Coppell, TX 
Andrew Brown Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 105ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Sometimes you have to say NO!

1    8/21/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 216  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
27 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful park with a couple of large ponds. You play 33% of the course right next to the pond. Some trashcans were available, and there was a restroom. There is a wide range of tee lengths here, although some maybe a bit too small.
Cons: 2 holes along the pond have not been mowed in a very long time. The weeds and grass were almost 6 feet high. There are a few holes in the woods and one of those is just narrow enough to walk through, but that is how you have to play it. There is lots of poison ivy in those woods. There is so much of that, if you are not wearing leg coverings, I would say skip those holes or use a disc you don't mind not getting back. Number 11 is missing the basket. The holes have the old signs and are not really descriptive enough to help much. The holes along the ponds are pretty close to the pond and almost seem a bit silly. The holes out in the open field and the one right next to a ball field are plain, straight holes, with no obstacles. If you are there on a day with lots of people, there is a good chance someone is libel to get hit. Not all the baskets are in the best of shape. Some of the "tees" have no room to take more than 1 step on them. It is also a good idea to look ahead on the holes in the woods. There is a really big drop off in there to a deep creek, where you won't be getting your disc back.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was dismal. I can honestly say, there is no reason to return to this course. If I had not played this course at all, it would have been just fine. But since I did, at least I can warn you about what you are getting into. If you do plan to give it a try, wear long pants or just stay out of the woods and take some discs you don't mind losing in the ponds. This is the first course I rated this bad, I hate rating any course this low, but I wanted to stay true to how the experience was.

27 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Lets just call this course "interesting"

1    8/21/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like I said an interesting course... A mix of some VERY EASY holes, with a few that were nearly impossible.
Cons: The holes that were nearly impossible to me were that way because of lack of care, hole # 6 for instance plays along the lakeside and the teebox allows for nearly no runup and is completely overgrown with tall weeds all the way to the basket with no route to walk on without "busting brush"... Hole #8, I believe was supposed to be down a narrow cooridor... But guess what??? There was next to no cooridor!!! and the path to the basket was strewn with Poison Ivy and Poison Oak, and all sorts of other prickly type bushes. If you got off the path your lie was generally very unforgiving... Even the so called "easy" holes had their challenges, most of them had the walking path or some part of the multiple softball fields coming into play, which could definately slow or interupt play depending on the time of day you play...
Other Thoughts: "Interesting" but not so much that I will go out of my way to play this course again...

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners would love the risk and reward

2-4    7/26/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: oakley doakley
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2008
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Water hazards on half of the holes you play. Nice park setting. Tee signs are average but functional. Restrooms near the end of the course. Some tee pads work well enough.
Cons: Extremely high pedestrian traffic which crosses the majority of the course.Foliage needs to be groomed badly on some holes. Not a challenged for the experienced player. Some holes under 100 ft. One was marked as 88ft. par 3 I could see the basket and had a straight line to it. Only risk would be hitting some bushes. It was a joke.(Still didn't ace it) Had the foliage on some holes been trimmed more they really would have been too easy. Some holes are just wide open and bland unless you really had a bad shot.To the experienced player it will be to easy for you. Some tee pads were so small and crammed in there doing any kind of run up is awkward. I think it was hole six that was like that. The wooded holes were a major disappointment. They could be adjusted to be much better.
Other Thoughts: Good course for players new to the game looking for some Risk vs. Reward with the water that comes into play. Plus the par is very generous. The experienced player will find this course to be very easy. This course could be better with some tweaking of the easy holes and some care to the fairways of the hole that are overgrown.. As for the foot traffic it may be better later in the day. I went in early AM and it was very crowded. All of it together made me feel like I don't want to come back here unless I hear that they do some remodeling to it.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.