Disc Golf Store
Coppell, TX 
Andrew Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 not that bad, just no fun

1    11/23/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -16 1/2 baskets, 18 signs
-good use of the water hazards to create challenge (2-6, 15, 17, 18)
-lots of open holes good for driving practice
-a few wooded holes to change it up (7, 8, 11, 12)
-enormous park complex with everything you can think of
-holes 5 & 6 are a cool idea but the fairways are pretty narrow for the typical conditions here
Cons: -basket missing on 7, cage missing on basket 8
-no tees but space to throw near each sign
-wooded holes are gimmicky. very short, super thick woods, 2' fairways
-course flow is not so great. lots of backtracking and it's not obvious where to go after 4, 6, 8, or 10
(follow the walkway after 4, hole 5 is just ahead next to the lookout area on the right. after hole 6 go across the walkway to the woods on the other side to get to 7. after hole 8 go back out to the open field and after 10 head back into the woods for 11 & 12.)

-baseball fields are next to (part of) many fairways. probably have to skip 5 or 6 during game days
-walking paths and many pedestrians, many kids playing
-not too bad the day i played but apparently the wind gets crazy here. not worth the trouble on the water holes.
Other Thoughts: This course was not as bad as I expected it to be but maybe that is because the wind wasn't howling. The majority of the course consists of wide open holes in a field next to some baseball fields and two small lakes.

The water comes into play on 2-6 and 15, 17, & 18. This is the primary challenge besides raw distance. 5 & 6 are hyzers with the lake on the right with a narrow fairway sloping down to the water. Cool idea but they're REALLY narrow, seem to be eroding further, and are overgrown. Might be cool if they were in decent condition and not back to back.

7, 8, 11, & 12 are short wooded holes and while I appreciated the effort to change it up I personally found them gimmicky. Short and narrow is okay but not when there is literally only 2' of a path and it is overgrown.

The flow and layout is odd but surprisingly easy to navigate with the signs, apart from a few trouble spots. It's really easy to miss 11 & 12.

Overall, not a bad place to practice driving in an open field if it is not too crowded or windy. Not much in the way of obstacles, challenge, or fun but there is most of a course here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What is with the 1 ratings

2-4    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
1. Easy to nagivate.

2. Gives you great chance to work on your game without interference from obstacles like trees and creeks.

3. Has a few very unique holes (you will see them when you get to them).

4. Plenty of parking, and i do mean plenty.
Cons: 1. Couse has no real substance to it. I can see they tried to make the couse more appealing, but did not do a good job.

2. They tried to get cute with some of the holes, but all it cuases is some doubt for beginners to throw.

3. Some of the holes are not mowed or trimmed which makes it difficult to play. (since two of the holes are along a big pond).
Other Thoughts: There should not be any ratings of a 1 in my opinion (on any course). Everyone wants disc golf to pick up. These cities make an attempt to put some disc golf goals and tees in, why would you bash them because you dont like the course. If you a disc golf snob, why play this course, then give a bad review. You could have read the reviews and not gone here in the first place.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 i had fun...

1    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: thepowerofpancakes
Played: 80  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun round on a fun little course, a hot summer day with high winds. The park is very pretty with two large ponds and a sort of scenic panoramic view of the whole park and course. The course was freshly mowed on this day, including the few wooded holes except for holes 5 and 6 near the pond. I felt like I had the entire course and park to myself. I saw only a family of five out on the course, there are some baseball fields that would probably interfere with a few holes if practice were on, but on this day nothing but the occasional cyclists and a few pretty girls walking around.
Cons: As others have noted the course is mainly open holes with a few short ridiculous holes in the woods. For the most part the degree of difficulty lies in baskets that are far too near the pond on banks that angle down towards the water. I played safe and narrowly avoided losing any discs on this day, but I have no doubt losing discs can be a huge issue here. I think the scenic view of the course make the open holes worth playing and the short wooded holes being freshly mowed were still fun. If you wanted to skip holes 5 and 6 you could just avoid the two most complained about holes and still have a fun 16 to play.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to do this review to provide a few directions that would have helped me out. First, as you pull into the park notice the first speed bump and a sign that warns you about the bump, on your right is the first hole. The parking lot is a little further and it is not obvious were to begin playing. Hole 2 is to the left of hole 1's bucket about 400ft and then you turn around and throw back towards hole 1's tee pad. The course flows pretty well from 3 thru 8. From 8 walk back down the sidewalk and you will run right into 9 back out in the open after a bit of a walk. After playing 10 walk straight up into the woods to find hole 11. If its not mowed it may be more difficult to find. The rest of the course was easy to follow. Good luck...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Andrew Brown (Coppell) Rundown!!!

1    5/17/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of parking
-Located in a very nice park
-Near-by restrooms
-Shot variety ranges from open holes to extreme water hazards.
-Functional t-box signs
Cons: -Very bad design..there are a few holes that are just awful if you throw one certain way (hole 6 - you're screwed if you don't have a left handed understable/flick shot for you LHBH throwers)
-If it's windy out, you'll know it.
-Dog walkers, hikers on the trail, and possibly some sports practice might interfear with your round.
Other Thoughts: It's always fun to get out and try a new course, but this one will piss ya off. Again, really rediculous hole planning.
Group of buds and I -- really decent D.golfers -- lost a total of about 8 discs in one round, not due to bad shots, but due to the hole design on most of the holes.

If you don't live nearby, don't waste you're time visiting this course. It's not worth any length of a drive to say the least.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners would love the risk and reward

2-4    7/26/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: oakley doakley
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Water hazards on half of the holes you play. Nice park setting. Tee signs are average but functional. Restrooms near the end of the course. Some tee pads work well enough.
Cons: Extremely high pedestrian traffic which crosses the majority of the course.Foliage needs to be groomed badly on some holes. Not a challenged for the experienced player. Some holes under 100 ft. One was marked as 88ft. par 3 I could see the basket and had a straight line to it. Only risk would be hitting some bushes. It was a joke.(Still didn't ace it) Had the foliage on some holes been trimmed more they really would have been too easy. Some holes are just wide open and bland unless you really had a bad shot.To the experienced player it will be to easy for you. Some tee pads were so small and crammed in there doing any kind of run up is awkward. I think it was hole six that was like that. The wooded holes were a major disappointment. They could be adjusted to be much better.
Other Thoughts: Good course for players new to the game looking for some Risk vs. Reward with the water that comes into play. Plus the par is very generous. The experienced player will find this course to be very easy. This course could be better with some tweaking of the easy holes and some care to the fairways of the hole that are overgrown.. As for the foot traffic it may be better later in the day. I went in early AM and it was very crowded. All of it together made me feel like I don't want to come back here unless I hear that they do some remodeling to it.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.