Coppell, TX 
Andrew Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 i had fun...

1    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: thepowerofpancakes
Played: 80  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun round on a fun little course, a hot summer day with high winds. The park is very pretty with two large ponds and a sort of scenic panoramic view of the whole park and course. The course was freshly mowed on this day, including the few wooded holes except for holes 5 and 6 near the pond. I felt like I had the entire course and park to myself. I saw only a family of five out on the course, there are some baseball fields that would probably interfere with a few holes if practice were on, but on this day nothing but the occasional cyclists and a few pretty girls walking around.
Cons: As others have noted the course is mainly open holes with a few short ridiculous holes in the woods. For the most part the degree of difficulty lies in baskets that are far too near the pond on banks that angle down towards the water. I played safe and narrowly avoided losing any discs on this day, but I have no doubt losing discs can be a huge issue here. I think the scenic view of the course make the open holes worth playing and the short wooded holes being freshly mowed were still fun. If you wanted to skip holes 5 and 6 you could just avoid the two most complained about holes and still have a fun 16 to play.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to do this review to provide a few directions that would have helped me out. First, as you pull into the park notice the first speed bump and a sign that warns you about the bump, on your right is the first hole. The parking lot is a little further and it is not obvious were to begin playing. Hole 2 is to the left of hole 1's bucket about 400ft and then you turn around and throw back towards hole 1's tee pad. The course flows pretty well from 3 thru 8. From 8 walk back down the sidewalk and you will run right into 9 back out in the open after a bit of a walk. After playing 10 walk straight up into the woods to find hole 11. If its not mowed it may be more difficult to find. The rest of the course was easy to follow. Good luck...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good field?

5+    3/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - The open area for holes 1&10 is a good field to practice driving
- The back 9 is better than the front, in fact, I've played the back 10ish times, and only played the front 9 once
Cons: - the front 9
- even on the back 9, it's not that good
Other Thoughts: If you want to practice driving throwing back and forth on 1 and 10, it's worth the visit. If you want to play DG? Play LL Woods in L-ville, Bear Creek, or the lake. Maybe greenbelt

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Andrew Brown (Coppell) Rundown!!!

1    5/17/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of parking
-Located in a very nice park
-Near-by restrooms
-Shot variety ranges from open holes to extreme water hazards.
-Functional t-box signs
Cons: -Very bad design..there are a few holes that are just awful if you throw one certain way (hole 6 - you're screwed if you don't have a left handed understable/flick shot for you LHBH throwers)
-If it's windy out, you'll know it.
-Dog walkers, hikers on the trail, and possibly some sports practice might interfear with your round.
Other Thoughts: It's always fun to get out and try a new course, but this one will piss ya off. Again, really rediculous hole planning.
Group of buds and I -- really decent D.golfers -- lost a total of about 8 discs in one round, not due to bad shots, but due to the hole design on most of the holes.

If you don't live nearby, don't waste you're time visiting this course. It's not worth any length of a drive to say the least.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What A Waste

2-4    7/19/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No Crowds
Plenty of Parking
Quiet Surroundings
Cons: Ridiculous Hole Design
Easy to Hit Water When in Play
Wooded Holes are Not Manicured
Other Thoughts: I played this course with three guys and combined we lost 7 discs in the water, I lost 3. Hole 5 has a bigger water hazard than fairway, and the fairway that's there slopes towards the water. All of us put it in the water on that hole. Another hole is a 60ft shot into thick brush with no line but a overhand throw. Stay away from this course if possible. I gave the course a second chance and will never return. I'd rather just find an open field and practice my drives.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible!

5+    11/20/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good open shots on some holes. Let's you try new discs practice etc
Cons: Everything else. Most holes are over grown and not very well thought out. It's a huge park but they crammed the dgc in one small part.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time. I live nearby and only play when I can't drive elsewhere. A good way to avoid crappy holes is start at 9 and play twice.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Updated review

2-4    8/13/2011   12/13/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 101  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had a good time playing 12/12/09 on this course. It was cloudy and the wind wasn't blowing very hard. The course was well maintained and some of the holes (5 and 6) are different than any of the other courses I've played. Being the middle of December and 45 degrees, there weren't that many people there. Our group was the only people playing the course = a fun pace. On the open part of the course, the grass was mowed. On 5 and 6 that are right next to the pond, the grass was about a foot tall... keeping discs from rolling into the pond. In the wooded area, it wasn't badly overgrown as I would imagine it would be in the summer. A lot of birds at the park... the ponds were nice to look at.
Cons: There is a very good chance of losing a disc in the pond (especially on holes 3, 5, 6 and 17). The basket on 14 was leaning pretty bad... if you went past it to the right, you couldn't put it in the basket because the chains were hanging straight to the edge of the basket causing spits on direct hits on the chains. The open holes were just flat fields with no trees. The wooded holes were really short. Quite a few doggy land mines near the path. A little too easy.

Update: Played again 8/13/11 and baskets 7 and 8 are gone. This downgrades the rating of this course. It wasn't as fun this time. More people to wait on.
Other Thoughts: It was fun playing this course, so I gave it a good rating. It's not one the best in DFW, but far from unplayable. The course was in good shape making for a nice round. I can see how a lot of joggers, dog walkers, baseball games and a lack of mowing or overgrown wooded areas would severely lower the score. It might not be as much fun in the wind either, but the scores under 1.5 are really unfair. If you want a waste of a course, try Springfield Park in Rowlett. That course is the example of a waste of your time. This course is certainly playable and hole 6 in particular was challenging and fun to play (even with the limited tee area and the pond).

Update: played in the summer. Not as much fun. Too many people to wait on. Missing baskets.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Andrew Brown Park Coppell

1    10/10/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No Traffic on the course, play at your own pace. Great Pond Scenery, good for family.
Cons: No Tees!! so pick a launch point somewhere near the signs, which don't have arrows where to go to next. WINDY!!! I used to live down the street from this park, and it is always windy, talking 35mph+ on any given day and WATER hazards everywhere. The only short shots are too short (96ft & 120ft) and amidst thick, forestation, poison ivy, etc. Lost 2 discs in same day.
Other Thoughts: Bring the kids, not the discs. Won't be going back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What a waste!!

5+    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I used to play back here alot and used to love the layout. I had to make sure everything I have heard was correct and yes it is. It was a great course with lots of different shots that challenged all levels of players. There are some open shots and some really tight ones as well. There is also a mix of hyzers and annys for a RHBH player. There is some shade in the woods(front 9) which is a plus as well in Texas. Fun course that anyone can win at on any given day. Secluded park atmosphere which is always kind of nice for a quick round.
Cons: WATER!! There is lots of it and all of it is super nasty. If you throw it in one of these ponds and go in after it, you might come out looking like that fish in the Simpsons. They dont mow here anymore for some reason? Poison Ivy and snakes EVERYWHERE! When you get on the back it can get hot because there is very little shade.
Other Thoughts: This used to be higher ranked(at least 3.5) then it is now and if the city would ever take some care it has the chance to move back up the ranks! I hope that someday things will change and it will go back to being a great course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 BAD..DO NOT GO!!!!

1    3/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: mitchdrums
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.9 Years
13 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: none
Cons: water...water...water...hole 11 is missing. bad hole placement. open fields on some holes, so if it's windy at all....give up. dag crap everywhere. houses and fenced in dogs everywhere. joggers everywhere. baaaaaad course
Other Thoughts: please.take my advice. DO NOT VISIT THIS COURSE!!!!

13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Frusterating.

5+    12/29/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: obryn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The multiple ponds offer good aesthetic value near sunset.
Cons: Where to start, where to start...
Every time I come out here I lose a disc.
Almost every hole is near a pond. And by near I mean directly parallel, on the shoreline.
A few holes directly intersect with the two baseball diamonds at the park, which is frequently being used for little league practice.
The park also serves as a jogging course for the town. This means you'll be waiting for joggers to go by before shooting on several holes.
You also need to watch out for dog-poop because many of these joggers don't stop to pick up after their pooch.
Hole # 11 does not exist! IF YOU CAN FIND THIS HOLE PLEASE LET ME KNOW! I've searched for the damn thing but I think the designer of this course was wasted drunk because it ain't there.
The first 2 holes run parallel to both the pond and neighborhood backyards. These backyards have psycho dogs in them so be careful not to throw a disc in.
After hole # 8 you will have to walk a crazy distance back to find #9.
The holes positioned in the back woods are full of POISON IVY, and are so heavily wooded they are not even worth playing.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hazard to your discs, and could be a hazard to your health! If you can help it stay away, stay far away!
The only reason I've played it so many times is because I live in Coppell and am only a mile or so away. So if I want to squeeze in a round before the sun goes down it's sometimes my only option. Now that I've had more experience, and lost like 5 discs here, I will probly never resort to visiting this course again.
Another side note, Since it is Coppell I am pretty sure that alcoholic beverages are not allowed at the park. I wouldn't take the chance since Coppell Police have a reputation for coming to the park and harassing its patrons. Overall, just don't come to this park unless you want to pull your hair out by the end.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.