Coppell, TX 
Andrew Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
5 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A good field?

5+    3/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - The open area for holes 1&10 is a good field to practice driving
- The back 9 is better than the front, in fact, I've played the back 10ish times, and only played the front 9 once
Cons: - the front 9
- even on the back 9, it's not that good
Other Thoughts: If you want to practice driving throwing back and forth on 1 and 10, it's worth the visit. If you want to play DG? Play LL Woods in L-ville, Bear Creek, or the lake. Maybe greenbelt

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Andrew Brown (Coppell) Rundown!!!

1    5/17/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of parking
-Located in a very nice park
-Near-by restrooms
-Shot variety ranges from open holes to extreme water hazards.
-Functional t-box signs
Cons: -Very bad design..there are a few holes that are just awful if you throw one certain way (hole 6 - you're screwed if you don't have a left handed understable/flick shot for you LHBH throwers)
-If it's windy out, you'll know it.
-Dog walkers, hikers on the trail, and possibly some sports practice might interfear with your round.
Other Thoughts: It's always fun to get out and try a new course, but this one will piss ya off. Again, really rediculous hole planning.
Group of buds and I -- really decent D.golfers -- lost a total of about 8 discs in one round, not due to bad shots, but due to the hole design on most of the holes.

If you don't live nearby, don't waste you're time visiting this course. It's not worth any length of a drive to say the least.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What A Waste

2-4    7/19/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No Crowds
Plenty of Parking
Quiet Surroundings
Cons: Ridiculous Hole Design
Easy to Hit Water When in Play
Wooded Holes are Not Manicured
Other Thoughts: I played this course with three guys and combined we lost 7 discs in the water, I lost 3. Hole 5 has a bigger water hazard than fairway, and the fairway that's there slopes towards the water. All of us put it in the water on that hole. Another hole is a 60ft shot into thick brush with no line but a overhand throw. Stay away from this course if possible. I gave the course a second chance and will never return. I'd rather just find an open field and practice my drives.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible!

5+    11/20/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good open shots on some holes. Let's you try new discs practice etc
Cons: Everything else. Most holes are over grown and not very well thought out. It's a huge park but they crammed the dgc in one small part.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time. I live nearby and only play when I can't drive elsewhere. A good way to avoid crappy holes is start at 9 and play twice.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Updated review

2-4    8/13/2011   12/13/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had a good time playing 12/12/09 on this course. It was cloudy and the wind wasn't blowing very hard. The course was well maintained and some of the holes (5 and 6) are different than any of the other courses I've played. Being the middle of December and 45 degrees, there weren't that many people there. Our group was the only people playing the course = a fun pace. On the open part of the course, the grass was mowed. On 5 and 6 that are right next to the pond, the grass was about a foot tall... keeping discs from rolling into the pond. In the wooded area, it wasn't badly overgrown as I would imagine it would be in the summer. A lot of birds at the park... the ponds were nice to look at.
Cons: There is a very good chance of losing a disc in the pond (especially on holes 3, 5, 6 and 17). The basket on 14 was leaning pretty bad... if you went past it to the right, you couldn't put it in the basket because the chains were hanging straight to the edge of the basket causing spits on direct hits on the chains. The open holes were just flat fields with no trees. The wooded holes were really short. Quite a few doggy land mines near the path. A little too easy.

Update: Played again 8/13/11 and baskets 7 and 8 are gone. This downgrades the rating of this course. It wasn't as fun this time. More people to wait on.
Other Thoughts: It was fun playing this course, so I gave it a good rating. It's not one the best in DFW, but far from unplayable. The course was in good shape making for a nice round. I can see how a lot of joggers, dog walkers, baseball games and a lack of mowing or overgrown wooded areas would severely lower the score. It might not be as much fun in the wind either, but the scores under 1.5 are really unfair. If you want a waste of a course, try Springfield Park in Rowlett. That course is the example of a waste of your time. This course is certainly playable and hole 6 in particular was challenging and fun to play (even with the limited tee area and the pond).

Update: played in the summer. Not as much fun. Too many people to wait on. Missing baskets.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Andrew Brown Park Coppell

1    10/10/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No Traffic on the course, play at your own pace. Great Pond Scenery, good for family.
Cons: No Tees!! so pick a launch point somewhere near the signs, which don't have arrows where to go to next. WINDY!!! I used to live down the street from this park, and it is always windy, talking 35mph+ on any given day and WATER hazards everywhere. The only short shots are too short (96ft & 120ft) and amidst thick, forestation, poison ivy, etc. Lost 2 discs in same day.
Other Thoughts: Bring the kids, not the discs. Won't be going back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What a waste!!

5+    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I used to play back here alot and used to love the layout. I had to make sure everything I have heard was correct and yes it is. It was a great course with lots of different shots that challenged all levels of players. There are some open shots and some really tight ones as well. There is also a mix of hyzers and annys for a RHBH player. There is some shade in the woods(front 9) which is a plus as well in Texas. Fun course that anyone can win at on any given day. Secluded park atmosphere which is always kind of nice for a quick round.
Cons: WATER!! There is lots of it and all of it is super nasty. If you throw it in one of these ponds and go in after it, you might come out looking like that fish in the Simpsons. They dont mow here anymore for some reason? Poison Ivy and snakes EVERYWHERE! When you get on the back it can get hot because there is very little shade.
Other Thoughts: This used to be higher ranked(at least 3.5) then it is now and if the city would ever take some care it has the chance to move back up the ranks! I hope that someday things will change and it will go back to being a great course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 BAD..DO NOT GO!!!!

1    3/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: mitchdrums
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
13 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: none
Cons: water...water...water...hole 11 is missing. bad hole placement. open fields on some holes, so if it's windy at all....give up. dag crap everywhere. houses and fenced in dogs everywhere. joggers everywhere. baaaaaad course
Other Thoughts: please.take my advice. DO NOT VISIT THIS COURSE!!!!

13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Frusterating.

5+    12/29/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: obryn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The multiple ponds offer good aesthetic value near sunset.
Cons: Where to start, where to start...
Every time I come out here I lose a disc.
Almost every hole is near a pond. And by near I mean directly parallel, on the shoreline.
A few holes directly intersect with the two baseball diamonds at the park, which is frequently being used for little league practice.
The park also serves as a jogging course for the town. This means you'll be waiting for joggers to go by before shooting on several holes.
You also need to watch out for dog-poop because many of these joggers don't stop to pick up after their pooch.
Hole # 11 does not exist! IF YOU CAN FIND THIS HOLE PLEASE LET ME KNOW! I've searched for the damn thing but I think the designer of this course was wasted drunk because it ain't there.
The first 2 holes run parallel to both the pond and neighborhood backyards. These backyards have psycho dogs in them so be careful not to throw a disc in.
After hole # 8 you will have to walk a crazy distance back to find #9.
The holes positioned in the back woods are full of POISON IVY, and are so heavily wooded they are not even worth playing.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hazard to your discs, and could be a hazard to your health! If you can help it stay away, stay far away!
The only reason I've played it so many times is because I live in Coppell and am only a mile or so away. So if I want to squeeze in a round before the sun goes down it's sometimes my only option. Now that I've had more experience, and lost like 5 discs here, I will probly never resort to visiting this course again.
Another side note, Since it is Coppell I am pretty sure that alcoholic beverages are not allowed at the park. I wouldn't take the chance since Coppell Police have a reputation for coming to the park and harassing its patrons. Overall, just don't come to this park unless you want to pull your hair out by the end.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Sometimes you have to say NO!

1    8/21/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
27 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with a couple of large ponds. You play 33% of the course right next to the pond. Some trashcans were available, and there was a restroom. There is a wide range of tee lengths here, although some maybe a bit too small.
Cons: 2 holes along the pond have not been mowed in a very long time. The weeds and grass were almost 6 feet high. There are a few holes in the woods and one of those is just narrow enough to walk through, but that is how you have to play it. There is lots of poison ivy in those woods. There is so much of that, if you are not wearing leg coverings, I would say skip those holes or use a disc you don't mind not getting back. Number 11 is missing the basket. The holes have the old signs and are not really descriptive enough to help much. The holes along the ponds are pretty close to the pond and almost seem a bit silly. The holes out in the open field and the one right next to a ball field are plain, straight holes, with no obstacles. If you are there on a day with lots of people, there is a good chance someone is libel to get hit. Not all the baskets are in the best of shape. Some of the "tees" have no room to take more than 1 step on them. It is also a good idea to look ahead on the holes in the woods. There is a really big drop off in there to a deep creek, where you won't be getting your disc back.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was dismal. I can honestly say, there is no reason to return to this course. If I had not played this course at all, it would have been just fine. But since I did, at least I can warn you about what you are getting into. If you do plan to give it a try, wear long pants or just stay out of the woods and take some discs you don't mind losing in the ponds. This is the first course I rated this bad, I hate rating any course this low, but I wanted to stay true to how the experience was.

27 of 27 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.