course that i can't put my finger on, but everyone i talk to seems to love this course and make the extra drive to play it. inviting and festive atmosphere maybe???
Cons: -pay to play, but you get a coupon equaling the amount and i was going to get some beer anyway...
-can be hopelessly windy
-pretty short and straight

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bahl Hornin

5+    1/17/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bahl Hornin is Boontling for "Good Drinkin". Great beer. Decent course through the oaks...good mix of shots (low ceiling, tight gap, open bombs). Beautiful scenery... river, wineries, rolling hills.
Cons: $5 to play - but they do give you a coupon for $5 off in the gift shop... so buy some beer and your round is free.
It's a lengthy side trip - twenty miles off the 101 from Ukiah and thirty miles from Cloverdale.
Beer tasting room closed on Wednesdays... you'll be pissed if you show up and can't drink beer. check their website for hours.
Other Thoughts: Brewery and disc golf... who could ask for more? It deserves more than a 2 rating. I've been to AVBC at least 6 times on my journeys from Humboldt to LA... I've only been disapointed when they were closed (but then I complained at the office that I had driven all the way from LA to drink their beer off the tap... and they gave me a free 6 pack).
My best round -8... with an ace (hole 15).

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 I enjoy it.

5+    11/11/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Maps at the bar.
There is a bar.
Easy to navigate.
Wind can change for some more challengin play.
I think it is a fun course not too hard, but not easy as pie.
Cons: Have to pay, but you get a coupon off your beer!
Hot and dusty in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip if you are a local and want something diffrent. Well worth the trip if you like AVBC beer. It is really good beer and you can pick up special brews there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beer, not so good course

7/10/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -AVBC Beer is great and there were a few here that I couldn't get at home
-Brand new baskets
-Some wooded holes
-Pro shop on site
Cons: -Pay to play
-Alot of wide open, throwing through fields, holes
-HOT
-No elevation change
-No signs
-Not much chalenge
Other Thoughts: Tees here are marked with boots. The old baskets made from wine barels are out and they now have new baskets. I was the only person out on the course, but this may have had to due with the 5$ pay to play. At least with your paying to play they give you 5$ off in the gift shop which has beer, discs, shrits, etc.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 needs a change

9/12/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
0 Helpful / 22 Not
Cons: Pay to play, not worth it
Other Thoughts: they are planing to change the course

0 of 22 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.