Elkridge, MD 
Rockburn Branch Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
4 / 539ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun.

5+    5/8/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: xbombtrackx
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm fairly new so it's a bit challenging in a good way.
Lay out isn't confusing
Good use of the land
Cons: Swampy in areas after a good rain
Brush is thick in the spring and summer
Other Thoughts: I'm Staying at a hotel in the area for a couple months and this course is the closest. We play it 3 times a week on average and it's still pretty enjoyable.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: cmoney49
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is maintained very nice. It hasn't had all of the brush grow back yet. A wide variety of difficulty of holes.
Cons: Hole 16's tee box is flooded out and it appears that a new stream will be flowing through there anytime there is rain.
Other Thoughts: Stop throwing you beer cans/bottles all over the place. There are recycle bins all over the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun, diverse course with long lines

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: Montanaman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Roughly a 40 to 50 minute drive from downtown DC, Rockburn Branch is a fantastic, well developed course in Maryland. The 18 holes have multiple pin locations while most holes have a raised rubber tee. (3 pins, 1 tee). While navigation can be a chore here and there, it's really not too difficult with a map loaded up.

There is a strong mix of technical holes with good old bombers to grip and rip. There is a decent amount of elevation change too for a east coast course. Seems like a lot of the lines are mowed.

Roughly 14 out of 18 holes have mowed grass lays with a good mix of pins in woods. Traffic in early April was light, but with the significant trail development, there may be a mix of users of the park. Holes 11 through 15 are worth playing just for the beauty of the barn and views. We threw every driver we had on hole 13, just an amazing line and view.
Cons: If you've never played the course, loading a map is a must. It is not intuitive at points to the next hole.

There is only one tee location. The tees are mostly a raised rubber pad. Hole 4 did not seem to have a pad and hole 16 was swamped when we played it.

While many of lines are mowed if you stray it can be pretty hairy out there. With full foliage I could see losing a disc pretty easily.

You cross a significant number of "trails". If there was a busy weekend I could see some park user conflict.
Other Thoughts: Played while foliage was down, definitely made disc and pin finding a lot easier. Could see full summer leaves take the course up a notch or two in difficulty.

Also hole one has warnings of ticks, snakes and poison ivy. Worth considering.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun course with plenty of variety

5+    3/6/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: BogeyMurder
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in holes. Plenty of elevation changes. Park is well maintained and baskets are moved periodically.
Cons: Not many trash cans. Signs in need of upgrade. Easy to lose discs on certain holes, especially during summer months.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in the Maryland area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Many Tees Improved - Rubberized

2-4    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Chauncher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rubber mats on most tee boxes now. Very scenic with good mix of holes. Technical holes with lots of glades and elevation changes. Good blend of shaded vs. open holes.
Cons: Lots of Poison Ivy in the summer months.
Some tee boxes are just dirt/gravel (not many)
About half the holes require a spotter for novice tee shots to avoid lost discs.

Hole 16 has a huge Environmental Area along the left of the fairway. Send a spotter down for players that throw left fading shots. The EA devours discs.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fantastically designed course that is well maintained and good for parties. There is a volley ball court here and plenty of parking so you can bring your non-DG playing friends for a day of fun.

Search for Rockburn Elementary on GPS/Google for directions.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great range of shots and pretty scenery

2-4    2/4/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, open, tunnel, up, down. This is a nice place to go for a walk in nature, and then to have DG on top of it is a bonus! Good balance for various skill levels.
Cons: Teepads could be better. Some are slippery or non-existent. Signage on some holes could be more clear.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great

2-4    3/16/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: chefkrzywicki
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of Everything. Elevation changes, fairways, trees, lefty shots, eighty shots, water comes into play on a few holes. Love it.
Cons: Really I can't complain about anything being a CON. As said in Another review if you complain about the rough.............have control and don't go there.
Other Thoughts: Very scenic drives! Down hill and over streams x2...are my fav"s. Other fun downhill and fun uphill shots!! Granted it is a technical course. You need to work through some tight wooded fairways as well especiAlly on hole 7. Love this course it was worth it to drive down And play in the spring equinox which was a lot of fun as well

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New life at Rockburn

5+    12/12/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: HCD Studios
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the process of getting new tee pads installed. Four of them are in so far and it makes it much more fun and safer to play. Also the park has been busy clearing and mowing the shule on the sides of the fairways. Over the years it has improved but durring the summer its still fairly easy to loose a disc. Spot well for everyone in your group! Rockburn is a challenging wooded course that can be very tough when the pins are in the long positions. Great variety of holes and use of elevation.
Cons: Not all the tees are done yet and some of them are still rutted. Summertime it can be easy to loose a disc or three. A few of the holes are blind and that makes it hard to spot. Don't take a chance.
Other Thoughts: The course plays very differently depending on the position of the pins. Pin positions are marked on the tee signs and there is a lock on an eye screw to indicate the position. This course is right off 95 and is worth the time if you are driving thru. Hole 12 has a super long pin. If you follow the fence to the opening and look right out into the field down the road another 500' and left there it is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Check out Baltimore disc golfers!

5+    11/14/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Spartan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: By far the course that I play most often (mainly because its close to where I go to school). Just like Patapsco State Park, there are great elevation changes and a great mix of open and wooded holes. It is almost never too crowded and playing for fun and playing competitively are both obtainable here. The fairway is always well maintained and the environment is awesome. I especially like Holes 5, 7, 12, 13, 15. Hole 5 gives you an excellent down hill shot to the basket surrounded by trees and an ace is obtainable is you're lucky. Hole 12-15 is set by an old barn and an old house no longer in use. On hole 15, you shoot right next to the old house and throw down a huge declining hill. Very scenic!
Cons: I absolutely hate the tees. They are loosely made from gravel but they look like small dug-in trenches from people throwing in that particular location. I usually throw next to it on the grass for better footing. During the summer, the wooded holes are.....rough to say the least. You can spend 30 minutes searching for your disc and during the winter when all the vegetation finally dies out, you can usually find discs at multiple holes. Also, most of the vegetation surrounding the fairway will hurt you with millions of thorns!
Other Thoughts: Check out Baltimore disc golfers group on this website! I am always at this course, Im probably the only Asian guy there ever so come say hi!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    2/20/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging and fun to play. The course is a little more open yet, it still has some challenging holes. I played Patapsco before this course, and I felt that the layout and the scenery at Rockburn was much nicer. Rockburn is set in a large park and the holes vary in distance and types of shot you need to use. The course is challenging yet realistic if you are playing well.

I really liked throwing down towards the creek on number 9. It was a well designed hole where you could either end up in the drink, or with a nice lay up shot to the pin. The course was fairly well marked and for the most part you could easily distinguish as to where you were going to go next/throw. The back nine is the reason you come to play this course. With holes throwing out over the fields and some cool shots near the houses, it gives this course a homey feel. You feel as if you could be practicing in your backyard and it is simply a picturesque setting. It is nice to play a course that has so many different types of holes/throws. There are short holes and then there are holes where you can huck it as hard as you want. Many times courses stick with one idea, and Rockburn is not one of them.
Cons: No tee boxes kind of sucks. You don't really know always where to throw from, and it makes it unclear. I could see the potential for people/bystanders not playing disc golf to get in the way up near holes 4-6. There are some benches and open areas where other people might set up blanket and get in the way. I always appreciate courses that clearly mark where you should go after you finish a hole, and this course doesn't do that as well.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course that I will play again very soon. Being from PA, this course is worth the drive to come and play. If I had to choose between this course and Patapsco, I choose Rockburn. I enjoyed the challenge and the variety of holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.